We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“afternoon tea”
Review of Langrish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langrish House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
southsea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“afternoon tea”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Afternoon Tea was a very pleasant affair with a voucher through groupon we were unsure what to expect but it was extremely good with fresh sandwiches and scones the order of the day, would thoroughly recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slinkyminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and do hope we will be able to welcome you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    82
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
64
162
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Six of us booked a Sunday lunch at the hotel which is located in the country and was a splendid oldie world building. When we arrived there was no one in the main entrance reception. A gentleman arrived and directed us to another entrance where the restaurant was situated. The restaurant was surprising small. The staff were friendly and professional. The Sunday lunch menu was basic, however we made our choices and the food arrive fairly quick, presentation was reasonable and the portions were adequate. I had the roast pork which lacked taste, others had the roast beef which again they said lacked taste, the vegetables and potatoes were also poor in taste. I then had the sticky toffee pudding with custard which was very sweet, but suited my taste buds and was very good. We all felt the price for Sunday lunch was high for what we had and was only average. We expected the food to be top class, unfortunately it wasn't and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Manager at Langrish House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
thank you for taking the time to review your recent Sunday lunch at Langrish House. So glad you liked the house with all its charm and fascinating history. thank you for your kind comments about the staff as they work so hard to ensure all guest's receive good professional service, its was however disappointing to read your comments about the food as we had lots of good feedback that day, about the quality of the food, the beef is of top quality locally sourced organic beef from Rother valley and the pork was a big seller with no other complaints, as to the sticky toffee pudding, we did not service with custard it was in fact a home made toffee sauce with mint choc chip ice cream, but I'm glad you enjoyed the sweetness!.

The Groupon voucher offer is 50% off our normal lunch price of £21.95 for 3 courses and represents great value especially as we serve generous portion sizes, local organic beef and produce

since we started the groupon offer we have served over 350 people with 99% of people going away extremely happy with return bookings made.

Kindest Regards
Andrew Foot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Myself, wife and eldest son decided to try the restaurant as we had heard some really good recommendations. We were met by a gentleman by the name of Steve who was very welcoming and showed us to a table. He gave us some of the history of the house which was quite interesting. Well the meal was nothing short of outstanding its presentation and everything was cooked to perfection. Both my wife and eldest son are qualified chefs and we have eaten in michelin star restaurants before. The meal and everything was way above the 2 Rosettes that it has been awarded. We will becoming back on a regular basis

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Manager at Langrish House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
thank you for your fantastic review regarding your visit to langrish house, So glad you had a wonderful time. I have passed your very kind comments onto the head chef and his team, as the work tirelessly to ensure that the food they produce is of an outstanding quality. They use only the finest local ingredients from local suppliers. Also it was nice to read they you enjoyed learning about the history of the house of which there is so much to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hear future

Kindest Regards
Andrew Foot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with friends, the hotel is warm and inviting( home away from home) our evening meal was exceptional, and amazing service! With the owner greeting there guests every evening is a special touch. although we didn't have afternoon tea they looked very impressive. And I highly recommend langrish house for a visit!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Monkeynew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Manager at Langrish House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
thank you for your wonderful review, I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay and you very much enjoyed your evening meal the head chef and his team work tirelessly to create amazing dishes using the finest ingredients sourced locally using local suppliers. I will also pass on your remarks to our front of house team and work so hard to ensure that all guests that visit Langrish house have an amazing time. The owner will be glad that you find his visit a special touch as we feel this is in line with our family feel that we offer.

Such a shame that you missed out on the afternoon tea's as they are a wonderful experience with all the products produced in house by our amazing chefs, hopefully we will be able to welcome you back soon and you can sample this delightful treat

Kindest Regards
Andrew Foot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We recently purchased an Afternoon Tea on Groupon as a treat for my mother-in-law. We could not have been more pleasantly surprised when we arrived at Langrish House - what a stunning setting. The restaurant was small, but with a roaring fire and extremely charming and helpful staff the intimacy was delightful!
Food was delicious. What you would expect for an afternoon tea and more. My husband's food allergy was catered for, we asked in advance, and mum-in-law felt she was treaded 'like a queen'!
There was far more food than we could eat - I only wish we had thought to ask for a doggy-bag!
We will definitely be returning for a meal some time soon and I shall certainly be recommending this place to all my friends.
Thank you Langrish House for making this a very special afternoon. We could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Manager at Langrish House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your recent visit with your mother in law. I'm glad that you all enjoyed your visit and that your mother in law was made to feel so special, the staff will be so pleased to hear as they all work so very hard to ensure all guest's that visit langrish house have a special time. Thank you for giving us notice of your dietary requirements in advance, this gave the chef plenty of time to cater for your needs!

Look forward to seeing you in the future

Kindest regards
Andrew Foot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed here for my mums birthday and found the hotel generally average. The rooms had a musty smell to them, they were cold and not aired. The tea and coffee was a year out of date. My brother had to ask for toilet paper and was given half a roll, he had to buy his own in Petersfield. My sister found some hair around the wash basin so hygene is not so good. There was no heating on when we got up Sunday morning they must be on an economy drive. The food was good although whoever cut the beef Wellington must have been visually impaired as the portion sizes were all over the place. The service at the tables was good, but please get some bigger wine glasses. The bar shut early which surprised us as this is revenue for them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Manager at Langrish House, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
We are so glad that everyone who attended your Mum’s 80th birthday had a good time and that you enjoyed the good food and service.
The housekeeping issues that you have raised are disappointing and for this we apologise. Toilet roll is always in good supply!
The Talbot bar closes at midnight and residents can purchase further drinks for a limited time. We do not have a night porter so cannot
offer 24 hour bar service. We are a small family run hotel and can rectify anything if we know at the time.

Kindest Regards
Andrew Foot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea, hampshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

My partner bought a groupon voucher for a Sunday lunch at the hotel which i thought looked really pretty, however they couldn't fit us in for months and I suggested a Saturday which they very kindly agreed to. I was really looking forward to trying a new restaurant and and when we pulled up on a lovely Saturday afternoon I was very pleased with my partners choice. We were shown to a table in a very small restaurant, next to the kitchen (all conversations could be heard, which was a bit embarrassing). We were seated (very closely) next to the only other occupied table where some people were having a taster session for their wedding. Our waitress was very chatty and attentive. The set menu was pretty basic but we weren't deterred. However what then ensued was very bizarre - our waitress proceeded to talk in an exceptionally loud voice to the other wedding tasters continuously, about many different subjects including the fact that the chef had 2 Michelin stars. Excellent we thought except the slop that was advertised as fishcake, seasonal veg and red wine jus resembled and tasted very much like bubble and squeak and nothing like a fishcake. Not only that but the waitress was still talking so loudly that we couldn't hear eachother very well at all unless she went to the kitchen (when we could still hear her in there). We decided to leave, as our romantic afternoon wasn't quite going to plan, without enjoying a dessert - total time spent 50 minutes. 12.5% service charge added to our bill of £23 for a nice bottle of chenin - which i asked the waitress to take off the bill and she agreed to do. We complained and were offered a complimentarty meal however I really can't be bothered to go back. I'm sorry to sound so harsh but it just wasn't good enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Manager at Langrish House, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
The Groupon offer has proved to be so popular that we have extended the redemption period to include May. We are pleased that we were able to accommodate you on a Saturday instead to have your Groupon lunch. However, we are sorry that you did not enjoy it. As per our correspondence in private emails between us, we are even more sorry that you will not give us a second chance and accept a complimentary lunch on another day. The issues raised in your review have been addressed

Kindest Regards
Andrew Foot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
10.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
8.9 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langrish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langrish House

Property: Langrish House
Address: Langrish, Petersfield GU32 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langrish House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langrish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langrish House Hotel Petersfield
Langrish Hotel Petersfield
Langrish House Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing