We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surely best B&B in or around Petersfield” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Drum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Old Drum
Ranked #5 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Surely best B&B in or around Petersfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

I spent two nights here whilst working locally and found The Old Drum superb across the board. The room was spacious with a big, comfy bed, it was all spotlessly clean, the little touches like the complimentary whisky in a decanter was welcome and unusual. The food was excellent, particularly the burger which was excellent value. Staff were delightful at all times. Only negative was the 7am building work beneath my room but I think this was just bad luck.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    16
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
40
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Thoroughly disappointed by our recent visit on a Friday night. We had tapas and a burger for food in the garden. The burger was £9.95 and consisted, as a meal, of a burger in a bun and a few chips. There was no option for anything green, either on the plate or in the bun and when asked I was told that there is zero flexibility on the menu to add salad!
The burger arrived and was, quite frankly, bland. Had any waiting staff come and actually asked how out meal was then I would have said, failing that, I have had to write this review to give my feedback.
We left after one drink having been totally ignored and undervalued as a paying customers. Perhaps if we were 10 years older and 'looked like' we had money we would have had better service?

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Harbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
437 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

A free house with a great range of beers on tap, eclectic style and Petersfield's answer to The Wykeham Arms.

Always busy and deservedly so, book to avoid disappointment.

Tapas s an ideal way to stav off the hunger, with good weather again, imagine you're in Santiago.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sm0ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire ,England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Having known the pub back in the day ( grimey rugby pub), I was interested in the new refurb. Went for lunch on a sunny Friday afternoon and the pub wasn't busy but had a few tables of smarter ladies lunching and an older chap or two. Charming staff.
First impressions is very "niace". You have your wooden floor, sage green and white paintwork and dark wood furniture. There is more than one menu to appeal to all good middle class lunching types. There's a tapas menu, a special of haddock fishcake (£9.95), another of .chicken salad (with a whole breast £12.50), a paper menu with starters mains and puds and and a range of baguettes.
We sat in the garden which was well designed with wooden seating divided by pagodas. I had the chorizo, tomato and clam tapas plus a halloumi, potato, pea and mint version (£4 each). My friend had the fishcake special. He was pleased declaring it all delicious and the seperate chips certainly were. My chorizo dish was rubbish with most of the taste coming from the tinned tomato's. The halloumi was better flavoured and more substantial having several new potatoes.Real ales were good.
I'd come back back but it doesn't stand out in a sea of similar (identical) places to eat in town and the villages nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyEade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

Just spent a super night at the Old Drum. Enjoyed an excellent tapas lunch in the sunny oasis of the garden. Explored Petersfield properly knowing we were there for the night. Superb and imaginative dinner menu, excellently cooked an presented. Wine was well priced and there was an interesting selection of ales and ciders. Service was efficient and friendly. Then to bed in what was probably, next to our own bed, the most comfy ever! Room was elegantly decorated and furnished with excellent en-suite. All in all a lovely break away and as easy access from the station a good place for a short break away if you don't fancy taking the car. Hope to be back soon to the lovely Old Drum with friends and family.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Moneypenny98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

The room we stayed in had been recently refurbished to a high standard. The bed was simply divine: so very comfortable. I was worried about noise from the pub, which closes at 12am on Friday nights, but we did not hear a peep. That said it was a cold May evening and there was not a sole in the beer garden.
Whilst the rooms were indeed great, what really shone was the excellent, friendly and efficient service of the staff (particularly the landlady). There was always a smile; nothing was too much trouble.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thereichinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilwern, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a business trip. Room beautiful, lovely decor, cosy, very comfy bed. Large, modern shower but no bath which was the main downside. Food at the pub was gorgeous (including lovely breakfast), staff friendly and very helpful. Digby the little dog is an angel! Very well located in town. Only other note was that as this is a pub, the noise travelled up to the room until about 11pm. Didn't particularly bother me, but worth noting. I will definitely book again when next visiting. Worth booking ahead, as only 2 rooms there, which adds to its charm.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BethandAlO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
6.7 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
3.5 mi away
Bootmenders B&B
Bootmenders B&B
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Drum

Property: The Old Drum
Address: 16 Chapel Street, Petersfield GU32 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Drum 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Old Drum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Drum Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing