We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Border Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Petersfield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Border Cottage
Ranked #4 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
grand forks
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Have stayed in several other establishments in the area, Border cottage is better by a country mile. Cleanliness, attention to detail very good, friendly owner.......we will be back and would hope to stay longer next time. This wonderful little bed and breakfast really enhanced our holiday.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodneyGrandForks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Terrific to read your lovely review! - thankyou very much. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and thankyou so much for taking the time and trouble to leave us a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Border Cottage on your next trip to Petersfield. All best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
40
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
schweiz
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stayed for three nights at border cottage sharing a doubleroom with my sister. I had found border cottage on the internet and was arriving quite late from switzerland to visit a sick relative. Laura was very nice,kind and extreamly helpful. We enjoyed our stay and other members of our family will also in future stay with Laura. It was also very quiet even though we were very near to town. In a couple of minutes you can walk to the shops, find a pub, everthing is within walking distance, just perfect :-)

Room Tip: Book early, i can imagine other people also wanting to go back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicht456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thankyou so much for staying with us before Christmas and for taking the time and trouble to leave such a great review of your stay at Border Cottage. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay here - it was a pleasure to meet you both and we hope to see you back here again next time you're visiting relatives in the area. Very many thanks also for recommending us to your brother who's booked a room with us later in the year. All best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My daughter and I were only staying for one night which was a real shame but we were made extremely welcome. Before we had even arrived Laura had kindly sent us some very easy to follow directions to Border Cottage and the adjacent car park (a very reasonable £3 that covered us from 1pm till 10am the following morning) and also recommended a good taxi firm to take us to the wedding we were attending. The room and all its facilities were so lovely and comfortable, the beds were fabulously cosy!! The breakfast got the better of us - it all looked so tasty that we went a bit over the top but it was well worth the effort! It was a very short stay and I would certainly stay again if I was back in the area - Lauras kindness continued after we left when she promptly returned the phone charger I had carelessly left behind. Definitely worth a visit if you are in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Hello Sue Thanks very much for staying with us last weekend and it's really great to hear such lovely comments about your stay! Many thanks for taking the trouble to leave us a review and we look forward to welcoming you back another time. All best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

My six day stay at Border Cottage was the icing on the cake of a wonderful return to the Petersfield area in which I grew up. I was there for a family birthday celebration. Laura's breakfasts were superb and matched my mother's cooking, (my mother was a first class chef). The room amenities, cleanliness, and linens were absolutely top notch and I defy any other establishment to match this high quality. The location of Border Cottage is ideally situated for walking around Petersfield and touring the area.

Well done Laura and thank you, I will certainly be booking with you again if I need to be in the Petersfield area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Peter
it was lovely to meet you and thankyou very much for staying with us for your reunion with family and friends. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward one day to seeing you here again. Thankyou so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review and I'm really pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts! Very best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Laura was the most amazing hostess and we felt very comfortable and at ease in Border Cottage. It is great because it is in the middle of Petersfield, so plenty of places to eat in the evening without having to drive. Also it was nice to be able to go for a stroll after our meal to look in all the shops and check out future eateries. We really liked Petersfield and would recommend it for a short break as there is plenty to do and easy to get to by train or road.

Border Cottage is sparkling clean and attractive, e.g. fresh flowers. Our room (I believe that it is the only guest room) had a comfortable bed and everything you could want. Also slightly larger than the average b&b twin and would have seemed larger if we opted to have the beds as a double. As it was, it was slightly tricky to get to the wardrobe. We chose the 'no breakfast' option which was great for us but I can image that breakdfast would be fantastic if the tea tray was anything to go by.

If you are considering Border Cottage and looking at Google Earth - we could not hear any traffic noise and although there is no parking this was not a problem. We would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda503918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 29 September 2013
Dear Amanda
Thankyou both very much for staying with us last weekend and we really appreciate the time and trouble you've taken to leave us such a lovely review. Delighted that you enjoyed Petersfield and the pretty countryside and also good to hear your favourite out of the local restaurants. It's always great to know what works well but thankyou also for mentioning that the access to the wardrobe could be improved and we've now removed one of the dressing table chairs to sort that out. Glad you like the well stocked tea tray! We look forward to seeing you at Border Cottage again. Very best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Gorgeous old style room with modern bathroom facilities, comfy bed. Our breakfast was delicious as was the fudge.
Laura was extremely helpful and friendly. We stayed two nights and would love to return sometime. Petersfield is a really nice place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LynleyKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Lynley
Thankyou very much! what a really great start to Sunday reading your lovely comments. Delighted that you both enjoyed staying and enjoyed the local fudge! and we very much hope to see you again - and look forward to hearing news then of your travels around the UK. All best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

My third stay at Border Cottage and it was just as the title above says.
A warm welcome, a delicious breakfast, a very comfortable bed (Ali would have happily taken it home if it fitted in her suitcase) and a great restaurant recommendation (The Fez) from Laura.
Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
landladylaura, Owner at Border Cottage, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Hello Andy & Ali
Very many thanks for your lovely comments and we greatly appreciate you taking the time and trouble to leave a review of your stay. Delighted that you're planning a return visit and we look forward to seeing you both. Great that you enjoyed your evening at the fun and friendly Fez Restaurant. See you same time next year! All best Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
7.6 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
0.2 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#5 of 25 in Petersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Jolly Drover
The Jolly Drover
#2 of 5 in Liss
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Border Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border Cottage

Property: Border Cottage
Address: 4 Heath Road, Petersfield GU31 4DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Hotel Class:4 star — Border Cottage 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One large double or twin character bedroom in pretty whitewashed 17th century cottage in town centre location nearby to excellent restaurants and pubs. 10 Minutes walk from train station. Petersfield is an attractive market town located in the South Downs National Park. 1 Hour by train from London and 30 minutes from Portsmouth, Chichester and Winchester. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Border Cottage Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing