We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Champagne tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Langrish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Langrish House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, Uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Afternoon Champagne tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I bought a Groupon offer for half price afternoon tea and took my daughter today. The restaurant was lovely with crisp linen tablecloths and a relaxed ambiance. The waiter bought a half size bottle of champagne which he opened,poured and left for us to finish! The tea was delicious including a platter of extra vegetarian sandwiches for my daughter. It was a lovely experience we will certainly be going back. After our huge tea, we had a walk around the gardens stopping to say 'hello' to the chickens! All in all, a first class tea in beautiful rural surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We are SO pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your tea so much. Thank you for your lovely review! It was a beautiful day to enjoy our gardens and I am sure the chickens appreciated a visit. They used to roam at will during the daytime but there are so many foxes about now, that they come and take them during daylight hours. They are penned for their own safety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    81
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
64
161
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My sisters & I took my mother on Friday for a cream tea. Myself having a gluten problem was very skeptical about this, but I have to say it was one of the best cream teas I have had. It was a very enjoyable afternoon for all of us and thank you to the staff who where very accommodating. Would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Carole, We are SO pleased that you enjoyed your Cream Tea here so much and hope that your mother enjoyed her outing too! Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope we will see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

we took our mum for a very special mothers day lunch at langrish house and it was nothing short of special! the food was soooo amazing and service top class, the staff where so friendly and the added extra touch of a gift for the ladies was very nice indeed. the whole day was just a joy, with the sun shining great company and excellent food. it was our first visit to the hotel as we have just moved to the area, but we will most be defiantly be going back on a regular occasion if as the standards are outstanding.

Many thanks for making mothers day special for my very dear mum

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Mothering Sunday so much and that your Mother enjoyed herself! We are so glad that we might be seeing you again soon and have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I'd like to start by saying what a lovely hotel you have. This is the 2nd time I have stayed here and I plan on another trip this year. Very good value for money. Our room was a good size. The gardens are just beautiful. The staff couldn't be more helpful. Thank you for a lovely break away.
(I have noticed a few comments about the decor and would like to add my bit. I think the decor is perfect for the age and history of the hotel. If you modernized it, it wouldn't look right)
Look forward too staying again soon.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornwall_Candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you SO much for your LOVELY review. We are SO pleased that you will be back later this year and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southsea
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Afternoon Tea was a very pleasant affair with a voucher through groupon we were unsure what to expect but it was extremely good with fresh sandwiches and scones the order of the day, would thoroughly recommend

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slinkyminky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and do hope we will be able to welcome you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
280 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Six of us booked a Sunday lunch at the hotel which is located in the country and was a splendid oldie world building. When we arrived there was no one in the main entrance reception. A gentleman arrived and directed us to another entrance where the restaurant was situated. The restaurant was surprising small. The staff were friendly and professional. The Sunday lunch menu was basic, however we made our choices and the food arrive fairly quick, presentation was reasonable and the portions were adequate. I had the roast pork which lacked taste, others had the roast beef which again they said lacked taste, the vegetables and potatoes were also poor in taste. I then had the sticky toffee pudding with custard which was very sweet, but suited my taste buds and was very good. We all felt the price for Sunday lunch was high for what we had and was only average. We expected the food to be top class, unfortunately it wasn't and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Manager at Langrish House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
thank you for taking the time to review your recent Sunday lunch at Langrish House. So glad you liked the house with all its charm and fascinating history. thank you for your kind comments about the staff as they work so hard to ensure all guest's receive good professional service, its was however disappointing to read your comments about the food as we had lots of good feedback that day, about the quality of the food, the beef is of top quality locally sourced organic beef from Rother valley and the pork was a big seller with no other complaints, as to the sticky toffee pudding, we did not service with custard it was in fact a home made toffee sauce with mint choc chip ice cream, but I'm glad you enjoyed the sweetness!.

The Groupon voucher offer is 50% off our normal lunch price of £21.95 for 3 courses and represents great value especially as we serve generous portion sizes, local organic beef and produce

since we started the groupon offer we have served over 350 people with 99% of people going away extremely happy with return bookings made.

Kindest Regards
Andrew Foot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Myself, wife and eldest son decided to try the restaurant as we had heard some really good recommendations. We were met by a gentleman by the name of Steve who was very welcoming and showed us to a table. He gave us some of the history of the house which was quite interesting. Well the meal was nothing short of outstanding its presentation and everything was cooked to perfection. Both my wife and eldest son are qualified chefs and we have eaten in michelin star restaurants before. The meal and everything was way above the 2 Rosettes that it has been awarded. We will becoming back on a regular basis

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Manager at Langrish House, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
thank you for your fantastic review regarding your visit to langrish house, So glad you had a wonderful time. I have passed your very kind comments onto the head chef and his team, as the work tirelessly to ensure that the food they produce is of an outstanding quality. They use only the finest local ingredients from local suppliers. Also it was nice to read they you enjoyed learning about the history of the house of which there is so much to enjoy.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hear future

Kindest Regards
Andrew Foot
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
10.4 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
8.9 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langrish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langrish House

Property: Langrish House
Address: Langrish, Petersfield GU32 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langrish House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Langrish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langrish House Hotel Petersfield
Langrish Hotel Petersfield
Langrish House Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing