We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food in a relaxed atmosphere.”

The White Horse Brasserie
Ranked #12 of 78 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$82
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse Brasserie opens onto its own delightful courtyard. The acclaimed 2AA Rosette brasserie is a wonderful place to enjoy every occasion from a romantic dinner for two to a family lunch. Head Chef Chris Rock's accomplished menu serves modern British classics following the seasons.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Quality food in a relaxed atmosphere.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The staff were very attentive from the moment we entered the restaurant without being overbearing. We went for the set menu which whilst limited in choice continues to offer high quality though you are never going to leave feeling over full. You are paying for quality not quantity. They have always made very tasty soups and this is a good staring point for the meal together with their in-house bread. Eating there always seems a special occasion ad we will be going back.
If you want to swap between red and white wines between courses try their shared small carafes which are a bargain at £5.50.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BazJackSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your complimentary and constructive review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    65
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stylish Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We took my grandmother here for Sunday lunch. We needed somewhere to meet all ages and this did not disappoint. She was in awe as she felt it was really posh and stylish and we were pleased as it didn't hurt the wallet! Something on the menu for all of us and the setting was nice and relaxing. The head waiter was very knowledgeable and explained everything. He even brought out yorkshire puddings for those not eating the roast dinner and when he spotted my partner's espresso he was horrified that it didn't meet his standards and took it away and made a 'proper' one. When it was brought back to the table we could see the difference. All in all a very pleasant experience and we will go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnJo19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your positive review.
I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your Sunday lunch and we look forward to your return.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Always Superb!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We always come here for our work's Christmas party and we always leave happy! The staff are always lovely and the food superb...you cannot fault it at all.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catp79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your complimentary review.
We aim to please - see you again soon!
Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I took my wife here for her birthday. We've been a number of times over the past few years and never been disappointed. Nice decor, well cooked and presented food and very good value set menu. Service friendly and efficient too. They even served a special dessert for my wife's birthday- nice touch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your lovely review.
We hope you continue to visit and enjoy.
Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Stylish”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have dined many times at lunchtime in the restaurant and have always enjoyed the ambience. I have always had the set lunch and, although the portions are small, the food is always so beautifully cooked and presented. If you have all three courses you would not be left hungry. The tables are always so well set and the glasses, cutlery and china spotlessly clean with 'proper' linen napkins and tableware. (The choice of salted and unsalted butter is a nice touch). The wines are excellent and are equally well served. The overall decor and atmosphere are stylish and welcoming with pleasent staff. I like the fact that the hotel has retained many of its original features yet kept apace with modern thinking and adheres to Romseys' adage of 'where town and country mee'.t

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilovesweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Brasserie, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear guest
Thank you from all the team for your very complimentary review.
I hope you continue to visit and enjoy!
Best wishes and kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Horse Brasserie also viewed

 
Braishfield, Romsey
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to The White Horse Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing