We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Discovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cromwell Arms

The Cromwell Arms
Ranked #24 of 74 Restaurants in Romsey
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Discovery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Had a really nice meal. One of those menus where it's difficult to choose for all the right reasons, it all sounded lovely, Both of our meals were very nice, good size portions. Puds, lovely. Staff friendly and attentive. Will be going back, again and again....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    98
    57
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-Upon-Thames
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

I attend a hen night at The Cromwell Arms in April and had such a lovely three course meal that evening. Even though the staff were catering for 40-50 people the food was absolutely delicious and the service was excellent. The staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. I couldn't believe that it was only £20 a head! In other establishments we have paid twice this for half the quality. It also has a lovely interior and a good ambience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dorothykipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great midweek family lunch spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have visited here once a year for the last 4years and have never been disappointed, in fact the number of family going has doubled since we began. My Dad loves the food and service so much he has chosen here for his 80th birthday lunch venue, a high praise indeed! The staff are friendly and attention to detail is good. Have 2 visits planned for May!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

A family of four for an Easter Sunday Lunch that was OK. A few issues ok it was a cold damp Sunday and as such a number of people were gathered under the shelter of the entrance smoking so first impression was not that good. We ended up being given our reserved table as the table by the entrance so was a bit cold and draftee with people going in and out. The Lunch itself was quite good and all four of us enjoyed our main course. Very disappointed with dessert menu as no hot desserts there was cold bread and butter pudding with warm custard but that was it.

So many waiting staff service was all over the place and we must have had four / five people looking after our table but none knew what the others had done and felt pestered rather than served. The waiting staff certainly need organising.

Pricing was high for what we had. Better food in the area and more reasonably priced. Would advise to always book a table but ask not for the one by the door.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KVS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Excellent service but a little pricey for a pub on a main road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Walked from Southampton so was rather peckish and thirsty. Cracking plough and lovely couple of pints. Ate mid afternoon good prices on separate menu, I asked just to be nosey about what was on it. The prices were vv high for a pub on a main road. £20 for a main?
The biggest disappointment were the puddings, I had to send mine back twice as it was cold sticky toffee pudding not homemade which is a disappointment when asked how it was I said I could make it better myself and the waitress said oh and walked off. So mains yes but puddings definitely not worth the £6/7 price tag for a packet pud

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSingleMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cromwell Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Cromwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing