We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in France & no passport required”
Review of La Parisienne

La Parisienne
Ranked #5 of 78 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lunch in France & no passport required”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As you enter La Parisienne, you step into France. Greeted cheerfully in French, the atmosphere of Gallic charm wraps around you. Wine by the glass or a choice of English ale is served by a friendly member of staff.
Enjoy a bar snack or sit in the restaurant, the food will not disappoint.
I have yet to meet anyone who has not been charmed by the whole experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    114
    42
    23
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic, excellent”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

What a place - feels like you're in France. Great ambiance, staff were proper French and the food would suit most people with ease!

I'll be sure to return when next down from London!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Little bit of French”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a beautiful little authentic French Brasserie, right in the heart of Romsey. The staff greet you in French upon arrival, the place is quitisentially French, in it's layout / atmosphere and decor. There is a bar, which severs everything from Stella Artois (which is Belgian, but hey ho), to a very nice Kir royal, with a choice of fruit flavours. they have a very nice choice of wines, and the food is traditional French fayre, which you would expect to find in a Brasserie. The staff are friendly and attentive, the setting is very nice, and the food and drink are very reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shivit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We loved this restaurant . The menus were a delight the staff very helpful and the atmosphere wonderful.
We arrived after a very disappointing experience at The White horse hotel to this very clean and enchanting restaurant to be transported to a very different world of devine tastes that just had your taste buds wanting more.
This is one experience that we will remember for along time

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LichfieldPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Romantic lunch in Romsey”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My wife (who is French) and I went here for lunch on Sunday. We started with delicious bread and then went for the £19 menu. I had onion tart, my wife had seafood salad. Then I had confit de canard and chips and my wife had sea bass. For dessert I had creme caramel and she lemon sorbet. Delicious!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jameseogrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Parisienne also viewed

 
Braishfield, Romsey
Ampfield, Hampshire
 

Been to La Parisienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing