We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Last minute treasure”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We required a hotel near Paultons Park as we had decided to go at the "last minute".
Four adults and one child booked the White Horse at Romsey and we were delighted when we arrived to find such a treasure. The Hotel is on several levels as one would expect of an old coaching Inn and the property has been tastefully decorated to give a welcoming ambiance from Reception through rooms, bar and Restaurant.
The only negative was noise at the front of the Hotel that overlooked the street. The rooms were comfortable and the staff excellent. A request for a "quiet room" would be well advised.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side or rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    160
    50
    21
    17
See reviews for
145
204
26
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent valentines weekend here and it was lovely.
The food was great, especially the afternoon tea. The penthouse room is fabulous.
The menu is interesting and the food presentation good.
The staff are very helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: The penthouse is lovely. There is a certain amount of noise because it's above the high street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked the penthouse which is right at the top of the hotel . When we arrived there seemed to be a problem with others customers rooms as we were privey to someone trying to change their room with reception. The penthouse was not as we imagined it was not clean the toilet had to be cleaned as it was obvious someone had used it prior to arriving. There were Staines in the toilet and on the floor. The sink had not been cleaned, the products had not been replaced as some had been used. The floor in the bedroom had not been hoovered we found a pill on the carpet and also a discarded wrapper of some sorts,! The dressing table chair was covered with dark hairs.I had to clean it before I used it.
When we asked reception to ask someone to come and clean the on suite we were offered a cup of tea in the bar but declined we were both tired after travelling for 4 hours to arrive at our destination, the last thing we wanted to do was to sit in a bar drinking tea we wanted to rest.
The manager was informed however we did not hear form him/her after spending £195 which was discounted from over £225.00 we do not think it is worth that amount of money. The breakfast was poor the fruit salad had taken on a second fermentation and was dreadful. I had toast because I couldn't face asking for anything else.
This hotel has great potential but needs the right manager who wants it to succeed and cares for its customers.
Please take notice of this complaint as this hotel with the right manager the right staff and commitment could do well in this very vulnerable environment.
We ate at a wonderful French restaurant very near to the hotel. The restaurant was very customer oriented and cared. Take note White Horse this restaurant is going Places!

Room Tip: Ask for a room nearest to reception as that will be the room that is shown to potential customers. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LichfieldPenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel would have deserved five start rating unless sleep quality hadn't been spoiled by different noises from outside.
It is a hotel dating back to around 1500. So very old. You can see it and feel it - in a very positive way. Everything is nicely maintained and up to today's standards.
Well almost, as there is no airconditioning. Initially that was not a problem as you can open the windows as the everning was cooler after a warm day.Eventually that was a problem.
For the whole of the night church bells rang every half an hour. Disturbed a lot. But maybe even more disturbance came during early morning hours when there seemed to be constant carbage bin clearance and other that kind of noises coming from the street. Not the hotel's fault, but did not sleep well at all, which is obviously the main function of a hotel. However hotel was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaatinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

visited bistro for a meal to celebrate sons 17th birthday. had the set menu which included a pot of coffee and for a small charge you could also have a 1/2 carafe of wine. This is such good value for what is essentially a more upmarket restaurant.
Food excellent, staff very polite and attentive but not overbearing (they even piped "happy birthday" in chocolate on my sons dessert!) and the price was extremely reasonable for very good quality food. more than sufficient portions, well presented and beautifully cooked.
Almost want to keep this place my secret and not tell anyone else about it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

A nice surprise it was. Friendly waitress, good menu esp. the sharing ones. It would be even better if they have all those nice wine as decor in their wine menu too. We will definitely go back again.
I can imagine it being too crowded as the tables seem to be very close together.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astroskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Lovely accommodation, and good location. The main reason I am writing this review to to highlight the dinner that was provided as part of a Friday 'offer'. The dinner was a fine example of what to serve up to a mouse on a strict rationing diet!! My partner and I could not believe the quantity of food served up, so much so it was a running joke, after each course the portion size was as measly as the last!! Bearing in mind the tariff for one nights stay was £150!!! I would expect a better portion standard. After the meal we headed steadily off to the nearest Coop for a proper dinner!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freya1137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
3.9 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
490 reviews
3.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
346 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
8.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,072 reviews
6.1 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Property: The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel And Brasserie Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing