We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cold and unclean” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Langrish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Langrish House
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cold and unclean”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Have stayed here several times over the past years for work trips to Peterfield,have chosen this hotel rather than the noisy premier inn close by. Although the setting is peaceful on the last 2 occassions I have been very disappointed.
January 2014 there was no heating on and my room was freezing,I prefer a cool room but it was seriously cold!! Also there was a leak in the roof (substantial) above the kettle and breakfast tray.
The time before that I was upgraded and wished I had take my rubber gloves and bleach as the bathroom was very dirty.
Wine disappointing

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ruth, thank you for staying with us. You seem to be writing about staying some time ago? In January we had 249 inches of rain during a month when we would normally have less than 100! The whole County of Hampshire was flooded. We had terrible trouble with water ingress, but the roofer could find NO reason for it! He said that the problem was common At the time, the outside walls of the house were absolutely saturated! I am glad to say we have dried out since! We are sorry you were cold. We try not to waste the earth's precious resources but we DON'T want our guests to be cold. We have lots of extra heaters we can use if we are asked! As to the dirty room... That is horrible and we are very sorry! We have a particularly excellent team of Housekeepers at the moment who work hard to maintain our rooms to our usual high standard. We say it over and over again, please let us know at the time when things are not perfect and we will do our best to put things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    76
    34
    20
    15
See reviews for
64
156
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
432 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Visited here purely for the afternoon tea booked through a voucher. Surroundings and the room in the house we were in were truly lovely. The coffee was excellent, as were the delicious sandwiches, and cakes. The scones were superb too, with some gorgeous and obviously home made raspberry jam....topped with a very generous portion of clotted cream. The only slight criticism would be that the bread for the sandwiches could really have done with being of a higher quality....a nice granary or home made white would have been nice. Would definitely visit again though.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Derek, We are so pleased you enjoyed your tea so much - thank you for your lovely review. The Jam is, indeed, home made and absolutely delicious ... as are the scones and cakes. Our chef would very much like to find a Bakery near here that would deliver. He finds that home made bread is very difficult to slice for sandwiches when it is fresh so prefers to buy it in, but he makes wonderful fresh bread for the restaurant and there is often the delicious smell of bread rising in the kitchen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Pleasant afternoon tea in lovely surroundings. Helpful, cheerful young lady was looking after the reception and serving the food. The hotel has a nice homely, friendly feel. It is old fashioned, but nicer than bland modern hotels.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Yvonne, Thank you for your lovely review. We are SO glad you enjoyed your tea here. The grounds are looking wonderful at the moment and even better today with the sun shining. We hope you will be back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely place to stay - family friendly; comfortable; a beautiful individual hotel, so un-chain like! The views of the grounds from the bedroom were lovely and we enjoyed visiting the chickens! We also had a lovely meal. Can't rate this place too highly.

Room Tip: The views were lovely over the garden - maybe all the rooms have views, but make sure you look onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Jenny Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. The chickens will have enjoyed your visit too! They are laying SO well at the moment! It is a great shame that 'Brussels' prevents us from using their eggs in the hotel, but those who live and work here all enjoy them enormously. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I bought a Groupon voucher for a 3 course Sunday lunch which I booked for my husband and I to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We thought it appropriate to dress up for the occasion as the name of the establishment suggests grandeur. On the day the weather was horrendous so unfortunately we didnt get to see the grounds. The restaurant for Sunday lunch wasnt as grand as I'd expected and we were definitely very overdressed. Other people were wearing jeans and rugby shirts which was a bit of a let down. However, the food was absolutely wonderful. Bigger portions than expected and beautifully cooked and presented. So, all in all, the premises wasn't as I'd expected but the food was wonderful and the staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Suey84B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch and I do hope you had a very happy Wedding Anniversary. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our grounds really are lovely and beautifully cared for by the wonderful Keith Kitcher. I do hope you will come back one day when the sun is shining so that you can enjoy them to the full.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

Situated in beautiful surroundings in the Meon Valley, this 17th century hotel serves a very pleasant afternoon tea at a reasonable rate.
Tea aplenty, superb scones with strawberry jam and clotted cream, fresh crustless sandwiches and a delightful selection of small cakes.
Accompany your visit with a drive through the valley and enjoy the lovely English countryside.
If staying the night, it is only a five minute drive into the town of Petersfield
Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIDSMITH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear David Smith, thank you for your very kind review. What a joy to be reviewed by such an experienced reviewer and not by someone with some sort of axe to grind!! We are SO glad you enjoyed your tea and we DO agree, that drive through the Meon Valley is a truly wonderful experience - particularly in the sunshine!!! Please come back soon and give us the pleasure of welcoming you back to Langrish House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

I bought a Groupon offer for half price afternoon tea and took my daughter today. The restaurant was lovely with crisp linen tablecloths and a relaxed ambiance. The waiter bought a half size bottle of champagne which he opened,poured and left for us to finish! The tea was delicious including a platter of extra vegetarian sandwiches for my daughter. It was a lovely experience we will certainly be going back. After our huge tea, we had a walk around the gardens stopping to say 'hello' to the chickens! All in all, a first class tea in beautiful rural surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shaz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangrishHouse, Owner at Langrish House, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We are SO pleased you and your daughter enjoyed your tea so much. Thank you for your lovely review! It was a beautiful day to enjoy our gardens and I am sure the chickens appreciated a visit. They used to roam at will during the daytime but there are so many foxes about now, that they come and take them during daylight hours. They are penned for their own safety.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petersfield
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Petersfield
Premier Inn Petersfield
#2 of 3 in Petersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
8.9 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
11.6 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
10.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
The Trooper Inn
The Trooper Inn
#1 of 1 in Froxfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langrish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langrish House

Property: Langrish House
Address: Langrish, Petersfield GU32 1RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Petersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Petersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Langrish House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Langrish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langrish House Hotel Petersfield
Langrish Hotel Petersfield
Langrish House Petersfield, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing