We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much to see here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadlands

Broadlands
Ranked #11 of 20 things to do in Romsey
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1767, this stately and magnificent home of Lord Mountbatten contains an extensive portrait collection, elegant furnishings and china collections.
romsey
Level Contributor
219 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Not much to see here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

I agree with previous reviewers. It feels as if they are going through the motions. No toilets in the main house and not easy when you take someone who is not so agile to go to the portakabins. no where to sit or have a coffee and not many rooms open. presumably they have to open so many days a year to get a grant

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank RomseyChechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    13
    6
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Broadlands had just re-opened after a major re-fit. some of the house was still closed, but what we saw was lovely, it feels more like a home than a stately house, loads of memorabilia in there, nice photos of the Royal Family, gardens and growns amazing. only downside far as our group was concerned that there are no tea-rooms, to make the stay even more memorable.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank GemmaWaterlooville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, Hants
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very poor visit”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

We had friends staying and thought a visit to Broadlands would be interesting. It was a total disappointment. The arriival is not encouraging. The park is in a poor state of maintenance. The car park with a couple of portakabins for toilets is some way from the house. Tours which last about 40 mins start in the stable block after paying the £8 per head. The garden tour consists of looking into a tatty walled garden through a small gate. Our guide, a volunteer, was hesitant and a relatively unconfident communicator. The narrative did not flow at all and we were left with the feeling that there was so much more we could have learned about the house, its history, its contents and the illustrious family that inhabits it still.

The overall impression is that visitors are a bit of a nuisance and should feel grateful to part with their £8 per head.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Hantsharumph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
402 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 441 helpful votes
“Are visitors wanted?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

I am afraid I have to agree with all the poor reviews. A complete waste of money. It seems as thought the visitor is a neccessary intrusion to try and make some money.
We watched a terrible film to begin and then a very pleasant lady grouped us together to take a look at a part of the garden and were then shown round the ground floor of the house. Yes a beautiful house and it felt homely but we were the intruders.
No toilet facilties other than some basic portable ones in the car park no refreshments available and no guide books.

A most disappointing visit with some snooty staff. Absolutely not people friendly in any way.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
14 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Need to try harder”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

We had a most enjoyable visit to Broadlands some years ago and so we were looking forward to this visit. The new car park is now some way from the grounds which one now enters through the stables. Luckily I had drawn some cash for the weekend as the entrance fee of £8 per adult (no concessions) is payable by cash or cheque only – no credit or debit cards! We had to await a guide at the stables who took us first to view the walled garden into which we were not permitted to venture. and then on to the house. We enjoy a guided tour if the guide knows their subject, unfortunately this one did not and she had to read from her notes mispronouncing many names as she did so. A quick gallop around the downstairs rooms and we were outside once again. We were not permitted upstairs this visit. There was a roped off area of lawn which allowed only limited access to the River Test and that was the gardens. Nearest place for a cup of tea was in Romsey. We appreciate that Lady Brabourne may not wish to have her house open to the public but she has decided to do so to help pay the bills and so an effort should be made to make the visitor feel welcome. We will not be taking any more friends there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank romseyman112011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Broadlands also viewed

 

Been to Broadlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing