We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering
Ranked #6 of 19 Romsey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dover, Kent
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed one night in the family room and would thoroughly recommend it. Close to Paulton's Park and Romsey town. Room very spacious and good facilities. Use of lounge downstairs which was good when kids were asleep. Plenty of towels available, all very clean. Lovely breakfast. Anthea and Sarah made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: Family room worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barefootheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    12
    11
    9
    7
See reviews for
46
32
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed for a night and wished we could have stayed longer. Charming rooms, great hosts and a really great breakfast, absolutely the best sort of Bed & Breakfast. Recommend highly. Very well placed to visit theHillier Gardens, a trip to Salisbury or a potter round the New Forest. Very dog friendly too and delightful grounds and setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtraveller096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newent
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed for 1 night with husband and 4yr old daughter as a treat for her birthday and going to Peppa Pig World which is 5 mins away,cannot fault anything the house and grounds are beautiful we stayed in the tack room which was a spacious room with an equally spacious en-suite with toiletries,towels and flannels! There is a tray with different types of tea and coffee copious amounts of milk and a couple of apples which was a nice touch. We had a ready bed for our daughter who was excited that it was spiderman! We put in our breakfast order the night before which was checked again in the morning just in case we'd changed our minds! We went into Romsey in the evening and got a taxi there with no problems (approx £6). Breakfast was sat around a big table with other guests which was really nice, cereals do it yourself toaster and fruit, fruit juice all condiments on table jam,honey,choc spread,marmite you name it it was there! We had a full English and again no complaints really tasty and enough of it,we found our hosts to be friendly and hospitable and will definately return and recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank casperboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed in Morningside with our two young children. I contacted Anthea to say that we would be arriving late morning (before 12:30 given their check in policy) as we were traveling with a baby and toddler who would be in need of a rest on arrival. This all seemed fine. However, on arrival Anthea was very curt showing us to our accommodation and despite me trying to exchange pleasantries regarding our plans for our stay (to ease the awkwardness I felt at such a welcome!) there was no chit-chat or small talk! We had requested a travel cot when booking and after showing us into Morningside and asking that we move our car, Anthea asked did we want a travel cot as she wasn't sure if she had one. I replied that we definitely needed one as having requested one for our stay we hadn't packed one for our visit. This did not seem to please Anthea at all and off she went returning with a travel cot and bag of sheets (which were musty and not suitable - we ended up using the second sheet of our bed). We were not shown where the keys were stored or where to empty rubbish bags ... In fact we were not shown anything! Not a great welcome for a 5 star B and B! Morningside itself is nicely decorated and a large open plan space which suited our needs for the visit. The pull out bed was awful and very uncomfortable and our toddler ended up sleeping with us. The bathroom is nice but anyone who walks in the garden (including a gardener) can watch you take a shower as there are three large windows and ridiculously inadequate coverage (looks pretty but does nothing!). On the third morning of our stay the water was warm for my husbands shower then cold for mine! We had 2 nice bathroom towels and 2 small greying, crispy towels ... I presume for our children! These were horrible and i did not use them! Not what i had expected as the website boasts linen from the White Company! The sheets provided for the pull out bed were also fairly stained! The location, garden and surroundings were the best thing about this stay! That being said, I would not return and i would not recommend to a friend because of the hosts unfriendliness. I am sure one could find better for the money paid!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank N P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We have just got back from a perfect holiday staying in the Morningside self catering apartment at Ranvilles. Anthea and Bill were extremely helpful during our stay, assisting us reserve bookings at local attraction and making special arrangements so that my parents could also come to visit us during our visit to the UK.

Not only was the farm and staff of high standards but the farmhouse is also well located for the south coast, Stonehenge, Legoland in Windsor, and Peppa Pig World. All places we visited during our stay. We also took a trip to Hampton Court, a journey of around two hours.

Can not recommend this enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franklin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Stayed at Ranville's farmhouse for two nights and were all made to feel extremely welcome including the dog. Room was large, spacious and very clean. Excellent hot, powerful shower. Absolutely gorgeous surroundings, and a paddock where we were able to exercise the dog. Breakfast was delicious and it was lovely sat at a large table with the other guests.

Excellent location for a variety of sights.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We (my husband and two children of 2 and 7) have just stayed in the Granary for 3 nights. Like other fully contented guests, I simply can't understand some of the negative feedback some have left about Anthea and Bill. Anthea couldn't have been more accomodating or charming before or during our stay. I booked this accomodation 9 months ago and there has been quite at few emails going back and forward over those months... Anthea was always quick to answer any questions I had and eager to be helpful and gracious. I simply can't fault her for anything. As for Bill, he went out of his way to ask us where we had been and whether we'd had a pleasant day after our first full day there. The self-catering itself was spotlessly clean and had everything we needed for our short break. We ate in, all 3 of those evenings and only did so because the flat had everything we needed. The location was ideal, so close to so much and yet tranquil and quiet... The house and out-buildings really are stunning and we felt the Granary had such a lovely feel to it. 3 very good nights sleep and from our point of view, it comes with a very warm recommendation. Thank you Anthea !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmalio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.0 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
0.0 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
346 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
489 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lee Manor
Lee Manor
#3 of 19 in Romsey
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cromwell Arms
The Cromwell Arms
#1 of 19 in Romsey
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering

Property: Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering
Address: Romsey SO51 6AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B and Self-Catering reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ranvilles Farmhouse B&B And Self-Catering Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing