We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wedding day”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our daughter had her wedding ceremony and reception at the white horse, it was truly an amazing day, everything from the food,service and staff was above and beyond our expectations. Lots of the guests stayed the night and we all had a lovely breakfast together the following morning.

Room Tip: We had a loft room which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your very complimentary review.

Your daughter made a very lovely bride and I am so pleased that we were able to provide the wonderful day you had prepared for.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    157
    48
    21
    16
See reviews for
141
203
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was an Easter treat for my Mum. From arrival it was all lovely. Amazing food and so many tea choices. The best chocolate fridge cake ever! Relaxing environment and excellent service. Very impressed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aime10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted that you and your mother enjoyed our chocolate afternoon tea experience. It proved to be a very popular choice over the Easter break.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I took my mother for afternoon tea as part of a mother's day present, and we had a brilliant time! Couldn't have faulted anything about the lovely time we had, and it's very good value for money as well. We were making our plans to go back when still sat in there! Excellent, would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted you and your mother enjoyed your afternoon tea and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay whilst attending a wedding at the White Horse. It is a lovely wedding venue and we cannot fault the food and service at the wedding. The room, however, was another matter. We briefly checked in when arriving at the hotel for the reception and were both disappointed at how small the room was (room 403). It wasn't until we went to bed that evening that we realised just how small it was, in particular the bed! We are not tall people (5ft 7 and 5ft 10) but our feet were hanging off the end of the bed!! Unfortunatley this meant we did not have a good nights sleep. The room also had a cramped toilet and shower room that would not drain properly. We paid £125 on a bed and breakfast rate (disounted wedding rate) and we feel this was extremely overpriced for what we received. We felt that it was only fair to mention our disappointment when checking out, but were rather surprised to find out that that there are several rooms with short beds and we weren't even offered an apology. It is such a shame, as this could be a wonderful hotel, but I would definitely recommend checking what room you are staying in before you come here.

Room Tip: Request a room with a full size bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

The rooms in The Coach House are all beautifully decorated and well appointed with everything one would require for an overnight stay. They are not large by any stretch of the imagination hence the reason they are classified as snug doubles. The room you stayed in has a five foot bed but is slightly shorter than average to allow for manoeuvrability.

My apologies that your comments were not sympathetically received.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Having seen a great advertisement for the brasserie my family tried to book here for Easter Sunday. I phoned a couple of weeks beforehand on a Saturday afternoon. I was told that there was no one available to take a restaurant booking until the following Tuesday! They took my details and a phone number and I was told . someone would ring me. Tuesday arrived and went and no phone call. In the event I booked elsewhere. What a strange way to run a restaurant!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank ProfSnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

Let me assure you it was not for the fact we did not want your booking that you did not receive immediate response but purely for the fact that we want to ensure all our guests receive the best possible service on seasonally busy occasions.

Your enquiry was held on a wait list until the events team were able to allocate the numerous bookings taken over the weekend

I can assure you that you will have or would have had a response within a 24 hour period on their return to the hotel.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I took my mother here for a special treat from booking on the phone I was given a choice of where to take tea & the lady whom I spoke with was most helpful & recommended the Basserie. Upon arrival a friendly greeting & we were personally shown to our table, the Basserie has a lovely contemporary feel whilst still retaining some old world charm. The waiting staff were very attentive & we opted for afternoon tea for two £30, finger sandwiches (cheese, ham, smoked salmon) , a selection of cakes and four huge scones all beautifully presented, there was also a great range of teas to choose from and additional hot water for a top up! It all tasted very good & it was evident it was freshly prepared & home made! I thoroughly recommend this hotel for afternoon tea, we previously had tea at Rhinefield House & this was a huge disappointment I can honestly say this place knocks spots off & Rhinefield House could learn a lot from them instead of living off their name! We shall be back to try the lunch menu , note if you cannot manage all of your tea they prepare a doggy bag for you to enjoy at home & this is stated by the staff at the beginning of your tea so no feeling a bit awkward asking at the end!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coups103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your detailed and very complimentary review.

We look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

So today was my second visit this week to the WH Hotel in Romsey.

I was working in the area and just needed tea today, but in the past I have been treated, to one of their world famous Afternoon Teas ~ I say world famous because the White Horse hotel has guests from all over the world who come here after they have been to Broadlands.!

Forget luxury, forget fantastic tasting cakes ~ you will not have tasted anything, anywhere in London, like the hand made, on site, different flavoured breads, light and airy scones, delightful afternoon miniature cakes, rich mouth watering hand made biscuits, and buffet finger sandwiches all beautifully garnished, and served with the utmost professionalism, by staff that are proud to work, and be part of the White Horse Hotel.

There are too many little touches, that I could mention, but one springs readily to mind, given that the hotel is in the middle of an upgrade, in their courtyard.

Now this work is being completed in full view of all the restaurant guests.. Well it would be .. If it were not for the very clever boarding, that has gone up around the work ..All hand painted by an artist,to look like outside rooms, complete with windows and doors.

Its the little attention to details like this, that makes the W.H. hotel in Romsey, the destination of choice for discerning diners coming too, or travelling through Romsey.

Nowadays everyone dines out and it no longer seems an indulgence or even something special to go out for a meal.

But this hotel will remind you of a bygone age when going for a meal out,
in a ‘ hotel ‘ was considered to be something special!

So if you want to be served as if you were a Lord and Lady, with prices that reflect the fabulously cooked to order fine cuisine, you will be hard pushed to find any where local in Hampshire to beat the White Horse Hotel in Romsey.

Room Tip: At this moment in time I have yet to stay there so cannot offer advice ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manuela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
What can I say!

As always Manuela a very complimentary review.

Thank you so very much,

Keep up the campaigning and count on us for support.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes as always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
3.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
340 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
8.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,050 reviews
4.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Property: The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel And Brasserie Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing