We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To see the colours is heaven on earth”

Sir Harold Hillier Gardens
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Hilliers is something that you can never tire of - every week if not everyday something in flowers and shrubs seem to change with the seasons. I must to see for yourself

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 812foxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Many thanks for your compliments. We’re so pleased that you are able to enjoy the gardens throughout the year. Thank you for supporting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tree house"
in 55 reviews
"jermyns house"
in 27 reviews
"plants and trees"
in 21 reviews
"garden centre"
in 32 reviews
"wobbly bridge"
in 8 reviews
"winter garden"
in 28 reviews
"autumn colours"
in 13 reviews
"sculpture trail"
in 6 reviews
"pond dipping"
in 8 reviews
"stunning gardens"
in 7 reviews
"different times of the year"
in 6 reviews
"year round"
in 7 reviews
"annual membership"
in 9 reviews
"different areas"
in 9 reviews
"all ages"
in 23 reviews
"for sale"
in 7 reviews
"tea room"
in 9 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2018

Took our two Grandchildren here today and thought the Entrance free was rather steep!
Especially having to pay for children to get in then pay £5 each to get passport booklet and a set of wings (they say are free)!
Gardens are fabulous, but was very disappointed with the Fairy Trail, with just cardboard cut outs to look for and a stamp to stamp passport booklet with. Children soon got fed up with it. They where expecting it to be a bit more magical with fairy houses and fairies hiding at bottom of trees etc.
By the time we had lunch in the restaurant we had spent nearly £60! Without later ice creams!
Shop had nothing for the children to buy either!
Have spent a lot less on much more exciting days out. Although gardens are lovely, being the children's last day out before going back to school, was a big disappointment!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Roving302846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but I am pleased that you enjoyed the Gardens. Your entrance fee is important to help us fund our charity: looking after this beautiful garden.

As for the Flower Fairy Trail, this is the first time that we have done a trail of this scale, and most found the trail fun and interactive. Every station had something to do. Our favourites were the custom "twister" board and the giant table set for tea.

Hopefully the children enjoyed the features such as the wooden assault course, the tree house and the flying carpet swing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We love this place so much we became a member. There's nothing like strolling around these beautiful gardens and ending up with a coffee and slice of cake to round of a relaxing day. Excellent for families or just a stroll.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Many thanks - we’re so pleased that you’ve become a member and will be able to enjoy the gardens in all seasons. There are always areas to enjoy so we hope to see you often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We visited as a family of 2 grandparents, 1 mummy and 4 girls. We had a great day! The fairy trail was great. Only thing I would say is that they are sometimes a bit tricky to find and there is little/no signposting. It took us from 11-5 to get them all with a lunch break in between. You do get a map but it is a bit tricky to follow.

The park was great and also the treehouse.

We had a fabulous lunch in the cafe. I had the vegetarian enchiladas which came as a lovely big portion, really enjoyed it.

Lots to see and do. Will definitely be back. Thank you.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank rlcrouch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

We’re so glad that you really enjoyed your day with us and appreciated the beauty of the gardens and the tasty food too. We’re also pleased that you all had fun on the Fairy Trail though it took longer than expected. We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2018

I had a great day at Hillier's today with my sister and our four children (baby, 2 year old, 4 year old and 7 year old). My sister has an annual pass so I was fortunate to be able to enter as her guest, and the children were free.

As I didn't pay to enter, I paid the £5 fee for the fairy trail which included a pair of "free" fairy wings. We shared the Fairy Trail booklet which showed where the 12 fairies were around the gardens, and my daughter wore the wings, as the others are boys and not interested! We had a great time walking around and it took us 4.5-5 hours to find all the fairies and have our picnic. The map wasn't all the accurate so we did struggle to find some of them at first. Unfortunately by the play areas of the gardens there are limited picnic benches so there can be a wait at time.

The children really enjoyed finding the fairies and stamping the booklet with the different colour stamps at each fairy, plus there was an activity to carry out at some of them too. Unfortunately there were a few stamps with ink no longer working and two stamps which didn't have the stamp on the end anymore. As they are charging £5 for the trail, I would've expected them to walk round and check each station. Also, there were no stickers left at the "fairy grotto" which seemed a shame when we had spent so much time completing it.

Finally, the gardens are very pretty and very very tidy. There was a shortage of bins, actually we didn't spot any other than at the two restaurants, which meant we did spot some wrappers and rubbish at some of the benches which was a shame. The cafe over the far side served good hot drinks, ice creams, cold drinks and cake. My coffee was very good but the cake too pricey for us. Also, the toilets were clean and well stocked with toilet roll by this cafe too. There are only toilets at the entrance and the far cafe as a word of warning for those with young children.

A recommended day out. Memberships seem good value as plenty to see and do for all ages.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank kerry80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry that we did not meet all your expectations, but I am pleased that you enjoyed the Gardens.

As for the Flower Fairy Trail, this is the first time that we have done a trail of this scale, and most found the trail fun and interactive. Every station had something to do. Our favourites were the custom "twister" board and the giant table set for tea.

Our next trail will be over the autumn holiday period, and I hope that you will try us again. By then, in addition to numerous picnic spots, we hope to have a covered picnic area available, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sir Harold Hillier Gardens also viewed

Mottisfont, Hampshire
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Sir Harold Hillier Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing