We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, excellent service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

My sister held her wedding ceremony and reception here and we stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is well located in the centre of Romsey, which is a lovely picturesque town. The building has been well converted into a hotel and brasserie. The outdoor courtyard area was lovely, offering shady areas. Both rooms I stayed in were nicely decorated and comfortable. It was warm and fans were not provided in all rooms although when we called down for one it was delivered promptly. The staff were helpful and friendly and the food was delicious. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank vintageEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner on Sunday night with relatives. Every time we eat here we are not dissapionted. This was again t h e case, couldn't fault the service. Certainly couldn't fault the food. Brilliant again

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Beautiful old building right in the middle of Romsey. Rooms and decor throughout are very nice. Free WiFi if a little patchy and LAN internet with ethernet cable provided.
However at the price they are charging there are a few things missing. I went in the summer, it was hot and the room was too warm with no AC and I slept badly every night despite a really comfy bed and lovely pillows and bed linen.
Restaurant food was very nouveau cuisine.
Breakfast service was a bit hit and miss. Mostly very good though I didn't trey the fruit buffet part. 2 mornings were very slow and the toast was always pre-cooked so a little cold and soggy.

For the price it is below what I would expect but perhaps it just does not suit my taste?

Room Tip: Only 3 rooms have AC apparently so specify if required. WiFi is not good at some places in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Second visit to this place for dinner and again it was a delight. Just the relaxing atmosphere my wife and I were looking for after a busy working week! The waiting service was excellent and very attentive. All were very polite and considerate to our needs. A 3 course set dinner at £17.50 is an absolute bargain for the quality of the food being served. Stop looking for the generic Greene King pubs to eat your dins and get some quality produce from this Romsey gem :)

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Burty83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Family lunch for 16 people in private room.
Excellent quality food' including tender loin of lamb and gorgeous gooseberry fool etc. Very good attentive service from staff.
Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear guest

Thank you for your complimentary review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes from all the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My wife and I stayed just the one night in the penthouse suite. It was a spacious room with a large bed (although a little softer than I'm used to) and 'lounge area' with chairs and large flat screen TV. The bathroom was again spacious with a deep bath (which we unfortunately didn't use!) and a 2 person shower with spa jets. It was a nice room but there were a couple of small things you would expect from the best room in a hotel that weren't there. Firstly very surprised there was no mini bar and the hotel could be losing out as we would definitely have had a couple drinks each! Also would nice to have water left out on the table chilled. Also a very minor observation but no biscuits/snacks in the tea/coffee box? We tried to work the air con but couldn't get it working and couldn't see any obvious instructions so just opened the windows which was fine. Also I know it would be an expense but no lift and being at the very top could be exhausting for any older guests!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Glen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had an absolutely fantastic afternoon tea here yesterday. From the minute of arrival, the waiters were extremely attentive and made you feel really welcome. The tea itself was served almost immediately and was of superb quality. The selection of cakes was fantastic and anything you cant eat is bagged up to take home. Really recommend this place, a thoroughly enjoyable afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
3.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
375 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
8.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.9 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
522 reviews
3 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 25 in Southampton
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range: £129 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel And Brasserie Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing