We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed breakfast was a let down”
Review of The Old Drum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Old Drum
Ranked #6 of 25 Petersfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This a a gorgeous pub in a lovely town. The owners are very charming. The bedrooms ( two couples in two rooms) were decorated tastefully with first class linens and mattresses. Would of preferred a couple of biscuits with my tea/ coffee instead of whiskey decanter. Did notice it was dusty but put this down to the windows being open as it was understandably a hot day and there was building work behind the pub so difficult to keep clean. However my son said that in their room someone had written in the dust "clean me" so clearly had not been done since the last occupants.
Breakfast was poor however. No fresh fruit / dried fruit decent choice of cereals. Coffee doled out one cup at a time. Fried eggs overcooked with rock hard fried bread. Orange juice eventually arrived after owner noticed its absence. No toast or jams or marmalade..... Not in my opinion a full English . So a bit disappointed having paid in advance in full I felt the waitress was keen to get us out and we were a little bit of an inconvenience . It's a place I would go back to if the dusting and breakfast were improved.

Room Tip: Two rooms both with fab beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SusanHeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights because The Old Drum is quite accessible to the Shipwright's Path, if you like walking, and close to the Petersfield railway station. Only 2 rooms available over a pub, but don't be afraid, the hosts (Simon and Suzi) and staff are the best -- friendly, accommodating, and courteous. Food is great too, full English breakfast included (or less if you want). Fresh fruit, hot and cold cereals available, if you want something lighter in the morning. Dinner menu, if you choose, is creative and quite tasty. Extensive beer, ale and wine list. Dining room is very comfortable, cozy atmosphere, even though the fireplaces were not needed when we stayed. Pub itself has a nice buzz, mostly locals, very pleasant ambiance...not the least of which is provided by Digby, the pub dog. Don't worry about noise from the pub disturbing your rest, you cannot hear it. Bedroom is ample size, smart color combinations, bed is comfy (larger than an American queen size), bathroom is very small, but well fitted-out, modern fixtures and thirsty towels. Free Internet works well. All in all, a great value and a terrific place to stay. I would certainly return. But let's keep The Old Drum our little secret!

Room Tip: There are only 2 guest rooms. We stayed in the front room facing the street. But the town (and Chap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

This was a gem of a pub. We had a lovely meal in the garden area with friends and a quiet night sleep in a comfortable bed. The bedroom was very nicely decorated and our breakfast very healthy. Right in the town centre. We parked our car in the local car park as there are no parking facilities on the premises. We will definitely stay again on our next visit. The staff were very helpful and professional.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Poudreuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Well, I don't know what other Tripadvisor readers are looking for when they arrive somewhere to stay but the priorities for us are a warm welcome and a clean room. The welcome we received at The Old Drum was so ... well, welcoming ... we wished we'd booked more than just one night. Unfussy, friendly, helpful - it's no wonder this pub is so popular because the team working there are right on track. The pub itself is nice - a bit quirky, as old English pubs should be. The bar was full by 7 pm (it was a Friday night) and the clientele were a mixed bunch and the atmosphere was buzzing without being overwhelmingly noisy. We loved it. We enjoyed a great meal in the restaurant and went off up to bed at around 10. No noise from downstairs! We had the room (there are only two) facing the street which I had been worried about (hopelessly light sleeper). There was a bit of traffic noise until about 11 - and I'm talking one or two cars and maybe one bus - this is not Piccadilly, this is Petersfield after all. Then not a sound until probably 8 a.m. Saturday morning. Our bed was beautifully made up with gorgeous bed linen ... the bathroom was pretty small (our American friends would laugh - but then they're always amazed at Euro bathrooms!), but it was perfectly adequate and spotlessly clean. We loved our stay. We felt as though we'd been greeted as friends and we were genuinely sad to say goodbye. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I was worried about traffic noise as we had the room overlooking the street - I needn't have wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here overnight for a local wedding on a Saturday night. Beautifully done up, the pub is traditional but classy. Staff were welcoming and helpful (giving advice, booking taxis etc) Lovely menu and delicious lunch. There are 2 rooms, ours was smart, clean and very comfortable. Great central location with easy parking just behind the pub. Would definitely recommend staying here, or visiting for food / drinks.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mrswhapples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Only stayed at the Old Drum for ine night but it was a truly wonderful experience! Very nice and warm welcome at the beginning, beautiful and spacious room, all clean and well equipped!
I had everything I neeed, from a comfy bed to a very special breakfast with Digby, the house dog! If I should ever get back to Petersfield I will definitely stay there! Highly recommend it! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moni_56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a lovely room in a lovely pub in the centre of Petersfield. The owner was very nice and helpful and there were nice touches like a free measure of whisky and fresh milk on demand from the bar. The breakfast and food in the bar were great although the menu choice for dinner is limited - I suggest you look at the menu before booking especially as there are many restaurants nearby. Parking was in a nearby car park and you need to play the game to get the cheapest rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColchesterJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
2.8 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
344 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
157 reviews
22.9 mi away
Mandolay Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Buriton
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pearfield Bed and Breakfast
Pearfield Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 25 in Petersfield
115 reviews
1.0 mi away
Crescent Cottage
Crescent Cottage
#1 of 25 in Petersfield
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Drum

Address: 16 Chapel Street, Petersfield GU32 3DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Petersfield
Price Range: £95 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Drum 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Drum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Drum Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing