We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub and great breakfast but noisy boiler and extractor at rear bedroom”
Review of The Cricketers Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Cricketers Inn
Ranked #23 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely pub and great breakfast but noisy boiler and extractor at rear bedroom”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed over when in the area for a wedding. The staff were very friendly and the pub was lovely. The bed was very comfy. However the rooms could do with some renovation and we were in a room near the kitchen. The extractor fan was going on and off and then the boiler started to join in too. The curtains also didn't keep much light out so come 4am I had pretty much given up on trying to sleep! However we were cheered up in the morning by an awesome breakfast, very fresh produce and perfectly cooked.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coss22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    16
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
23
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Walked from Petersfield on a Saturday evening.
First visit from us since it has been taken over and was very pleasantly surprised.

Very well decorated and a very friendly greeting.
Food is plentiful and of good quality.

We chose the battered fish and chips £12.99 not the cheapest but lovely atmosphere and very enjoyable.

We will certainly be revisiting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masspfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

our usual breakfast haunt was closed, so we were looking for somewhere new.
Pulled up at this inn, and so glad we did. From outside it looks lovely, but you imagine horse
brasses low ceilings etc.like most places of this age.
But when we went inside how surprised we were. High ceilings, Georgian proportions, beautifully
decorated, so lovely.
Proper napkins, heavy cutlery the works.
Breakfast, full cooked English was fantastic, and although there were no menu's on the table and
we were expecting to be charged top rate, the two of us had change of £20, now that was a
really pleasant surprise too.
Two teas, each, full English, two tall cool glasses of orange juice and fair prices.
I found a dinner menu on the way out, and that was very interesting too
I really feel the need to go back.
They also have a pizza oven where you can watch the pizzas being cooked.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldspot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

£118 for a two-night stay with our pup and full English breakfast included; really a great deal for us used to London prices. Steep is close to the Hangers National Park, a perfect place for us to take our whippet for off-lead walks, and Petersfield, where the rail is, has a lovely Sunday farmer's market and was only a 30-minute country walk away from The Cricketers. The owner and staff, especially the manager Rody, of The Cricketers Inn were charming and accommodating. The food was beyond good, really top notch. We had the cauliflower soup with crispy croutons and the polenta chips with parmesan. The pub had a real fire, a wood fire pizza oven, chandeliers and played classy, folksy music. Dogs were allowed in the pub and to sleep in the rooms with you and were only £5 more on top of the already reasonable price. The rooms weren't amazing (the owner was the first to admit this as it is quite expensive for him to overhaul everything) and one side of our double bed was creaky where the springs felt broken but the linens were clean, kettle, tea and coffee were provided, full TV listing, and the pub below was tame and quiet for a Saturday night. I'd like to take my parents here later in the summer. It was the perfect weekend country retreat for my husband, me and our pup.

Room Tip: Avoid no. 6 with the broken bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiianswede22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

My son chose this hotel as he was looking over my shoulder whilst I dealt with laterooms. Both of us are big cricket fans and we play as much as we watch, so he said 'go on Dad, stay there'! I am so glad I did.
It was fabulous Terry and his team have completely re-invented what was a failing establishment by refurbishing and providing the 4 things you hope for most : good beer, good food, good rooms and great service.
Its not the Hilton, but if you want a soulless, plastic, 'bed factory' go stay at one. The Cricketers is clean and welcoming with character and warmth. Terry admits there is still much to do and it is a work in progress but don't let that out you off. B & B less than £80 is rare these days unless you are prepared to compromise your standards. There is no compromise here. Its excellent value for money.
My evening meal was outstanding as was my breakfast. An authentic wood fired Pizza oven delivered an excellent dinner and Roady was the perfect host! Breakfast had the 'world on a plate'. Again, with no compromise on quality
Don't argue with me, just stay there! You deserve their hospitality and they deserve to make the Cricketers THE 'go to' place when staying in that part of the country; it will be my bolt hole from now on without question! (ps Cracking pint of Grolsch!)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were looking for a quiet place close to home for a night away from it all. Couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating and the room was clean, fresh and nicely decorated. The breakfast we were served the following morning was nicely presented and made from wholesome fresh ingredients. We both returned home feeling fully refreshed and would definitely recommend this nicely decorated country inn.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms available which makes for a quiet, pleasant and attentive stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I booked two rooms at the Cricketers Inn this week one for me and one for a colleague as we were travelling down to Hampshire on business. We are a start-up so quite frugal when it come to expenses. I managed to book the rooms at £69 each (inc breakfast) - This was cheaper than the local Premier Inn. This is the special winter rate, I know it goes up after valentines day.

Anyway, the pub is located in a gorgeous setting, the room was clean comfortable and warm, with all the expected comforts (TV, Tea / Coffee, Iron). If I have a criticism, it's just that the shower cabinet is a little small, but the owner explained they are looking at investing in sorting this.

Th real gem here is the gastropub that the rooms are attached too. Quite literally excellent!! I had lemon sole, my colleague rib-eyed steak all very fresh and prepared in a wonderful gastro style... nice wines available and a great breakfast too!!

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
1.3 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
144 reviews
2.7 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
324 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#2 of 25 in Petersfield
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Ye Olde George Inn
Ye Olde George Inn
#10 of 25 in Petersfield
68 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#5 of 25 in Petersfield
74 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Flying Bull Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cricketers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cricketers Inn

Property: The Cricketers Inn
Address: 1 Church Road, Petersfield GU32 2DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cricketers Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cricketers Inn can be found in the charming village of Steep. Though located just 5 minutes drive outside of the market town of Petersfield it is perfectly located to explore the beautiful South Downs landscape. Nestled at the foot of the majestic ash hangers that provide walkers and ramblers the Hangers Way - a beautiful 21 mile walking trail between Alton, through to Hawkley, Petersfield, Buriton and ending at Queen Elisabeth country park. The route offers great views of Hampshires countryside, a great selection of pubs and inns and rich and varied history - from Bronze age burial mounds to Roman settlements, and the village of Steep is the last residence of poet Edward Thomas before departing for France during WWI and the natural surroundings heavily influenced his works.Petersfield town and the square often holds craft and farmers markets and offers an array of shops, restaurants and activities to visitors.The South Downs Way is also easily accessible providing the intrepid walker or cyclist 100 miles of rural Hampshire to explore. The East Hampshire Cycle route also passes through Steep and is a popular track. By foot, by bike or even by horse there are numerous trails surrounding us showcasing stunning scenery and the views from 'Shoulder of Mutton hill' (where a stone monument to poet Edward Thomas has been erected) are surely some of the best in the county.The Cricketers Inn is a recently renovated pub/restaurant and B&B that offers its visitors a warm welcome and high quality of food, drink and service. With roaring log fires, real ales and a seasonal menu from chef Tom Lefevre (previously of Jamie Oliver), the Cricketers offers all who enter a warm welcome and quality, locally-sourced food & refreshment. Our ethos and aim is providing our customers with friendly service and quality food and to provide our community with a welcoming venue to entertain friends, family and clients within the elegant décor of our charming country pub - our lunch and dinner guests often find themselves sitting and chatting all afternoon or evening as they feel very at home, no problem as far as we’re concerned - it means we’re hitting the mark! We are open 8am until late everyday so whether for morning coffee and newspapers or an evening meal with friends there’s always opportunity to come and visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cricketers Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cricketers Inn Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing