We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful evening! Picnic,orchestra & fireworks!”

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening! Picnic,orchestra & fireworks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014

What a wonderful evening... With family and friends we enjoyed a picnic whilst listening to the fabulous orchestra playing a superb variety of music! Such talent a privilege to listen to!
A spectacular firework display to finish a thoroughly enjoyable summers evening experience!!!!
Very special thanks to the amazing orchestra AND all the hard work of Hilliers team members for arranginging such a well organised event! The efforts from ALL concerned was very much appreciated by our group, THANK YOU.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank bubblecar05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    117
    17
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good children entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

We love this place with the children. They run around and wear them selves out while we get a bit of peace. Have a good explore and you will find all sorts of things hidden. Great treehouse playground and even the cafe does decent sandwiches and coffee. Obviously the plants are good if that is your thing.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Skytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A rare treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2014

A winter garden that is fabulous in August, amazing landscaping and there was a current art exhibition. The art was of a staggeringly high quality and sensitive to the garden design. Particularly wowed by the planting around Jermyn House. Helpful staff and good access to mobility aids.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Blooming lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

I'm not a massive fan of flowers, but walking around a large garden, with the fresh air and the sights and smells of the plants in bloom was a nice way to spend the late morning.
"Plants of current interest" was a nice touch pointing out the ones that are are special in some way at this time of year and I was even inspired enough to buy a rose from the attached garden centre!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Road_Warrior_Jnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not much for families”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Was looking for an outdoor day out, and hadnt been before, wont be going again sadly! Had my daughter 2years old and my work children with me 10yrs and 7yrs, cant say they enjoyed themselves either! Was told when we arrived the tree house was out of bounds-this was gonna be ideal for the kids to play on, so instead we did the walks looking at the trees and plants, but got lost a lot, therefore had 3very unhappy children, the map wasnt very helpful and the signs didnt either! So found the exit and left! Luckily i didnt pay as i had a cultural all pass! There was a cafe and shop but staff at both were rude and not willing to help!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sir Harold Hillier Gardens also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing