We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of One Tree Cafe

One Tree Cafe
Ranked #33 of 66 Restaurants in Petersfield
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Petersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This place is a great little cafe for a book shop with a friendly service. At the risk of losing the fact that this is not well known and thereby making it easy to get a seat, I feel one should praise this. Coffee is probably the best tasting in town.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Milner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love One Tree”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Always fresh. Good service. Great cakes, coffee and lots if place to sit. And a wonderful book and gift shop.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sallygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,278 reviews
485 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“A Relaxing Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

An enjoyable afternoon visit for tea and hot chocolate . Good choice of comfortable seating at the rear of the ground floor plus further seating upstairs. Additionally there are a couple of tables outside but the weather was not right for that on the day. Very friendly staff and good service added to the experience. Interesting range of cakes although we would have like to see them all covered or behind a glass frontage. Newspapers to read and Wifi added to the pleasure of the visit. The menu board listed a wide range of sandwiches and ciabattas plus some locally made daily hot specials.We will definitely visit again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bsandrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Some of the best coffee in Petersfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This is a lovely little place to come and sit a while, and to enjoy quality coffee, scrummy cake or other delicious snack. The coffee is as good as anywhere on the continent - even the decaf - which fits nicely with the buzzing atmosphere and the little bistro tables. Recently discovered this treasure (the outside frontage of the bookshop doesn't do the quality of the interior justice in my opinion and we hadn't been drawn inside until I read a TripAdvisor review!), it has fast become our favourite place to go for coffee in town on a Saturday and for me to go and sit quietly and do some writing in the week.

If I could improve it at all, it would be to have more comfy chairs or at least a few more cushions fro those of us with bad backs - and I didn't realise that you could also take your coffee and sit upstairs, but now I do, I think I will!

All in all, it beats the big brand coffee shop chains by a mile.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyIsabellaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Freshly squeezed orange a particular delight!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

Since I wrote first review a year ago, the cafe has one of those fascinating machines they have in Italy, which is full of orange sections and presses them in front of your eyes. Truly delicious. Coffee and cakes still a delight. Really interesting place to meet your friends for coffee, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea. Indpendent bookshop who have interesting activities. They recently had David Attenborough in to sign books, but virtually no-one knew about it sadly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shoedocmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed One Tree Cafe also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to One Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing