We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and wine but what are the accents all about?!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Piazzetta

La Piazzetta
Ranked #6 of 66 Restaurants in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled in the quaint market town of Petersfield, La Piazzetta is housed in a charming Grade II-listed building. Blending bountiful history with the robust flavours of Italian cooking, La Piazzetta offers a cosy and informal retreat. Showcasing a classic selection, chefs make use of fine local ingredients from their daily deliveries, with favourites including seafood spaghetti, or veal with wild mushroom and truffle sauce.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food and wine but what are the accents all about?!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been into La Piazzetta many times and have always enjoyed the friendly welcome and the excellent food. The restaurant is on the site of an old bakery and they have done a wonderful job making it feel cosy and warm. The food is great, a little pricey compared to other restaurants i've eaten in but the quality is certainly there. The only issue I could ever have is when I went to the restaurant with friends and the waiter was describing the specials on offer and he clearly had a very italian accent. One of my friends (a fluent Italian speaker) asked him where he was from in Italy (in Italian) at which point his accent disappeared and he looked very confused and embarrassed. It was rather 'Only Fools and Horses-esque' and made us laugh! Be warned of fake accents!! All in all well worth a visit!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    96
    25
    18
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“'Perfetto' as always.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Having returned from our holiday in Sicily the day before this was just what we needed. Brilliant as always, we both had the set menus, such good value. Can;'t be faulted.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good food, reasonably priced in a small and friendly atmosphere - what more could you ask? Thoroughly recommended

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DJTUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

Love the pizzas here, am a regular and will be for a wee while. Going back next week for a fix.... Yummmmmmmmmy

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Coombespeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write_Angle
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My Birthday Party on 4 May '14. 25 people served at one time. The food was hot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Bekim, the owner, had set up the balloons for me as well as the table setting. Not easy. 21 people. Then 4 more came and we needed an extra table!
There were 5 choices of starters and 5 choices of main courses on my 'personal chosen menu'.
The food was brought expediently. The glasses filled and refilled readily. Most important, I don't understand but the hot food came hot! How could they serve everyone at the same time and keep the food hot? (must be an Italian secret)
The food was superb. Everyone kept telling me how delicious theirs was. My chicken was very tasty. Someone had the cod and couldn't stop talking about how 'it was the best cod she'd ever had'! The service was so friendly and yet so efficient'! And the place was so comfortable. It truly led to one of the best birthday parties I've ever had and I've had so many, in so many different places!. We were a bit crowded in but it worked out fine! People who didn't know each other ended up exchanging phone nos, hugs and kisses! I had a huge cake which Bekim cut up for me. (I'm hopeless) and served, followed by coffee and tea. It was a brilliant party and I can't thank Bekim, Aga, Magdalena and the fabulous chef for making my day a perfect one! Thank you all! You are stars!!!!
Leah Cohen (& Jake Claret) .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Poetry_Open_Mic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Piazzetta also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to La Piazzetta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing