We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expertise and service abounds”

The Dining Room at Chewton Glen
Ranked #4 of 50 Restaurants in New Milton
Price range: US$40 - US$160
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Dining Room at Chewton Glen, is a truly cosmopolitan and quintessentially English restaurant. Offering a nexus of beautiful conservatories, intimate dining spaces and a stunning open wine room. The Dining Room is as formal or relaxed as the mood takes you. An open format grill menu has been care-fully created for you to enjoy old Chewton Glen favourites as well as innovative creations from our present kitchen brigade. All intelligently cooked - from amazing ingredients in season -then simply and effortlessly presented.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Expertise and service abounds”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A family of 10 - ages 3 to 80 - gave the Vetiver restaurant a real workout over 3 days - breakfast and dinner - with lunch on the Terrace. From lobster curry to rabbit, venison to mini fish fingers, tart tatin to ice cream, Brie and rocket or Emmental Paninis, the chef came up trumps.
The sommelier advice was welcome - you know they have agood wine list when there is a short wait for it on a busy Saturday night!
Quality and quantity of food was very good and importantly, it all arrived at the table together, hot and ready to enjoy. The service was friendly and professional and as you might expect in a place of this reputation, their prices reflect all this. It was, after all, Mothering Sunday weekend.
This place is ideal for a special celebration where the cost is not the main consideration. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bryan490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    100
    89
    48
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SERVICE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Thoroughly enjoyable lunch with son. £25 set lunch menu is excellent value. Limited choice as you would expect, but would have been happy with any items on the menu. Service very good. Plenty of staff from hotel reception through to the restuarant, and everyone spoke to us, so felt very welcoming. Slight issue with the main course as not as hot as it should have been, but had apologies from chef and both cooked again (slow cooked pork cheek with polenta and mushrooms - yummy!) and served at the right temperature - all done with no fuss at all. Only slight disappointment - thought the choice of pretty basic white or brown rolls a bit uninspiring, but overall very good. Have previously attended wedding there which was fabulous, and would very happily return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ThelmaBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bucket list must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Two of us for lunch. Excellent food and faultless unobtrusive service. The £25 set menu is terrific value

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hampshire166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as it should be!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Glorious sunny Sunday.....drive across the New Forest for Sunday lunch to this iconic hotel venue. Expectations were high. I started with duck salad unexceptional and my partners asparagus could have done with a minute more but was saved by gorgeous orange hollandaise, a very pretentious long wine list was served in a tatty worn out folder.....we had come to lunch not to go on a wine course. We both went for the roast sirloin... Served traditionally from the trolley. Service had so far bordered on slow it now became a pantomime our plated potatoes and vegetables arrived and sat to one side whilst the trolley arrived and was found to contain no beef. Our plates were whisked away to 'keep warm' and disappeared off around the restaurant. No too late a trolley of beef was coming.....waiter comes flying back with the 'keeping warm' plates. The meat was fabulous thick slices of perfectly cooked fabulous sirloin beef......( Montacue Arms and The Pig please note as you serve tough topside and rump this is how it should be done)....oh no my plate was taken away again! Gravy crisis! It had run out on the trolley! Chef arrived and refilled and my plate can back. Phew began to wonder if my meal was going to earn me air miles. The beef was saving the day... I could even ignore that my potatoes and vegetables were a little cold after their travels.....when accompanying beef this good. No dramas with the puds decent chocolate torte made special with honeycomb and my partners apple tatain ok.......it was apparent all around us that people we're celebrating special occasions. I wandered if their experience was as underwhelming as mine! I hope not! Last gripe meal served on nasty grey 'denby' type china urgh! What has happened to fine dinning here? The grey plates I could forgive but the patchy service is unforgivable when you are paying £128 for Sunday lunch........the fabulous beef just saved the day,

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank richard772013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food to die for!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I don't live near enough to Chewton Glen to visit often or far enough away tom stay often. I do eat at Vetiver whenever I can persuade someone to drive me there and also if I want to give someone a very special treat.The atmosphere in Vetiver is great, not too stuffy and the staff are fantastic. I have not yet been disappointed in a meal and most visits have left some outstanding foodie memories. That cheese souffle......mmmmmm!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doherty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room at Chewton Glen also viewed

 
Christchurch, Dorset
 

Been to The Dining Room at Chewton Glen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing