We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay”
Review of Ye Olde George Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ye Olde George Inn
Ranked #9 of 24 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Historical inn amazing rooms very clean.Good hospitable staff and food too die for overall stay very very happy hope too return very soon! lovely village and walks a well stocked local shop and friendly residents.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandah270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

Historical inn, excellent rooms, good beds, large bath tub, very clean, hospitable staff, good food at the restaurant. Nice little town. Good accommodation along the South Downs way. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night, for a wedding near by. Pub is full of character, including original wooden rickety floors.

Let's be clear... It's funny shaped, uneven floors and can be a bit noisy. But that's what it is! Don't expect large air conditioned rooms and fancy lifts.

Staff were great and had a lovely relaxing breakfast.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Naigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed at Ye old George Inn for two nights 31st Jan & 1st Feb 2014. Food was fab accomodation was excellent beer was superb. ALL staff were friendly and welcoming. Would thoroughly recommend as a perfect spot to relax unwind and discover a relatively secret part of England.

Room Tip: Spoil yourselve and choose a superior double if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at the George with our two dogs and found the staff professional and pleasant and the room a good size and spotless. The bathroom was quite cold although there was plenty of hot water and the towels were on the thin side. The food and service were great and we were made to feel very comfortable about having the dogs with us in the bar whilst eating. The only real downside was the wait until 6pm to access the accommodation which, on a dark winter afternoon, is an inconvenience when all you want is to take off your walking boots and get into a hot bath.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mossy4Flossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the George for our anniversary in October. They are very strict about opening times so we had to wait out in the rain until the dot of 6pm before the staff would let us in. We stayed in a superior room (£110) which was spacious and a good balance of character and amenities Wooden floorboards, nice bedding and modern bathroom, although smell of fresh paint was a bit overwhelming. While radiator in room was working heated towel rail in bathroom was not so cold and skimpy towels. Very small sink so had to fill kettle up from bath tap. Guest information has rather a bossy tone with lots of dos and don'ts. Dining room is charming with open fire. Dinner was good but relatively pricy, and read menu carefully as some dishes do not come with vegetables - lamb came with beans and roasted tomatoes, belly pork just potato croquettes. Side dishes can be ordered separately but there is limited choice of vegetables. Breakfast was good and featured local produce but would have preferred a choice of juices and fresh coffee was quite bitter. East Meon is a lovely village with good walks around Butser Hill. We did enjoy our stay as the place is lovely but it could be perfect with a few tweaks.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms - the superior room at the front is lovely but they should make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LillypussLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were doing a six day tour of the South Downs Way and this was our most expensive stay. The room was average and adequate and the bathroom a little disappointing with a powerless shower. We stayed in the room which was above the kitchens and had two boilers situated in cupboards within the room and it was unbearably hot. We asked for a fan to help out but the manageress was disinterested. All in all very poor value for money and a great disappointment. We were unable to get access to our room until 6 PM due to the fact that the facility was not staffed until that time which we were warned about but still frustrating after a long days walk.

Room Tip: Don't book Buritan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Widge63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petersfield hotels
5.1 mi away
Crescent Cottage
Crescent Cottage
#1 of 24 in Petersfield
178 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Buriton
105 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
354 reviews
3.4 mi away
Bootmenders B&B
Bootmenders B&B
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde George Inn

Address: Church Street | East Meon, Petersfield GU32 1NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Price Range: £79 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde George Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ye Olde George Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde George Inn Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing