We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely rides, poor food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paultons Park

Paultons Park
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Paultons Park - home of Peppa Pig World is a family theme park located in the New Forest National Park in Hampshire, with over 70 rides and attractions. Home to a world first and UK exclusive, Peppa Pig World has 7 rides & attractions including, Peppa's Big Balloon Ride, George's Dinosaur Adventure an indoor soft play zone. Other rides and attractions at Paultons include, the dinosaur theme park Lost Kingdom, the Edge and Cobra roller coasters, the Water Kingdom splash park, adventure golf, La 4D cinema, The Raging River Ride and many smaller rides for young children.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely rides, poor food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The park was looking great and Peppa Pig world is very well done, with all bar one ride available for our 8 month old daughter. One point - why can't they have an adult ticket just for Peppa Pig world?

The key item that let things down was the food, as is so often the case at these places. It was terrible in terms of choice - anything with chips with a microwaveable soup the only other hot option. The sandwiches and so called salad did not look very good. How about doing a cafe with fast, healthy and tasty food rather than junk? It is a REALLY BAD message to children.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank chrisjbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi Chris

Many thanks for your feedback and taking the time to submit a review. We are very pleased that you all enjoyed your visit to Paultons and Peppa Pig World. As you may have seen, we are currently constructing a large modern welcome building at the front of the Park which will be home to an exciting new themed Toy Shop and themed contemporary restautant.

Whilst we build this exciting new facility are food choices are possibly not as varied as usual but we still endeveour to offer a range of foods for all tastes across the remaining eateries in the Park. Our new restaurant is scheduled to open at Easter 2014 so we hope you will be able to return to Paultons soon to enjoy this new facility.

Kind Regards

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,495
    1,381
    312
    101
    106
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect surprise for little un”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Decided to go to Peppa Pig world as our little boy is so into Peppa Pig. We didn't tell him where we were going until we saw the signs going in and then he was so excited. We found the whole atmosphere lovely - really wonderful little ones.
Queues were a little long but not too bad - only one ride we really had to wait for and that was the dinosaur ride. Found having lunch early really helped and managed to get on a few rides while people having lunch. Wished that we had gone into George's play area first as it was packed when we got there about 3 ish for a drink.
We had a wonderful day and little un still talks about the time he went to Peppa Pig world so the trip was worthwhile.
Money wise: - Tickets prices expected for an amusement park but really only going on a small part of the site as peppa pig world is part of the larger amusement park. Handy that little ones under 1m are free but this will need to be proved at the entrance gate - fair enough - but this bought price down a bit. As expected take a pack lunch so you only have to buy the odd drink or snack as prices a bit on the expensive side.
All that said I would not have changed any part of the day as it was a thoroughly enjoyable day and seeing little un's face on seeing peppa pig and having his picture taken in the school house was worth every penny.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi Angela

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are delighted you all enjoyed your visit to Paultons and Peppa Pig World and it is great to hear that we helped make some special memories. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Park one day soon.

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice day out, your kids will love it....HOWEVER....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Let me start by saying I love Peppa Pig, the adult jokes in the cartoon are very funny, just how many jobs does Miss Rabbit have I wonder..?

So, on holiday in Bournemouth we naturally had planned to visit the park.

A quick health warning, I am the world's most tight human being, I recognise this and therefore, also appreciate other people might not be quite as annoyed as I was, therefore this review is for the tight people, the people for whom £25 is still a lot of money.

It's not for those who take a full size iPad with you when you visit to take photos...why? Most of us have them now, they aren't big, they're not clever and why on earth, when you can afford an iPad, would you not also buy a pocket camera...you look like an idiot! This review is not for you!

And so, upon arrival to the park, which is well signed, clean and well presented, you'll also notice the height bars which, if your child can fit under, they do not have to pay....

Easy....?

No, not at all....after explaining to an extremely excited child to 'stand up straight' we we're both reasonably assured she fitted under and off when went.... You can judge yourself, I've attached a photograph.

We paid our fees, two adults and two free children, one tiny, one walked under the height barrier....THIS IS 100cm THIS IS IMPORTANT THE 100cm bit!!

We queued for 20 minutes and then.....

"She looks to big" - the guard at the barrier (for this was his behaviour) pulled my 3 year old to the side and promptly produced a metal bar (this is important I'll come back to this) and measured her again , naturally in front of the crowds....for obvious drama!

**This was a nice touch, very much reminded me of the Spielberg film set in Germany...now what was it called......**

Anyway, "She's too tall."

So to the back of the queue and paid....(must say here, that with a now distraught, crying 3 year old, we were fast tracked back in)

Off we went then, fortunately picking the Cloud Ride first, as after our ride it broke....photo also attached...!

No here's the bit that really, really, really, annoyed me.......!!!!!

So Peppa Pig World is great, really, really great, however we'd done it in a couple of hours so off to see the rest of the park.....

My daughter wanted to go on the water boat slide, it has a 90cm height restriction.....as do most of the bigger rides...! (90cm remember!!)

So figuring well the park made us pay, therefore she's over 100cm we're okay.....logical...?

You would think so...!

But no, "She looks too small"

I explain, firmly, and guess what, out comes another metal measure....a different one (perhaps) but strangely, oddly, interestingly......looking EXACTLY the same..... (they have them all over, each ride, and they all look the same - Like Miss Rabbit(s) )

Surely not....who knows....

And YES she was bigger than 90cm.....phew

I wonder if that was the same 90cm for which she was too tall at the 100cm entrance....???

NEVER they cry - we have different metal rulers....our staff are trained professionals etc. etc.

And perhaps they do?

So my worry is this, my advice simple!

1. If you're child is anywhere close to 100cm tall - DO NOT GO

2. DO NOT GO on pain of death and torture....

3. Paultons Park, please get two completely different rulers to measure kids with, I really do hope it's not the same one, they were all over the metal ones and they all looked the same?

It's fun, it's good, but its very annoying if your child is anywhere close to the barrier!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
We are sorry to hear that your experience at the Turnstile Area was less than satisfactory on your recent visit to the Park. Our entrance policy is based on the height of the child and all children (with the exception of babies) who come to the Park, are measured at point of entry to confirm whether they qualify for free entry.

Our Gate Staff have the responsibility of making these decisions each day and have a very clear set of guidelines to adhere to using accurately calibrated 1m height sticks. We do try to communicate the entrance requirements as clearly as possible to our guests before they arrive at the turnstiles to avoid situations such as these, with information on our website informing that children will be measured at point of entry and that all children under 1 metre in height, when measured with shoes on, are free of charge.

Once children get to the height of 1 metre we do charge for them, as at this height there are only 4 rides they are unable to use i.e. Cobra, Edge, Jumping Bean and Magma.

The height sticks at each of the rides are individually calibrated and checked according to the height restriction at each ride and are not the same as the 1 metre sticks used at Admissions. The height stick at the Wave Runner ride is to check a child is over 900mm in height which was confirmed when your child was checked. If the ride operator has any doubt as to whether a child meets a height requirement for a ride then they will always be checked to ensure the safety of all of our guests.

We hope you understand why these measures have to be put in to place and we are pleased you were able to enjoy Peppa Pig World and the other rides at Paultons.

Kind Regards

Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Wasn;t sure what to expect and we are big Disney fans but this park was excellent for our 3 year old. Certainly passed all expectations and will definitely go back. Food and drink was very reaonsable for this kind of attraction.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank barefootheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaultonsPark, PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park at Paultons Park, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Many thanks for your review and feedback. It is great to hear you all enjoyed your visit to Paultons so much and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Paultons Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrific fun, for the very young and not so young!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a superb full day at Paultons park. Peppa pig world was sensational, but we waited until the end of the day when it was quieter. The rides were perfect for our 4 and 6 year olds and really brought out their personalities. The water rides were the most popular. It's not cheap,but extremely good value at the end of the day.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaultonsPark, PaultonsPark, Guest Services Team at Paultons Park at Paultons Park, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Hi Martin

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on the Park. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit so much and we look forward to welcoming you all back to Paultons one day soon.

Kind Regards

Paultons Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paultons Park also viewed

 

Been to Paultons Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing