We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B”
Review of 1 The Spain

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1 The Spain
Ranked #20 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

In desperate need of a bed whilst visiting Goodwood Festival of Speed, this B&B was close and offered a room. Beautiful house, clean and welcoming. Lady of the house 'gave' us the house to ourselves. As seasoned travellers, hotels, B&B's, UK & abroad, work and leisure, ok, a little quaint, but actually this added to the appeal. As we were off a crack of dawn, our hostess made us a breakfast ready in the fridge to eat that early in the morning. We could park right outside the door. Plenty of local restaurants / pubs to get food. We had a brilliant Italian meal! Will definitely go back ....

Room Tip: I would think, given location, all rooms would be quiet. Ours certainly was, a double at the rear of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It was extremely cold and felt like we were visiting grandmas house with all the instructions we were given. It didn't feel like a b and b. The shower was not very good either. The only plus was that it is centrally located in petersfield.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

My sisters, mother and myself stayed for almost 2 weeks. We could not have asked for anything better! Friendly hosts, great food and very central location. Comfortable beds and living accommodations. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants to get to experience the true British experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed one night here to attend a party in the area. They were friendly and helpful and ordered us a taxi when we needed it. There was a mix up so we ended up with a twin room with shared bathroom but the price was reduced to reflect this and the room, although quite small, served its purpose as somewhere to rest our heads. Could probably give a bit of extra space by removing the chairs either side of the chest of drawers as the room is quite tight and you are unlikely to sit in them given their location so I feel they serve no benefit. The view of the garden was simply stunning as the roses were in full bloom and very beautiful.

Tea/coffee/hot chocolate was supplied in the room. Sadly it was only little tubs of UHT milk but I guess this made sense given there was no room for a fridge and the weather was very warm. Breakfast was cooked quickly and there was also plenty of toast and cereal on offer.

The location is good as very central in Petersfield and close to shop, restaurants (and the chippy almost next door). Parking is a little limited but we still managed to get a space right out front as it was after the shops closed.

Room Tip: I think the double rooms are in a separate property so may be more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsLath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottm
Level Contributor
213 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed here one night on a cycle tour of Hamphire. I was made to feel very welcome (sadly, sometimes B&Bs can be a bit 'off' with you if you have a bike!!!), the bike was in a secure courtyard, but out in the rain (my stay coincided with some vile weather, unfortunately)..

I had a brilliant room, ensuite, very comfy and well-furnished. I also had a access to a sitting room and an excellent kitchenette with microwave, frisdge, toaster etc, so I was able to do myself an evenibng meal, this is great if travelling on your own and want to pass on sitting in reastaurants on your own some nights.

Recommended.

Room Tip: I had the double ensuite, which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Like another reviewer we were also cycling the South Downs Way. This B&B was exactly what we needed after a long, tiring and muddy day. It is in a lovely old house with lots of character, it is very warm & welcoming, the beds are comfy and the breakfast very good. It is centrally located on a quiet historic street just behind the high street, and only a short stroll from pubs and restuarants in Petersfield. Guests also have use of a lounge (which we were lucky enough to have to ourselves). The owners could not be more helpful or welcoming, even letting us hose our filthy bikes down the next day. If you are doing the south downs way or just visiting Petersfield, this is an excellent place to stay.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank badge2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

warmly room, and the waiter are helpful to advice the place for sight seeing. not bad, worthy. what else i think is good? the location is good, since it is easy to find and easy to get to the train statation. and i meet some kind friends help me to get there. That is a good memorey。我可以写中文么?200个字真的有点多,要写好久。总得来说,还不错。很多地方玩。我喜欢巴塞罗纳多一些。圣家堂不错,下次还要再去一下。

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherfei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
2.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#5 of 25 in Petersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 25 in Petersfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 The Spain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 The Spain

Property: 1 The Spain
Address: The Spain 1 Sheep Street, Petersfield GU32 3JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — 1 The Spain 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
1 The Spain Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing