We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't want our booking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
144 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Didn't want our booking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Having seen a great advertisement for the brasserie my family tried to book here for Easter Sunday. I phoned a couple of weeks beforehand on a Saturday afternoon. I was told that there was no one available to take a restaurant booking until the following Tuesday! They took my details and a phone number and I was told . someone would ring me. Tuesday arrived and went and no phone call. In the event I booked elsewhere. What a strange way to run a restaurant!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ProfSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

Let me assure you it was not for the fact we did not want your booking that you did not receive immediate response but purely for the fact that we want to ensure all our guests receive the best possible service on seasonally busy occasions.

Your enquiry was held on a wait list until the events team were able to allocate the numerous bookings taken over the weekend

I can assure you that you will have or would have had a response within a 24 hour period on their return to the hotel.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    155
    47
    21
    16
See reviews for
139
203
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

I took my mother here for a special treat from booking on the phone I was given a choice of where to take tea & the lady whom I spoke with was most helpful & recommended the Basserie. Upon arrival a friendly greeting & we were personally shown to our table, the Basserie has a lovely contemporary feel whilst still retaining some old world charm. The waiting staff were very attentive & we opted for afternoon tea for two £30, finger sandwiches (cheese, ham, smoked salmon) , a selection of cakes and four huge scones all beautifully presented, there was also a great range of teas to choose from and additional hot water for a top up! It all tasted very good & it was evident it was freshly prepared & home made! I thoroughly recommend this hotel for afternoon tea, we previously had tea at Rhinefield House & this was a huge disappointment I can honestly say this place knocks spots off & Rhinefield House could learn a lot from them instead of living off their name! We shall be back to try the lunch menu , note if you cannot manage all of your tea they prepare a doggy bag for you to enjoy at home & this is stated by the staff at the beginning of your tea so no feeling a bit awkward asking at the end!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coups103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your detailed and very complimentary review.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

So today was my second visit this week to the WH Hotel in Romsey.

I was working in the area and just needed tea today, but in the past I have been treated, to one of their world famous Afternoon Teas ~ I say world famous because the White Horse hotel has guests from all over the world who come here after they have been to Broadlands.!

Forget luxury, forget fantastic tasting cakes ~ you will not have tasted anything, anywhere in London, like the hand made, on site, different flavoured breads, light and airy scones, delightful afternoon miniature cakes, rich mouth watering hand made biscuits, and buffet finger sandwiches all beautifully garnished, and served with the utmost professionalism, by staff that are proud to work, and be part of the White Horse Hotel.

There are too many little touches, that I could mention, but one springs readily to mind, given that the hotel is in the middle of an upgrade, in their courtyard.

Now this work is being completed in full view of all the restaurant guests.. Well it would be .. If it were not for the very clever boarding, that has gone up around the work ..All hand painted by an artist,to look like outside rooms, complete with windows and doors.

Its the little attention to details like this, that makes the W.H. hotel in Romsey, the destination of choice for discerning diners coming too, or travelling through Romsey.

Nowadays everyone dines out and it no longer seems an indulgence or even something special to go out for a meal.

But this hotel will remind you of a bygone age when going for a meal out,
in a ‘ hotel ‘ was considered to be something special!

So if you want to be served as if you were a Lord and Lady, with prices that reflect the fabulously cooked to order fine cuisine, you will be hard pushed to find any where local in Hampshire to beat the White Horse Hotel in Romsey.

Room Tip: At this moment in time I have yet to stay there so cannot offer advice ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
What can I say!

As always Manuela a very complimentary review.

Thank you so very much,

Keep up the campaigning and count on us for support.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I came with my elderly mother and aunt and I had arranged for two bouquets of flowers (Florist recommended by the hotel) to be delivered after our arrival however it was possible that they would come beforehand.. which they did.
I love the venue that is why I chose it and I will be attending a wedding there come June, we were shown to a very small table with another table inbetween two of the chairs. It was difficult for my two guests to negotiate themselves into the space I think they were slightly confused by the two bouquets left on their chairs - I was kind of hoping someone would have brought them out after our arrival. The afternoon tea was delightful but difficult to appreciate and access as yet another table had to be brought out to accommodate it all which ruined the effect for me. One of the lovely china cups was cracked. My mother and aunt had to serve themselves and me tea as I could not reach it which was a little worrying given their age and arthritis.
Overall a lovely tea but could have been much more enjoyable than it was, I would suggest a few more sandwiches and perhaps not so many lovely cakes which we couldn't manage. The hotel were perfectly willing to give us the leftovers to take home.

Room Tip: location wise I am of course referring to our table(s)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

I am sure you will appreciate that Mothers Day weekend is exceptionally busy for us and we had numerous bouquets delivered to the hotel so we felt the only way to ensure that each bouquet was in the right place at the right time was to place them accordingly and not present - I do hope you will appreciate this.

So not to disappoint the numerous bookings we received each table was neatly placed but still with an adequate amount of manoeuvrability I am sorry that you did not feel that we had accommodated your needs.

We look forward to seeing you again in June if not before?

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was recommended this hotel by a friend so i booked a treat for my mum for mothers day of Afternoon tea. We had a lovely time! The hotel is spacious yet cosy! The decor and surrounds are premium. The service was perfect, always someone available if we needed yet they never bothered us. The quality of food was excellent. We even asked for a doggy bag, which we were given, and with a smile! We are going to be staying in december for a wedding and are really looking forward top it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoppingbadservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your afternoon tea and we look forward to seeing you again soon - hopefully before December!!!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

We have stayed in just about all of the quality hotels in the Romsey/Southampton/New Forest area and the 'White Horse' has no peers ...it is simply the best! We stayed in the penthouse suite for the weekend, which was amazing value for money, considering the luxury and ambience offered. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for such a very complimentary review!

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HUNGARY
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I stayed one night for business purposes. This was my second stay at the hotel. In summary:

Positives
1) Provided an excellent room only rate.
2) Room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was also very spacious and clean.
3) Room had all the basic facilities (tea etc) & a very comfortable bed.
4) Service. I left my watch in the room and they kept it for collection (by a colleague) later in the week. This reflects very positively on the staff.

Negatives
1) Minor one. They were experiencing system issues when I checked in, which meant I stood around for 10minutes to get my room key. They were polite & apologetic, so really a material issue.
2) Room was cold when entering. In only took 30minutes to warm it up however.

Overall, I think it offers excellent value and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPHILM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your succinct and refreshing review.

We look forward to your return visits.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
3.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
3.9 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
6.1 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Property: The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel And Brasserie Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing