We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Stay and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay and Good Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Just a one night stay, a group of six friends. Friendly staff, nice evening meal and breakfast. Rooms comfortable although rather hot. We all agreed this was a very nice place to stay. I would recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DorsetB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for posting a review.

I am delighted you and your friends enjoyed your stay.

My apologies that the rooms were overly warm - we were caught out by the exceptionally warm weekend. I am sure my guests since then have appreciated the warmth seeing we are now back to freezing temperatures!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    155
    47
    21
    16
See reviews for
138
203
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

highly recommend - the lovely seating area with its leather chairs, the lovely food which included lemon curd as option with the scones, the lovely staff who were friendly and helpful, and last but not least the fantastic choice of the usual and the unusual teas.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dale h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting such a positive and complimentary review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We had a family party nearby and booked into the White Horse not expecting too much - i knew the hotel from many years ago. Well - I eat my words. From the enthusiastic reception, well presented spotless and perfectly comfortable rooms ( we had one at the back and one at the front) we were very pleasantyl surprised. The bar was buzzy on a Saturday night, the staff were very attentive and fast. We ordered from the menus while relaxing in the bar ( we didnt arrive until 9pm). We then were taken through to the Brasserie where we were continued to be impressed. Perefect fillet steaks, good venison and one poached fish. The level of sevice and the friendly staff could be used to teach some high end establishments a thing or too. They were without exception charming and attentive. We had one TINY negative point , a lovely breashfast buffett and full a la carte, but the eggs benedict came with just half a portion ie one egg and half a muffin BUT my kipper was so generous he didnt starve as I couldn't manage the whole thing! They kept the tea nad coffee coming without asking, and nothing seamed a problem. We will certainly go back , especially at a rate of £135 for room and breakfast. Well done - we will certainly go again, with or without a party to attend .

Room Tip: I forgot to check if the room had a bath - which it didnt - its my personal preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for your very complimentary review.

I am delighted you found your visit to be a pleasant surprise and do hope you will return soon.

My team are an absolute delight to work with and agree that without exception they are charming, attentive and happy!

We look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We always eat from the monthly set menu which is consistently good or very good although the portions have decreased in size slightly over the last 3 years and you no longer get a free glass of wine, just coffee.

The service is friendly and helpful and they never rush you away from the table. It's a very pleasant way to spend an evening.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your complimentary review.

Sadly due to the increase in commodities we found we are no longer able to include a glass wine if we are to maintain the standard of the menu. We do offer a small carafe at a very reasonable price.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I ate here on a Sunday evening after working a long day.

The welcome was warm and friendly and we were seated quickly in a fairly busy restaurant for a Sunday evening (it's very popular for Sunday lunch) and offered drinks immediately. The service was efficient and friendly and we both opted for fillet steaks which were cooked to our liking. This left room for a small dessert each followed by coffee.

We didn't get any change out of £135 so it was a little on the pricey side but the food and service was good so we'd be back on special occasions.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warthog4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely comments and I am delighted that you found the brasserie so inviting.

I am surprised that you commented on the Brasserie being pricey after opting for the fillet steaks which are at the top end of the menu - we do have an a very varied menu and our set menu priced at £15.00 for two courses and £17.50 for three is excellent value for money.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Booked in for Afternoon tea with partner on a Saturday.......
Whilst we enjoyed the lovely environment (lounge area) and were served by very friendly staff I cannot say the food lived up to expectations!
We had very nice coffee and the sandwiches were 'good', (but basic) but the cakes and scones left much to be desired! The scones were extremely small & very overcooked – meaning they were not finished and disappointing as just so dry and hard! (we couldn’t cut them in half without them crumbling away) The cakes given were ‘OK’ but just not quite the luxury we had been expecting from the reviews and pictures we had seen. (Really small finger slice bits).
Overall, sadly a bit of a disappointing experience which left us feeling we overpaid at £30.00 that’s for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We do take all comments on board and will certainly look into the reason why the scones were not up to their usual standard.

It is very unusual for us to receive negative comments regarding our afternoon tea as in comparison they are attractively priced and served.

I do hope you will make a return visit to give us the benefit of the doubt.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Walked around it and pass it for a few years whilist shopping in Romsey and this time had lunch and afternoon tea in this very nice hotel. Yes it was busy on a Saturday afternoon but the staff were attentive and the food was excellent and they had a wedding and Birthday party going on at the same time, The cream teas are very good warm scones lighty dusted and lemon curd !! as well as jam and cream :Had a look at the set March Meal menu and plan to return one evening to sample it in this very nice Hotel and Brasserie

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjcjcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
I am delighted that you have finally managed to sample our wares after so many years!
We look forward to seeing you more often.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
3.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
3.9 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
6.1 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Property: The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel And Brasserie Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing