We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food with friendly staff nice atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sun Inn Romsey

The Sun Inn Romsey
Ranked #18 of 74 Restaurants in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ricky's at the Sun , provides a great place to eat and drink. An American themed bar with quirky decoration and an extensive menu to suit everyone, as well as a friendly bar atmosphere as well
worcestershire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food with friendly staff nice atmosphere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends and family to celebrate hubby,s 50th birthday good service and food was a problem with a couple of steaks being chewy was dealt with very well and replaced very quickly. Nice warm atmosphere Good prices will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank tiptop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    32
    14
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice Food But Dreadful beer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Four of us went to the Sun Inn for drinks and a meal. We had a warm welcome from the staff but the pub was a tad chilly. I tried 2 real ales and a lager which were all pretty dreadful. The real ale was flat and freezing cold. With the price of beer nowadays there is no excuse for landlords not to look after their beer.
Between us we had fajitas (lovely) and rib eye steak (also lovely).
Although we had to wait a while for the food it was very good with no complaints. However, the pub itself is pretty devoid of character and what with the awful beer I am reluctant to mark our visit as no higher than average........

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dinley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great meal - piping hot, excellent service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

I went for lunch today with a group of friends to The Sun Inn in Romsey.

Our table was ready for us when we arrived and the staff welcomed us and were friendly. The area was pleasantly warm and the seating comfortable.

We ordered our food and it wasn't long until it arrived. Smaller portions were available for those wanted them. Everything was piping hot, the food was plentiful (even on the smaller portions) and the dishes of colourful vegetables just kept on arriving. If we asked for anything, it arrived promptly and it was obvious that we were being well looked after.

I enjoyed everything about my meal (turkey and gammon roast) but couldn't finish it! I did, however, manage a dessert - and WHAT a dessert. Cherry and marshmallow cheesecake with a generous jugful of pouring creak. I would return for that cheesecake even if I bought nothing else. Quite a few of our group ordered that same dessert and everyone loved it.

We went to pay - cheerful, friendly man attended to us quickly and he added to the overall friendliness and helpfulness of the other staff.

The Sun Inn is in Winchester Road Romsey - it has some parking at the front and more at the back.and there is a very convenient back entrance.

I intend to go back there again as soon as possible. Everything was good. I highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank annt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Something on the menu for all the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Having a day with our 3 grandchildren age 9-7-6, so after Romsey rapids we all had a large appetite. The sun inn did not disappoint. The food and service was great ,and the children could relax . The waitress was child friendly, might think about getting in some colouring books in as we would have liked to stay longer.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Slow service and products not available”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We visited for a pre ordered Christmas meal. It took 4 attempts for someone to take the promised drinks order.

Then lower more sensible abv beer was not available - only beer or 4% or more, Bud was off as well.

After that it took 45 minutes to bring pre ordered starters, a further 30 minutes from them being finished for the main course.

With desert the custard was cold as well. Really dissapointing

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn Romsey also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to The Sun Inn Romsey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing