We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Country House Weekend Getaway”
Review of Langrish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langrish House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Country House Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Langrish is an old-fashioned country house which provides a lovely destination for a long walk through the stunning Hampshire countryside. Unlike other old hotels, Langrish offers a warm atmosphere, comfortable rooms, soft beds and clean modern bathrooms. We had dinner in the restaurant and enjoyed the South Downs venison and pheasant dishes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepidtraveller202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and DO hope we will be able to welcome you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    84
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
65
168
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

My cousin had her wedding reception/evening function here. Very peaceful setting and the house is stunning, the dungeons are a little odd...expected most haunted to pop out at any moment.
There were 80 of us and food arrived in good time and hot, tasting brilliant! Portion sizes could be bigger but I eat double size of most adults! Staff were very helpful, had a laugh and a joke with waiting staff!
All in all very good venue for a wedding

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Samcoldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed the wedding so much and that you thought the food was so good! We love Weddings here at Langrish House and there is something very special about December weddings! The 'dungeons' have a long and fascinating history! We don't think they are haunted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

For my 40th birthday my wife and I were treated to a night at Langrish House and it is one of the nicest places we've ever stayed.

The room was clean with stunning views over the surrounding countryside and woodland.

The food was outstanding and we were even served additional treats before our starter. All three courses, for which there was plenty of choice, were excellent and the staff went out of their way to make sure everything was to our liking. Customer-wise too for a Sunday night the dining room was full - testament to a restaurant with a great reputation. I'd also like to mention the wine list which was brilliant - we don't often treat ourselves to quality wine but the 2009 Chateau Des Gravieres was amazing.

Frankly I was stunned by smuckingfart's comment below - TBH with a handle like smuckingfart I'm not sure I care about their opinion on food anyway but it seems a little unfair that they can sway the Tripadviser opinion-o-meter based on nonsense.

Langrish House is a beautiful place for a break away and my wife and I will certainly return again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Mr Mhkelly, Thank you SO much for your review. We are SO glad that you enjoyed your stay so much and very much look forward to welcoming you and your wife here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Quite possibly the worst meal I've ever had! Poor menu choice, 2 meat, 2 fish, one veggie. Beautifully presented but the vegetable pasta dish was 6 carrot sticks, 6 baby sprouts, cabbage etc arranged around a cold swirl of spaghetti pasta, the guinea fowl was shredded leg meat in a miniature pie, more like a canapé. it all lacked imagination and left an aftertaste of disappointment. No wonder the restaurant was empty on a Friday evening!
Service was good and the venue lovely. We've stayed here and dined here before but not again.
Oh, and if you're looking for value for money, this isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank smuckingfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mr Smuckingfart, We are so glad you like the venue and thought the service was good. Your waitress is amazed by your review because on the evening you said you were enjoying your dinner. She asked you several times and you had said you were happy. Our experience is that our guests VERY MUCH enjoy the food here. Our chefs have all got a Michelin background and although the restaurant may have been quiet when you were here, that is not often the case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

We celebrated our wedding here 25 years ago and returned for an anniversary meal which we enjoyed in the Vaults. The menu was ultimate in fine dining. There was a lovely warm ambience in this charming old house and the service was impeccable and genuine. Thank you Langrish House.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasu68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. My husband was delighted to meet you and we are both thrilled you came back after 25 years to celebrate your Silver Wedding Anniversary with us! We hope to welcome you back here again soon. Please don't leave it another 25 years!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

I'm afraid I have to echo most of the points mentioned by the previous reviewer. My husband and I decided on the afternoon tea for his birthday. We had already celebrated in London and thought this would round it off nicely when we returned. We were both very disappointed. The champagne was already poured and brought to the table in glasses by the deputy manager who served us throughout. It would have been nicer if they had been poured at the table. The sandwiches were very bland and the bread likewise. They may just as well have been made witth supermarket bread. The mini chocolate brownies and lemon cake were nothing special and I had to specifically request another pot of tea. It would have been better if we had been asked. Altogether very underwhelming. I certainly wouldn't recommend it especially at the price. The only plus was the beautiful gardens which we looked out on from our table.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeychild43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We are so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. We would be so grateful if you would email us directly as we would like to know more about your Tea and when it was so that we can make proper enquiries. We have very recently changed our Afternoon Tea offering and are very proud of the changes. We really DO want people to enjoy their visits here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

First impressions are high as you pull onto the gravel driveway of Langrish House and catch the first glimpse of the beautifully kept gardens.

Forget modern box hotels and just enjoy the comfort that this hotel offers. Our room was small, tucked up in the eaves and had no shower, only a bath with a hand held shower attachment, but the comfiness of the bed made up for that as it was sublime!

We arrived exhausted needing to sleep before heading out to a party that night, had we not set the alarm to get up we'd have slept right through until the next morning, I can't remember the last time that I've slept so well in a hotel. We couldn't wait to get back that night just to get back into the bed and check out the stars on the ceiling of room 16!

Breakfast was perfect with toast served in a toast rack ,which always makes my day!

The hotel is dog friendly so we may well take a trip back with ours one day as the countryside surrounding the hotel is ideal for a weekend of long walks.

Room Tip: Room 16 is small, but a very comfy bed and has a starlit ceiling that appears in the dark!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneliese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed the stars and of course, the bed! We are delighted that you enjoyed your time here and that you slept so well. We do hope that you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you (and your dog) again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
11.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
8.9 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
13.7 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
14.1 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
501 reviews
16.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langrish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langrish House

Property: Langrish House
Address: Langrish, Petersfield GU32 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langrish House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms and Agoda so you can book your Langrish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langrish House Hotel Petersfield
Langrish Hotel Petersfield
Langrish House Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing