We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Langrish House
Nearby Hotels
The Trooper Inn(Froxfield)(Great Value!)
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Petersfield(Petersfield)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$228
US$173
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Angel Inn(Midhurst)
US$153
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$53
Travelodge
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveller rating
199
89
34
20
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
89
34
20
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teadrawing roomsconeslovely groundsfamily homeinteresting historyold houseguinea fowlmeon valleyraspberry jamdining room isperfect choicefamily historybeautiful country housefine diningcelebrate our anniversarywedding breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 358 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My partner and I stayed on the 7 & 8th March for my Birthday, on a deal. We loved the setting in a lovely old historical family house and grounds (where the owners still live). The staff were welcoming, warm and friendly, without the normal robotic fake bon ami that somehow passes for 'good service' in some establishments. The family were also there and not distant.

We arrived late, but were not made to feel uncomfortable and ate in the restaurant, which was excellent. The meal was expensive, but every mouthful was a pleasure. Breakfast was also great, a little disorganised at times, but this was more than made up for by the friendly and helpful nature of the staff. This generally positive attitude from the staff says alot about the place, as does the quality of the chefs, and the comments made by the owners on here which have sought to defend their staff on occasion. The fact that they can be bothered to respond to so many comments here shows how much they care about their business.

The room, as with much of the rest of the place, was steeped in history. Dated perhaps, but not in a bad way, and clean, while our bathroom was modern. We also had a great view.

Reading through some of the other reviews, not everything is perfect, and this place is clearly not for everyone. But, if you want to, you can always find fault, and it is how you feel about and deal with such imperfections that will make a difference to your stay here. With fault comes character. Perhaps sometimes people should try to look beyond surface imperfections to the real personality of a place, with all that entails. Otherwise we may just end up with a country just full of 'perfect' but bland corporate hotels, with little character, served by overly friendly but underwhelming staff, as is increasingly happening to the shops on our high streets.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nursewendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you for your lovely review and more importantly for appreciating what we are: a family owned, private house hotel. We are not a chain! We are delighted you enjoyed the food so much. Our chefs are very talented and passionate about what they do. We have a terrific and hard working team. We do not pretend to be a slick modern hotel. We DO care a lot about our guests and giving them pleasure is our greatest reward. We hope to welcome you back 'ere long

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had our wedding reception here last November. The staff made the day absolutely perfect. The food was outstanding!!!! The rooms were lovely, clean and comfortable. The staff are extremely helpful and made our day so memorable that we've booked to go back on our first anniversary.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelGavin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We very much enjoyed helping you plan the day you both wanted. We are so glad that it all went so well and that you enjoyed your wedding day so much. We are so looking forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I had an overnight stay at the Langrish, I found the accommodation to be satisfactory and loved the house and grounds, peaceful and quite, the dining room was imitate, dinner was a disappointment warm plate and warm dinner, we were second in , ordered our starter, arrived in reasonable time, but had to wait some 35+ minutes for the main to appear, (fish) which was luke warm, when it eventually arrived, most others who came in after us got there mains before we did, a nice touch was the owner/proprietor who came around to say hello, I think the hotel has potential to do better, I hope they do.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weezergeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear Mr Weezergeezer, We are so glad you enjoyed our wonderful location. It must be clear to our guests that as owners we care passionately about their stay and want everyone to have a wonderful time. This is precisely why we take the trouble to visit everyone in the restaurant. It is such a pity you did not tell US about your problem. Had we known at the time we could have done something about it. We could have found out why there had been a delay. People are always telling us that they are happy when we ask them. Your anonymous comments mean we can make no further enquiries with the staff and cannot take the appropriate steps to ensure it doesn't happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We were given a night at Langrish House Hotel as a gift. Having read the poor reviews we had low expectations. Unfortunately these were confirmed, in some respects.

Firstly, the positive. Our evening meal was good, although starter portions (tortellini) were rather small. My pork belly main course was very good indeed. The kitchen clearly works hard to create great tasting, well presented dishes that do not disappoint. The service was perfectly adequately provided by two polite employees, though I felt sorry for the waiter who was also the hotel receptionist and porter. The wine list was uninspiring but adequate. The restaurant is in a newer part of the building and has a 1980s feel to it. We had breakfast in a much more pleasant room in the older part of the house. Breakfast itself was good and it was served very cheerfully.

Now, the negatives. Almost everything to do with the hotel part of Langrish House is awful. It's located next door to a factory; the front of the hotel (which surely should be attractive to guests) holds the drains and the kitchen's greasy extractor fan; my sensitive nose was suffering (although there had been significant rainfall which often activates drains). The hotel is rather grubby and items are put slightly out of the way (red carpet rolled up, spare chairs, etc) rather than stored which destroys any potential for a luxury feel. The room in which we stayed (the Hideaway) is dreadfully shabby and woefully inadequate. I could go on - but there's little point.

Compared to other country house hotels we've stayed in, Langrish House lacks charm. I'm sure the hotel, given a little love and care and the attention of an interior designer could be very much better. Who knows - it may once have been. For now, my summary is - do eat here but don't stay here (at least not in the Hideaway room).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carlrobertwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dinner so much. The Chefs do, indeed, work very hard as do the rest of the team. We are a very small hotel and the staff work extremely hard and cheerfully multi-task as you have noticed. It is so dispiriting for them when negative comments are made. We have had a wonderful write up in the Sunday Telegraph and get so many 'happy' letters from people who have had a wonderful time here. Alas the 'anonymous' tripadvisor does seem to attract the more negative reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I didn't pay for my stay at Langrish House it was a gift for my birthday and i'm quite glad about that. If I had paid the booking price of £298 for a standard room for the same two nights stay I would have been a little annoyed.

There was no real problems with our stay but I think it is massively overpriced for what it is. The main attraction of the hotel is the beautiful location and we did have an amazing view from our room but the hotel itself was a bit disappointing. The room was a bit shabby looking and small. There was a light missing above the shower and the sealant around the sink and bath was quite grubby and mouldy...nothing major but not what you would expect when you are paying £150 a night!

The main problem we had however was when we decided to have a nice relaxing drink before eating. There is no bar in the hotel and so we were told we could have a drink in the drawing room. However no one kept an eye on us and we had to go searching around the hotel for a memeber of staff when we were ready for another drink which made us feel like we were just an inconvenience. It was also a shame that the hotel was completeley silent, no background music or anything which created a slightly uncomfortable feeling when another couple joined us in the same room with us pretty much whispering to each other.

We also found that although when we checked in we were told how to find the restaurant (down the stairs and through the vaults) it would seem that most people were not as we found ourselves having to explain to every other party where to go to avoid them wandering around lost!!

The meal itself was very nice, was slightly annoyed to have a service charge added on for our meal but many hotels do the same. However as we were the last couple in the restauarant finishing our desserts (it was only just approaching 10pm at this point) the staff came in and stripped the tables and hovered around obviuosly waiting for us to leave...which we did even though it would have been nice to sit and finish our wine (lack of bar meaning we had no where else to do that!)

On a personal note I was disappointed to find fois grais on the menu, this might just be me but that doesn't really seem to be in keeping with a hotel that seems to be trying to be quite environmentaly concious??

Overall we had a pleasant stay and would not really complain except for the price. For the level of service and the general state of the hotel I think it is massively over priced.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancesS914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2013

We are so pleased you liked our lovely location. We are indeed very lucky! Langrish House is a privately owned family home that is also a hotel. There is no bar because we don't have room for one, and also because we prefer to settle our guests in the Drawing Room and bring them their drinks as if they were our family guests. We remain confused as to the prices you have mentioned!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews