We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“high quality food, excellent service, good accomodation...AND dog friendly!”
Review of The Cricketers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Cricketers Inn
Ranked #22 of 24 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 June 2013

My highly trained collies and I travel widely to compete in Obedience trials around the country. It is well nigh impossible to find good quality accomodation that accepts dogs at all, let alone three... and at the same time maintains the high standards of food and accomodation that I would maintain in my home. This is one of the few gems that prove the exception to that rule. Delicious food and drink, excellent accomodation with good quality sheets and a walk in shower, and a warm welcome to us all after a long hot day's competing...I would recommend The Cricketers to anyone, with or without canine companions.

Room Tip: if travelling with a dog or dogs there is an excellent room on the ground floor with a walkin shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

We had lunch at the CRICKETERS today, Excellent local beer and good quality generous food.There was a menu with plenty of choice and varied prices.The pub is well maintained and decorated to a good standard.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank davidwhite21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a well managed pub offering good accomodation and excellent food. The staff were delightful and the evening meal was top quality.Linen napkins say it all.There were fresh flowers on the table and a comforting open fire.All this at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

We quite literally stumbled across this treasure by pure chance and we are so pleased we did ! After enquiring as to the possibility of one nights' accomodation we were shown a lovely bright and airy room. After two nights in Portsmouth we slept extremely well ! But first, Dinner ! After a couple of drinks at the bar which included a very agreeable local real ale and a glass of wine for my lady we were seated at our table which had been reserved for us. Where to begin ? The food is fantastic. A wonderful fusion of flavours, beautifully presented and obviously proudly prepared and cooked. My main course was sea bass on a bed of crab mash potato. Terrific ! I'm not going to go into too much detail, go check this out for yourselves ! You will not be disappointed. The service is excellent with impeccably well mannered and well spoken staff. The owner is very friendly and both he and the front of house gentleman ( I cannot bring myself to call him just a barman !) cannot make
you feel more welcome and at home. A lovely breakfast followed the next day before we sadly had to be on our way.
They even posted some items on to us that we left behind. Wonderful people in beautiful surroundings. They deserve the best of success and I'm sure this venue will really go places. Make sure you visit soon, you'll be so glad you did! Thank you to you all, we will be back !

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TOBYJUG868X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I have been coming to Petersfield from the US for over 6 months now for work. I've tried several hotels in town. Two months ago we found the Cricketers Inn, and I've been thrilled ever since (even looking forward to my trips over). The staff is very attentive to every need I could have as a business traveler, and has been very open to suggestions to help them improve. My room is always clean and comfortable with a desk, iron, and free wi-fi. Even though I face a road, the room is quiet, and SO MUCH better than the other hotels I have tried. Add to it that the food is off the chart wonderful, and the restaurant is beautiful - I find myself looking forward to the end of each and every day.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChikinsR4dinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We dined at the cricketers with friends last Fridayand was very impressed with the standard of food and the ambience within.The food was excellent and very well priced and coupled with a good selection of beers will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank andybolderston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Five colleagues and i visited the Cricketers for a meal and evening out.
We thoroughly enjoyed the excellent meal, the good selection of wines and beers available and the wonderful ambience in the pub.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient.
We all had an excellent evening and will be recommending the venue to all our friends and will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petersfield hotels
1.3 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
160 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Buriton
105 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#6 of 24 in Petersfield
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
458 reviews
2.7 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
354 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ye Olde George Inn
Ye Olde George Inn
#9 of 24 in Petersfield
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cricketers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cricketers Inn

Address: 1 Church Road, Petersfield GU32 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Price Range: £69 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cricketers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cricketers Inn can be found in the charming village of Steep. Though located just 5 minutes drive outside of the market town of Petersfield it is perfectly located to explore the beautiful South Downs landscape. Nestled at the foot of the majestic ash hangers that provide walkers and ramblers the Hangers Way - a beautiful 21 mile walking trail between Alton, through to Hawkley, Petersfield, Buriton and ending at Queen Elisabeth country park. The route offers great views of Hampshires countryside, a great selection of pubs and inns and rich and varied history - from Bronze age burial mounds to Roman settlements, and the village of Steep is the last residence of poet Edward Thomas before departing for France during WWI and the natural surroundings heavily influenced his works.Petersfield town and the square often holds craft and farmers markets and offers an array of shops, restaurants and activities to visitors.The South Downs Way is also easily accessible providing the intrepid walker or cyclist 100 miles of rural Hampshire to explore. The East Hampshire Cycle route also passes through Steep and is a popular track. By foot, by bike or even by horse there are numerous trails surrounding us showcasing stunning scenery and the views from 'Shoulder of Mutton hill' (where a stone monument to poet Edward Thomas has been erected) are surely some of the best in the county.The Cricketers Inn is a recently renovated pub/restaurant and B&B that offers its visitors a warm welcome and high quality of food, drink and service. With roaring log fires, real ales and a seasonal menu from chef Tom Lefevre (previously of Jamie Oliver), the Cricketers offers all who enter a warm welcome and quality, locally-sourced food & refreshment. Our ethos and aim is providing our customers with friendly service and quality food and to provide our community with a welcoming venue to entertain friends, family and clients within the elegant décor of our charming country pub - our lunch and dinner guests often find themselves sitting and chatting all afternoon or evening as they feel very at home, no problem as far as we’re concerned - it means we’re hitting the mark! We are open 8am until late everyday so whether for morning coffee and newspapers or an evening meal with friends there’s always opportunity to come and visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cricketers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cricketers Inn Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing