We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience- will return in the future”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering
Ranked #6 of 19 Romsey B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience- will return in the future”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This beautifully-kept farmhouse it situated within close proximity of Romsey, New Forest, Winchester and Southampton. We were warmly greeted by Mrs Hughes who ensured our stay was as pleasant and comfortable as possible, making this visit one of the best breaks we have had in recent years. Although we arrived later than anticipated, we were made to feel very welcome and in fact extended our holiday. Breakfast was also a delight; we were offered locally- sourced produce and a wide selection of options, all served in a perfectly decorated dining room. Another notable asset of Ranvilles is the dog-friendly atmosphere and easy-access rooms with kitchen facilities (we were staying in The Granary). Overall, I would highly recommend this wonderful place for a relaxing break and hope to return there in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186338MonicaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    12
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
43
27
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have returned to Ranvilles with a large family group for a wedding locally. This charming ancient farmhouse is conveniently located for exploring Romsey and the Test Valley to the north, and a quick distance from the M27 to the south with easy access to Southampton, Portsmouth and Bournemouth. There is a lovely sunny gravel courtyard, a lush and beautiful garden for strolling in, a welcoming retired couple and a pair of friendly black labradors. If you prefer showers to a bath tub, choose a room accordingly. A traditional English breakfast, with homegrown fruit compot, will set you off for the day. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DougCHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I have stayed at Ranvilles many times now and have always enjoyed the comfort and charm of this lovely old farmhouse B and B. The rooms have everything you need for a comfortable stay, each room seems to have its own character and i love all of the finishing touches which show how much care has been put into the place. it's children friendly, dog friendly and people friendly and i especially look forward to the homecooked breakfast served up in the grand dining room.
It is a good value, country bed and breakfast with a warm welcome and a warm room for the night. Sweet dreams!

Room Tip: I find that as long as you let the owners know your requirements you will get a room or rooms that s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anastasia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We were really surprised by our host's welcome if you can call it that! We arrived 45 minutes early as we had made good time driving down from Manchester and didn't expect it to be a huge problem. The lady, anthrax was so rude to my poor fiancé telling him we'd disturbed her dogs and she's thought he was a burglar! It was one of those situations where you're not sure whether to laugh or cry. Poor D looks nothing like a burglar, friendly well dressed as ever and with a young son and pregnant wife in his BMW. I mean how ridiculous can you get. I thought she might have looked down her nose at him for having a northern accent. I decided that having a variably posh accent myself I would talk down to her as payback, which would at least provide some amusement while we were there. Going for breakfast was the most awkward as the atmosphere was so stuffy and I dreaded my little boy saying something embarrassing to the whole room like my daddy did a big poo this morning or something like that. Not exactly relaxing. You almost felt guilty that you were imposing on them despite being paying customers. We were heartened to see the numerous similar reviews which confirmed we were not alone and this woman was in fact a total battleaxe who needed to work on her customer relations skills desperately if her business was to survive. Very bizarre experience all in all.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Blobbyblobbyblobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Ranvilles is a delightful, quirky, charming place to stay. The room we were given was spacious and clean with lots of great touches such as an antique chaise longue and a bookcase of fascinating old books. Breakfast was a delight and Anthea made us (and our dog) very welcome.
The B and B rate is very good for such a special place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home Counties
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We were fortunate to get a big family room booking on the day we wanted to stay. It was a suite in fact, comprising two bedrooms both ensuite, and a lounge / kitchenette all in the converted loft of one of the old farm's outbuildings. The farm itself is over 500 years old, and full of character, brimming with antiques and fine art, and surrounded by beautiful gardens. The only complaint we'd have is that it was bitterly cold at night. At meal times, there is plenty of great food on offer, much of it home grown or locally sourced. The bacon was awesome. It's also great value for money. A gem of a place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2011

This is a really nice B and B which is in a rural spot, but very close to main motorway links. It is 5 minutes from Peppa Pig World, and children are warmly welcomed. Very reasonable B and B rate for the quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca-H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.0 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
0.0 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palmerston Rooms
The Palmerston Rooms
#3 of 19 in Romsey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee Manor
Lee Manor
#2 of 19 in Romsey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering

Property: Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering
Address: Romsey SO51 6AA , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B And Self-Catering Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing