We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great unconventional pizzas”
Review of The Cricketers Inn

The Cricketers Inn
Ranked #49 of 67 Restaurants in Petersfield
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great unconventional pizzas”
Reviewed 13 March 2013

I've been going to The Cricketers Inn for over ten years. It's changed hands quite a few times within that time frame but the new publicans have done an excellent job, without any drastic refurbs that would put off old timers. Lovely wood fired clay pizza oven.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harrietthespy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
W Sussex
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dont let the outside put you off”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Found this place by chance when a nearby pub was full and could not take a family get together of 5.

Not half bad so worth the diversion

Changed hands in Nov 12 so not sure if Ben S review prior to that.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JemThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great new innovative restaurant in Petersfield”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Popped in for a pint with a friend on a Thursday evening and we were given some excellent free slices of Pizza.
Based on the taste of these and the Menu I had a look at I booked a table for Sunday lunchtime.
I took my wife for an early Valentines meal and we both thoroughly enjoyed the meal we had. As befits a proper Restaurant the portions are well thought out and a sensible size. You don't come out feeling to full just pleasantly surprised by some interesting combinations of food. Their take on ham egg & chips which I had as a starter was extremely good, particularly the warm Scotch Quails eggs which had a runny yolk amazing. We both had three courses and wine and coffee and stil had change from £100 which is very good value.
I really hope the locals support this place as it is a refreshing change in the area, and shows some commitment from the landlord. Give it a try you won't regret it

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This pub has changed hands regularly over the last few years, the last incarnation being a dingy Tapas restaurant. The new owners have given it a facelift and it's been decorated very well indeed, inside and out. It's basically a very pleasant place to have a pint now. BUT: the food is a bit disappointing and needs a rethink.

The menu looks good, if expensive (oddly, it's not published on the website). The actual food was very different: small portions, clearly cooked in a rush (even though it took an hour to come), poorly presented and lacking finesse. Choices vary in quality. One of us had the quiche (over £10) - which was delicious but a very small portion, with the wrong veg thrown onto the plate (the menu said sweet potato, my wife got three small roast potatoes and was left feeling very hungry). The hamburger was well-cooked but the chips were greasy, overcooked and there weren't enough of them. The pizzas were too small and the tomato base incorrectly made (the wood oven is a nice touch, but please employ someone who knows how to make pizzas). The first course Italian salad was poor.

For The Cricketers to work as a food establishment, it needs to consider:

1. Improving the food.
2. Increasing portion size generally.
3. Introducing a lunch menu under £10 and/or a bar menu.
4. Speeding up its service.
5. Employing a pizza chef and increasing the size of the pizzas by 50%.

Staff were very friendly and the facilities are good. Just don't eat there till the food situation is improved - you'll probably be underwhelmed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cricketers Inn also viewed

Petersfield, Hampshire
 
Petersfield, Hampshire
 

Been to The Cricketers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing