We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Half Moon

The Half Moon
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Half Moon
Ranked #9 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

After eating here several times now, and on one occassion staying at the establishment for a weekend, We have to say what a great place this is. Every meal we have had here was excellent and the accommodation most comfortable. This is a family run business with excellent staff who are eager to please you, nothing seems too much trouble. As I am a smoker, it was good to see a large beer garden at the side, with a good play area for children, where they can be watched from anywhere in the garden. We shall of course be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
15
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Really nice place, nice people calm (apart from main road but surprisingly peaceful) food was really good especially the chicken roast and home made rhubarb crumble a few of the staff members could have been a bit more useful, bring out cutlery before serving icecream which melts obviously and asking if we wanted another drink, childrens play area outside could be improved my 2 1/2 yr old became bored of it not long after arriving but overall a nice place, would come again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kate318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed one night as we were visiting the area for a wedding. It is very easy to find as the the sat nav set on 'centre of postcode' takes you to the front door. There is a large beer garden at the side with a childrens play area and I noticed that it was set at the back of the garden well away from the main road and even though it was a very hot day it was shaded so no panic about sunburn.
The pub itself has a smallish bar and a large restaurant which we did not use as we had made other arrangements, but the London Pride ale was spot on.
The room was very nice and the bed very comfortable, slightly eclectic mix of furniture (it all matched accept the dressing table which was completely different). There are 4 rooms in total, we were in room 3 overlooking the beergarden.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was from 8am - 10.00am and was very nice and nice to see a bit of black pudding on the plate!
The only thing that stopped me giving it 5 stars is the entrance to the hotel section of the building which is through a side gate, and a small outdoor area which was really pretty scruffy and as first impressions count you do start thinking, 'I hope the rooms are better than the yard area'. Thankfully they are but if it was me I would tidy it up and have some plants in barrels to make it look better rather than making you feel that you are going through some back alley to get in.
If you are booking a taxi to go out I can recommend Paddy Cars they were excellent and good value beating another companies quote by £30.00 for the same trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possumsivolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

My sisters and I stayed 1 night in this lovely old fashioned pub, we could have happily stayed longer. The welcome was very warm and the rooms were clean and comfortable. There was the nice touch of bottled water as well as the usual compimentry tea/coffee etc. The evening meal was well prepared and service was excellent. The breakfast was one of the best I have ever had. I cannot recommend this lovely family run establishment highly enough. And it was very resonably priced too.

Room Tip: always read the reviews before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked into this Inn for a wedding I had to attend in Petersfield and it was perfect. The room I got was a twin and was a good size with a homely feel to it. The bathroom was spotless and new by the looks of it. The bed was not all that comfortable I must admit and the room could do with a hairdryer. Other than that it was perfect.

All in all a good value Inn. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetter10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

We have used this pub/small hotel for two stays on our way to and back to Spain with our dog. Both stays were very comfortable, the rooms are ensuite, great comfy beds, nice new fresh decor,modern shower rooms and very clean. Very convenient for the ferry port in Portsmouth only 18 miles away. The staff are friendly and helpfully. The food is good with lots of choice and the breakfasts are fab keep you going all day. We will be going back. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 3 & 4 are very spacious great garden for children with area of swings etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littledog982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed on business; owner Colin extremely helpful as arrived by train late evening. Dinner normally until 2100, but arrived at 2130 and still had hot meal from bar menu, as easy to make as a cold sandwich. Good beers on tap inclduing guest real ale. Room was spotlessly clean; bed very comfortable and shower had good pressure and was warm; shampoo and shower gel provided. Colleague met me for breakfast in the morning at 0800; breakfast was 5* home made, FULL English, with cafetiere coffee or tea. Overall this was an excellent stay, with the Dinner menu for a future earlier arrival, good value and very varied. Good parking if coming by car; short tax ride from station, and took me 15 minutes to walk on a fine evening. HIGHLY Recommended

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rod P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Petersfield hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Old Drum
The Old Drum
#5 of 25 in Petersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#2 of 25 in Petersfield
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bootmenders B&B
Bootmenders B&B
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Half Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Half Moon

Property: The Half Moon
Address: 32 London Road | Sheet, Petersfield GU31 4BE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Half Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Half Moon Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing