We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Harold Hillier Gardens
Open today: 10:00 - 18:00
Review Highlights
Beautiful gardens, even on a winter's day.

The gardens are beautifully kept and had some good paths round the different areas so was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
SunnyladySurrey
,
Surrey
A pleasure to visit

We visit this garden on a regular basis. There are plants and trees and sculptures to enjoy... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Maggie C
,
Ringwood, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 569 reviews
  
Reviews (569)
Filter reviews
569 results
Traveller rating
373
154
32
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
373
154
32
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house jermyns house plants and trees garden centre wobbly bridge winter garden autumn colours sculpture trail stunning gardens different times of the year annual membership year round different areas all ages for sale tea room few hours
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 569 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018

Family trip to the gardens enjoyed by all. Art in the garden and an photographic exhibition in the centre made for a relaxing pleasurable visit. The colours in the gardens flowers and trees, were well worth seeing and in a few weeks the autumn colours will be at there best. Good facilities on site for young and old ensured a good day out.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank peterjp57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2018

We’re pleased to hear you all enjoyed so many aspects of your visit to the gardens. As you say, the autumn colours will soon be there to enjoy so we hope to see you then.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Hilliers is something that you can never tire of - every week if not everyday something in flowers and shrubs seem to change with the seasons. I must to see for yourself

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank 812foxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Many thanks for your compliments. We’re so pleased that you are able to enjoy the gardens throughout the year. Thank you for supporting us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Took our two Grandchildren here today and thought the Entrance free was rather steep!
Especially having to pay for children to get in then pay £5 each to get passport booklet and a set of wings (they say are free)!
Gardens are fabulous, but was very disappointed with the Fairy Trail, with just cardboard cut outs to look for and a stamp to stamp passport booklet with. Children soon got fed up with it. They where expecting it to be a bit more magical with fairy houses and fairies hiding at bottom of trees etc.
By the time we had lunch in the restaurant we had spent nearly £60! Without later ice creams!
Shop had nothing for the children to buy either!
Have spent a lot less on much more exciting days out. Although gardens are lovely, being the children's last day out before going back to school, was a big disappointment!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Roving302846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Thank you for your comments. I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but I am pleased that you enjoyed the Gardens. Your entrance fee is important to help us fund our charity: looking after this beautiful garden.

As for the Flower Fairy Trail, this is the first time that we have done a trail of this scale, and most found the trail fun and interactive. Every station had something to do. Our favourites were the custom "twister" board and the giant table set for tea.

Hopefully the children enjoyed the features such as the wooden assault course, the tree house and the flying carpet swing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We love this place so much we became a member. There's nothing like strolling around these beautiful gardens and ending up with a coffee and slice of cake to round of a relaxing day. Excellent for families or just a stroll.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

Many thanks - we’re so pleased that you’ve become a member and will be able to enjoy the gardens in all seasons. There are always areas to enjoy so we hope to see you often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We visited as a family of 2 grandparents, 1 mummy and 4 girls. We had a great day! The fairy trail was great. Only thing I would say is that they are sometimes a bit tricky to find and there is little/no signposting. It took us from 11-5 to get them all with a lunch break in between. You do get a map but it is a bit tricky to follow.

The park was great and also the treehouse.

We had a fabulous lunch in the cafe. I had the vegetarian enchiladas which came as a lovely big portion, really enjoyed it.

Lots to see and do. Will definitely be back. Thank you.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank rlcrouch13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHHGMarketing, PA Assistant at Sir Harold Hillier Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2018

We’re so glad that you really enjoyed your day with us and appreciated the beauty of the gardens and the tasty food too. We’re also pleased that you all had fun on the Fairy Trail though it took longer than expected. We look forward to your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews