We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great B & B in a lovely town and beautiful county”
Review of Border Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Border Cottage
Ranked #4 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great B & B in a lovely town and beautiful county”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent five nights with Laura at Border Cottage and could not fault any aspect of our stay. The room was very spacious and the bed was really comfortable with lovely bedlinen and towels. The quality of the food at breakfast was first class, beautifully presented. Laura is the perfect hostess who could not have been more helpful. We use a lot of B&Bs in the UK and this is one of the very best. We would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Josie

We were really delighted to read your lovely review - thankyou so much. Thankyou also for taking the trouble to tell us what you enjoyed about staying with us - it helps tremendously to know what works well for our guests. So glad too that you enjoyed Petersfield and the surrounding area of the South Downs. We look forward to welcoming you back! All best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
41
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

From the moment you set foot inside this beautiful cottage, Laura greets you with a smile and warm welcome.
The accommodation is impeccably furnished with a sumptuously comfortable double bed. There is also a superb power shower to wake you up in the morning & a little fridge containing fresh milk & spring water. It's these little touches which make it such a pleasurable place to stay.
The full English Breakfasts are simply awesome & you wont need to eat anything else for the whole day.
The location is slap bang in the middle of Petersfield with the shops, pubs and restaurants a few minutes stroll, so you can forget the car.
Laura is a superb host & can't do enough to make you feel welcome.
We have been staying here for 10 years & it is truly exceptional.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Hello Spike 95

Many, many thanks for your wonderful comments about your experience of staying with us at Border Cottage. It's really important to David and I that guests enjoy staying and we really appreciate you taking the trouble to leave us a review. Looking forward to seeing you both here before too long. All best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedgefield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Thank you to Laura and her family for sharing their beautiful home with us. Spacious room, hot shower, a lovely welcome tray of goodies, excellent breakfast and the perfect hosts who couldn't have been more helpful and accomodating. We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone visiting the local area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hi Ellen & Rob
We've just returned from a few days away to find your terrific review. Thankyou so much for taking the trouble to write us a review and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It's very important to David and I to know that guests enjoy their experience of staying with us and it's really lovely to read your kind comments. Very best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We only stayed one night, while in town for a wedding, but the room was great (spacious, with its own shower and bathroom), and the breakfast was the best I have ever had at a B&B. I would highly recommend Border Cottage to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 27 June 2013
Hi Matt & Megan

Thankyou very much for taking the time to leave us a review. Really great to read your lovely comments about breakfast! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at Border Cottage and look forward to welcoming you both back. Very best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

A very lovely and cute cottage - extremely hospitable and relaxed hosts. The room was spotless, comfortable close to the station. Highly recommended - thank you Laura for the welcome drinks and local fudge!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Paula
Very many thanks for your lovely review - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back another time.
Very best Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This B and B is perfect. The room is even nicer than the pictures, and fitted out very nicely. A great example of why NOT to stay at a travelodge. Lots of character but with all the mod cons required - and really good value. We opted not to have breakfast as needed to catch an early train. But with loose leaf tea, REAL milk in a little fridge, fudge, top quality shower gels etc, we felt we were being spoilt without having to pay through the nose. Our only problem - we were only there for one night. If we ever need to come back to this part of the world, we would look no further than border cottage. Thank you Laura.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Thankyou for your lovely review of your stay with us at Border Cottage - you've made our day! David and I have run Border Cottage for 12 years and aim to give our guests the quality and care that we thinks makes a good b&b. To hear our guests' impressions is wonderful and also so helpful, as it shapes what we do. . Very many thanks and we hope that you'll find another occasion to come to Petersfield and stay here with us again to explore the area.
Very best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We stayed one night for a wedding. We are now trying to plan a weekend away so that we can return. Accommodation was excellent, Breakfast amazing and all within a 2 minute walk of the shops. A must stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
7.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
0.2 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#6 of 25 in Petersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Border Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border Cottage

Property: Border Cottage
Address: 4 Heath Road, Petersfield GU31 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Hotel Class:4 star — Border Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One large double or twin character bedroom in pretty whitewashed 17th century cottage in town centre location nearby to excellent restaurants and pubs. 10 Minutes walk from train station. Petersfield is an attractive market town located in the South Downs National Park. 1 Hour by train from London and 30 minutes from Portsmouth, Chichester and Winchester. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Border Cottage Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing