We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great :Lunch”
Review of The Cromwell Arms

The Cromwell Arms
Ranked #21 of 80 Restaurants in Romsey
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A truly special place to drink, dine and stay at the edge of the picturesque market town of Romsey. The Cromwell Arms boasts locally-sourced specialties, a host of perfectly-stored ales and wines, and a fabulous marquee. It’s the perfect place to rest a while on the South Coast.
Reviewed 3 July 2018

A very pleasant establishment that provides some very good lunch time food. The service is friendly and helpful, staff can recommend food that they have tried themselves and the tempura prawns and chorizo in red wine are two delicious starters. A very relaxed venue that also provides newspapers and comfortable seating inside and also outside with shade available.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nigelmattinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi Nigel,

Thank you for the kind review. It's great to hear you enjoyed our little pub and the team looked after you well! We really try and make everyone feel as if they're in their own home when they visit us so I'm pleased that you had a great experience.

See you again soon,

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Staff very friendly food is great, I had the ham cheese and chicken. The room was clean, but basic. One that let it down was that there was no laundry service which is a problem when you are trying to travel light and want launder clothes when travelling

Thank MarkFTaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us. We hope to see you again when you next visit Romsey.

Kind regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Visited with my mum for a weekday lunch, after being turned away at the Chilworth Arms as they were only serving food to those who had pre-booked.
Received a warm, friendly welcome from the bar staff. Outdoor space is really nicely done & has no smoking areas. Lunch (smoked chicken sandwich with aioli) was very tasty and the chips were the best I’ve had in years, absolutely a m a z i n g! All in all it was exactly what we wanted; sunny, comfortable outside space, lovely food and friendly service. We’ll be back! Thanks :)

Thank New_Forest_Donkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi There,

Thank you for your review, I have passed on your great feedback to the rest of the team. We hope to see you again soon!

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Despite living in Romsey for over a year we first visited here on Tuesday. The whole experience was excellent, good service and the food was delicious, we had a really good evening.

Decided to go out again this evening, as we were so impressed on Tuesday we thought we would return - it was a whole different experience, very disappointing indeed

One starter and main course were good although vegetables and potatoes were tepid. The other starter and main were not good at all, the burger grossly overcooked.

Staff were rather shambolic and very slow, this was why we didn't complain about the food as we thought we would never get a meal, not sure they knew who was doing what and where.

The other point I would like to make, I have a pet hate of men wearing their trousers drooping down at the back showing their underpants but we both find it very off-putting being served by a man showing his underpants!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PollyDae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi Pauline,
I am pleased you enjoyed your evening on Tuesday and chose to return to us.

We have discussed the points you have raised with us with the rest of the team and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

Much improved style and atmosphere after change in ownership. First visit under new management; had lunch outside on lovely sunny day, only to be disturbed by the sound and smell of heavy traffic and people smoking on adjacent tables!
Food looked promising at first, good choice of Tapas style Starters with excellent Tempura Prawns and outstanding Smoked Salmon.
However, main course of Chicken & leak Pie which seemed tasty enough at first, was so salty (or whatever other additives) that the taste remained in my mouth for hours afterwards. Typical of the “factory” food one generally seems to get these days from Brewery/ Multiple outlets, as with the indifferent service, so somewhat disappointing , sorry.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean O, General Manager at The Cromwell Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Hi Jerry,

Thank you for sharing your feedback - glad to hear you liked the pub. We do actually split our terrace in two - with the area towards the "grass" being non-smoking, though this does get busy.

I'll be sure to pass on your feedback regarding the pies. I do feel you have the wrong impression of our food - all of which is freshly prepared, usually on the day. That said, while we do try to never over-season, that sounds to have happened on this occasion.

I'm sorry the experience wasn't quite what it should have been, but I do hope you'll give us a second try to same a little more of the menu.

Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cromwell Arms also viewed

 
Braishfield, Romsey
Sherfield English, Romsey
 

Been to The Cromwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing