We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed at the White Horse Hotel just for one night, after a stag's do of a friend. The room was nice and quiet, the bed comfy and warm, the bathroom was clean, with only a minor flaw: the water drain in the washbasin was a bit slow. Otherwise, everything was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ismaele86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

My best freinds wedding 9th May 2014. Even before we arrived the staff were helpful. We needed our room exceptionally early and all stops were pulled to accommodate us.
From the moment of arrival every member of staff were 1st class professionals. My freind had every last detail possible covered for her big day as I've known with other brides this doesn't always go to plan if hotel staff aren't efficient but the staff at The White Horse gave 100%.
The room used for the service is across a small court yard so no other guests can interrupt any part of the day. It was soon turned into a spectacular room for the wedding breakfast.
The food......well all I can say is wow. I'm a foody and can usually find a criticism but I couldn't fault anything. Cooked to perfection, full of flavour and just looked fantastic. Yet again this was all delivered to the 40 guests in moments with you hardly noticing the waiting staff who also found time to keep your glasses topped up.
Tea and coffee served in the courtyard whilst the photos were being taken and lucky for us they weather stayed dry and warm. The room prepared for the evening yet again the staff manage all this with so little fuss you don't realise they're there.
The whole day was perfect, I was so pleased as for my freind deserved nothing less.
I can't recommend the hotel highly enough, quality.

Alicia Billingham

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Missy Lissy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your very complimentary review.

I am delighted that your friends wedding day was such a success.

My team work very hard to ensure that every one of our guests enjoys there time with us.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here beginning of May 2014 for 6 nights. The location & building were absolutely lovely but bed was so uncomfortable we both have aching backs & constant headaches. After the first night we did ask reception to fix this problem. They offered to change mattress or rooms, not wanting to be difficult I opted for mattress change. Unfortunately it didn't help as it was not changed just flipped! After talking to others in our party about how their beds were,(uncomfortable) we decided there was no point in changing rooms. The rooms were also quite stuffy & hot even after turning heater off!
Service was ok. Not always with a smile and sometimes things seemed to hard.
Overall nice but a bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasmyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to learn that your stay with us was not as comfortable as it should have been. This is the first complaint we have had regarding the beds but thank you for drawing it to my attention.

Difficult to monitor the heating at this time of year as the weather is so changeable and due to the nature of the building we have not been able as yet to install air conditioning but it is on the agenda.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed here after visiting Peppa pig world with our two year old daughter. When we are arrived we were told we had been upgraded to the penthouse suite for free!
The room on the top floor (no lift) was amazing. Really big with plenty of chill out space leather sofas etc and the bathroom was huge too with free standing bath and double shower.
Super king size bed was extremely comfortable and they had put up a travel cot for our daughter.
We ate in the restaurant that evening and the food was divine. The fillet steak was one of the best steaks I have ever had and the service from the waiters was just great.
Breakfast the following day was tasty and cooked well and again service was quick and friendly.
Overall an amazing little boutique hotel. Romsey is a lovely place and the people seem friendly too.
Fantastic value for money will definitely return again

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kati_17uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear guest.

Thank you for your refreshing review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to your return visit.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were there for two nights w our 4 years old daughter. The place is beautiful and charming, the food fantastic ( and I am Italian so very picky about it!). The room a bit too small but nice and clean.
The only down side was the room next ours....the walls are so thin we could hear everything....and let's say our neighbors did leave anything to the imagination...so was hard on the second night....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristallinetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay at the hotel.

My apologies about your broken night - however your comments have been taken on board.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Wonderful visit from start to finish. The service, accommodation and food could not be faulted. We were upgraded to the Penthouse apartment on arrival as it was our wedding anniversary and I would definitely book this room if I was going back, it was fantastic.

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crockerdileUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your review.

The Penthouse is a treat - so pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary and hope that you will make a return visit soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our daughter had her wedding ceremony and reception at the white horse, it was truly an amazing day, everything from the food,service and staff was above and beyond our expectations. Lots of the guests stayed the night and we all had a lovely breakfast together the following morning.

Room Tip: We had a loft room which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your very complimentary review.

Your daughter made a very lovely bride and I am so pleased that we were able to provide the wonderful day you had prepared for.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
3.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
378 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
8.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
525 reviews
23.2 mi away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range: £94 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel And Brasserie Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing