We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place for English tranquility”
Review of Ye Olde George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ye Olde George Inn
Ranked #8 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed for one night in this traditional English pub/B&B.

The room was good, clean and what would be expected from such an establishment.

The choice of meals and ales was exellent and the breakfast first class.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanCook44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

My husband and I were visiting family who live in East Meon and decided to have a meal in this Inn. We booked a table well in advance and were happy to be seated at our usual table. Although it appeared to be a very busy Friday evening, we found the food to be excellent (As Always) and despite what the below reviewer may think (I think they might be who I'm about to address) the service was very good.

Unfortunately, there was a table near us that were very loud and seemed to be getting quite rowdy and also seemed to have a problem with the staff as my husband is sure that he overheard someone call the young girl stupid!! This made us feel quite uncomfortable and meant that several times our conversation was interrupted by the other table shouting at the staff for more!!

All-in-all it was a good evening. We did enjoy the food (the camembert was delish!!) and the service was very good considering. It's just a shame about the other diners.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tpsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We had dinner and am afraid the service was quite unacceptable.
None off us have experienced such moody unhelpful service?
Pubs are a service industry and who ever runs this pub needs to teach the 2 waitresses on duty, apparently sisters, how to best treat customers.
We shan't rush back and we are locals.
Very disappointing.
The food was good, the service not good!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We visited this pub for lunch in the picture post card village of West Meon when on holiday in the areas with our two young children. The pub itself was very inviting from the outside and staff greeted us when we walked in warmly. The food was excellent (particularly the crab sandwich!), service prompt and polite and good local ales on tap. A great place to stop off when walking the South Downs Way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fluffymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I stayed here one night during my walk of the South Downs Way. Although a good mile from the SDW, it was well worth the extra bit to get there. My twin room was stylishly decorated & furnished, with a great bath & shower above. The bar & restaurant area has a great atmosphere, and as for my main course of gressingham duck, it was sublime! Breakfast the following morning was also great, lovely fluffy omelette with crispy bacon. Can't speak highly enough, all the staff were very attentive & welcoming. I hope to return sometime with my other half.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I really don't know where to begin!

We celebrated the new year in this beautiful Inn as a last minute solution after being let down by an establishment we'd previously booked with - we certainly don't regret that!

We needed somewhere last minute to celebrate the new year, and my partner suggested we try the George after hearing that the Hanging Tree Band were playing there.

We arrived at 10:30ish to an already heaving bar and a pack restaurant. Both were very lively and the atmosphere was wonderful! We were approached by a very sweet girl who asked us if we had band ticket, and we're informed that if we wanted to stay for the band we would both have to purchase a ticket. At £10 a head with a glass of champagne included, we felt that this was a bargain! So we happily got ourselves a pair of tickets and went to the bar to buy some drinks. Considering the shear amount of people in the place, we found the polite, red haired lady very efficient and calm, considering how many people there were to serve. I had perfect pint of Badger and my wife had a white wine.

We eventually found a place to stand and not long after the band began to play. Although different to how they'd performed previously, they were still very good and livened the place up even more!

We got chatting to a couple who had had a meal and were staying in the pub's accommodation. They said how they had visited before and had also been very impressed by the evening. After discussing what they had enjoyed for supper, we were very jealous that we couldn't have a meal ourselves.

Before we knew it, the band had begun playing old lang syne and it was a couple of minutes to midnight. We were approached by a different girl who was also very friendly, who offered us our complementary champagne, of which of course we obliged ;) having been offered complementary champers in the past at various different establishments we were impressed to see that this pub did not pull out the cheap sparkling wine! A very short while after this we were approached by the same girl (or so we thought) offering us our champagne. It soon became clear that we were served by the girls's twin sister - what a novelty. I bet a lot of people get caught out by that!

After spending New Year's Eve with complete strangers, we left having made lots of new friends after an evening I'm sure we won't forget in a long time!

Thank you to all, especially the fantastic staff who seemed to be working hard all evening!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ben_granger71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

A small group of us stayed with you while attending a wedding which took place nearby at Langrish House Hotel a couple of months ago. We really enjoyed ourselves! The staff were friendly and helpful and the food we had (mostly sandwiches & chips) was beautiful. The service we received was excellent with the food taking next to no time and the girls bringing us everything we asked which was brilliant considering that we were joined by a group of our family and friends who weren't staying with us and hadn't made any reservations to eat at lunch time. The rooms were well cleaned and the breakfast was very enjoyable.
I need to find a reason to visit again as we were made to feel most welcome.

The only thing I could say was that we had to come either before 3pm or after 6pm to pick up the room key as the pub closes during the afternoon which we were told was due to lack of staff, but that wasn't a problem as we were able to arrive before 3pm, pick up the key and get in and out via the fire door in the car park. This may be a problem to other people who may not be able to arrive before 3pm.

Very nice pub though! beautiful inside and well furnished rooms! Thank you very much!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms we stayed in were beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bucky3354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
1.4 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
339 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
157 reviews
10.3 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Buriton
92 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Cricketers Inn
The Cricketers Inn
#23 of 25 in Petersfield
80 reviews
5.1 mi away
Crescent Cottage
Crescent Cottage
#1 of 25 in Petersfield
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde George Inn

Address: Church Street | East Meon, Petersfield GU32 1NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Price Range: £86 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ye Olde George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde George Inn Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing