We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry won't be going again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of 1 The Spain

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1 The Spain
Ranked #14 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sorry won't be going again.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Brilliantly located right in the centre of town. A very friendly couple. A large room. However I do so hate long life milk, and cut bread for toast. I also found my bed un-comfy as the electric blanket was still on it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

Spent an overnight here recently. Delightful property, lovely owners and a good breakfast. Centrally located with free parking, many good eateries nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

We were cycling the South Downs Way and had a nice stay here, just a couple of miles off the SDW track. Our hosts were very helpful when we arrived, as we'd got very muddy as it was a wet day - they lent us their hosepipe in the back garden to clean our bikes with, and old newspaper to stuff in our boots to help dry them out. Our bikes were stored in a secure back garden, but outdoors.

We had a twin room which wasn't en-suite, but was fine for our purposes. Location was ideal, just a few minutes walk to a choice of pubs and restaurants in the evening. Breakfast in the morning was great, and they catered well for our gluten-free diet.

Room Tip: I imagine the en-suite rooms are best - ours wasn't one of them, but was the only one available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikePepler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

Staying at the Spain was a great experience, as it is very central, near the shops and restaurants, and extremely comfortable and welcoming. Jennifer and her husband are great hosts, and make a delicious English breakfast in the mornings!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Minnesota
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

We spent 1 night here while walking the South Downs Way. Friendly hosts. Helpful with finding a place for dinner. Nice room, good breakfast. Nice location near the town center. We walked to the Saturday market, the restaurant and the town center

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BradMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

A warm greeting and a lovely room overlooking a stunning garden. This B&B was just perfect! The room was beautifully furnished with antiques and had a lovely big bathroom, that although was outside the room - was only for us to use. It is very close to the center of town - a short walk to the square where all the action happens.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jukulikiaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerala
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2010

We arrived at the hotel and it was beautiful, the staff are so kind and friendly, I have really not met any nicer people and they are so welcoming

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jithus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
2.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#5 of 25 in Petersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#2 of 25 in Petersfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 The Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 The Spain

Property: 1 The Spain
Address: The Spain 1 Sheep Street, Petersfield GU32 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 1 The Spain 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
1 The Spain Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing