We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Drum
Nearby Hotels
The Trooper Inn(Froxfield)(Great Value!)
US$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langrish House(Petersfield)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Petersfield(Petersfield)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$362
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$318
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$221
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$264
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$75
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Angel Inn(Midhurst)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
52
18
2
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
18
2
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfy bedthe pubfamily suiteplenty of drawer spacegreat central locationcomplimentary whiskycoffee and tea facilitieslovely roomb blovely townwine listone night staybreakfast was deliciousmid weekfor sunday lunchstayed for nightsgood nights sleep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Had an excellent night's sleep in lovely comfortable bed and feather pillows. I enjoyed the complimentary dram of whisky before going out, which was nice touch. The location is perfect and we were going out to a function so didn't get the chance to eat dinner but the food smelt lovely and will be back again. The breakfast was delicious and I had scrambled eggs and smoked salmon instead of the full cooked breakfast which was a nice change, excellent tasting salmon. Lots of character in the pub with log fires lit and the owner's little Jack Russell was very friendly. Parking is no problem at the back of the hotel in the public car park which is free after 18.00. Enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms - choose the room that is not on the road side as it can be noisy when the pubs close
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PamC149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

First time at The Old Drum but not the last, this is what the hotel trade ought to be all about but rarely is, £70 for a night B&B....probably the most luxurious bed i've ever slept in, without doubt a stunning Pub with a range of well kept ales and a breakfast that clearly wasn't sourced at a Supermarket but instead clearly comprised of top - end ingredients. Welcoming bar staff and generally a feeling of warmth and service exudes from every corner of the establishment. Keep up the good work guys!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This was the second time I have visited the Old Drum . Last time being exactly one year ago . This time my wife and I and two friends stayed for two nights here whilst attending the Goodwood Revival .
We were all impressed with the bedrooms which were neatly decorated and everything was clean , tidy and well presented .Lovely comfortable beds plus warm bedding meant a good nights sleep .
Simon the landlord and his team are politeness personified and can't do enough for you . The food here is excellent and sourced from local produce and there is a good selection of beer and wine .
We all really enjoyed our stay here and would definitely visit again .
Keep up the good work guys !!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dachopfather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

I stayed he with my wife on the Thursday evening before Goodwood revival, often a difficult time to book with accommodation racking the prices up to account for the demand. the old drum is comfortable with a warm welcome, well appointed rooms and a particularly nice touch was a dram of whiskey along with the usual tea and coffee as well as still and sparkling water. We did not eat in but the menu looked to be above average pub food and heading for gastro pub, they also have an early evening tapas menu. With a cooked to order breakfast the following morning the overall stay was excellent and I shall certainly use again when in the area.

Room Tip: I do not think they have too many rooms so cannot comment
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We found the pub to be beautiful with extremely freindly staff who made us feel comfortable quickly upon arrival, even providing fresh milk for our room. The room itself was freshly decorated with a smart bathroom and comfy bed. Unfortunately their was a dirty used glass in our room which was the only oversight on a spotless room.
Staff were flexible with when we could come down for breakfast. My husband had a lovely cooked breakfast, but what was most suprising was that there was no option for a vegetarian cooked breakfast which should always be available in any b&b- instead I had scrambled eggs and a cooked tomatoe. This was a big let down for the stay unfortunately.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honeymooner4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews