We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely afternoon tea”
Review of Langrish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langrish House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
470 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited here purely for the afternoon tea booked through a voucher. Surroundings and the room in the house we were in were truly lovely. The coffee was excellent, as were the delicious sandwiches, and cakes. The scones were superb too, with some gorgeous and obviously home made raspberry jam....topped with a very generous portion of clotted cream. The only slight criticism would be that the bread for the sandwiches could really have done with being of a higher quality....a nice granary or home made white would have been nice. Would definitely visit again though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Derek, We are so pleased you enjoyed your tea so much - thank you for your lovely review. The Jam is, indeed, home made and absolutely delicious ... as are the scones and cakes. Our chef would very much like to find a Bakery near here that would deliver. He finds that home made bread is very difficult to slice for sandwiches when it is fresh so prefers to buy it in, but he makes wonderful fresh bread for the restaurant and there is often the delicious smell of bread rising in the kitchen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    82
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
64
162
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Pleasant afternoon tea in lovely surroundings. Helpful, cheerful young lady was looking after the reception and serving the food. The hotel has a nice homely, friendly feel. It is old fashioned, but nicer than bland modern hotels.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Yvonne, Thank you for your lovely review. We are SO glad you enjoyed your tea here. The grounds are looking wonderful at the moment and even better today with the sun shining. We hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely place to stay - family friendly; comfortable; a beautiful individual hotel, so un-chain like! The views of the grounds from the bedroom were lovely and we enjoyed visiting the chickens! We also had a lovely meal. Can't rate this place too highly.

Room Tip: The views were lovely over the garden - maybe all the rooms have views, but make sure you look onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Jenny Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. The chickens will have enjoyed your visit too! They are laying SO well at the moment! It is a great shame that 'Brussels' prevents us from using their eggs in the hotel, but those who live and work here all enjoy them enormously. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I bought a Groupon voucher for a 3 course Sunday lunch which I booked for my husband and I to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We thought it appropriate to dress up for the occasion as the name of the establishment suggests grandeur. On the day the weather was horrendous so unfortunately we didnt get to see the grounds. The restaurant for Sunday lunch wasnt as grand as I'd expected and we were definitely very overdressed. Other people were wearing jeans and rugby shirts which was a bit of a let down. However, the food was absolutely wonderful. Bigger portions than expected and beautifully cooked and presented. So, all in all, the premises wasn't as I'd expected but the food was wonderful and the staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Suey84B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and I do hope you had a very happy Wedding Anniversary. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our grounds really are lovely and beautifully cared for by the wonderful Keith Kitcher. I do hope you will come back one day when the sun is shining so that you can enjoy them to the full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Situated in beautiful surroundings in the Meon Valley, this 17th century hotel serves a very pleasant afternoon tea at a reasonable rate.
Tea aplenty, superb scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream, fresh crustless sandwiches and a delightful selection of small cakes.
Accompany your visit with a drive through the valley and enjoy the lovely English countryside.
If staying the night, it is only a five minute drive into the town of Petersfield
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIDSMITH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear David Smith, thank you for your very kind review. What a joy to be reviewed by such an experienced reviewer and not by someone with some sort of axe to grind!! We are SO glad you enjoyed your tea and we DO agree, that drive through the Meon Valley is a truly wonderful experience - particularly in the sunshine!!! Please come back soon and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back to Langrish House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I bought a Groupon offer for half price afternoon tea and took my daughter today. The restaurant was lovely with crisp linen tablecloths and a relaxed ambiance. The waiter bought a half size bottle of champagne which he opened,poured and left for us to finish! The tea was delicious including a platter of extra vegetarian sandwiches for my daughter. It was a lovely experience we will certainly be going back. After our huge tea, we had a walk around the gardens stopping to say 'hello' to the chickens! All in all, a first class tea in beautiful rural surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We are SO pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your tea so much. Thank you for your lovely review! It was a beautiful day to enjoy our gardens and I am sure the chickens appreciated a visit. They used to roam at will during the daytime but there are so many foxes about now, that they come and take them during daylight hours. They are penned for their own safety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My sisters & I took my mother on Friday for a cream tea. Myself having a gluten problem was very skeptical about this, but I have to say it was one of the best cream teas I have had. It was a very enjoyable afternoon for all of us and thank you to the staff who where very accommodating. Would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Carole, We are SO pleased that you enjoyed your Cream Tea here so much and hope that your mother enjoyed her outing too! Thank you for your lovely review. We do hope we will see you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
10.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
11.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
8.9 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langrish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langrish House

Property: Langrish House
Address: Langrish, Petersfield GU32 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langrish House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Langrish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langrish House Hotel Petersfield
Langrish Hotel Petersfield
Langrish House Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing