We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to scratch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not up to scratch”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here because my friends were having their wedding at this venue. The rooms are priced accordingly (£125 a night for a double occupancy room) and they are not worth the money. The staff were not particularly welcoming (not rude, but not friendly either), despite the booking being for two people we had to ask for more towels as there were not enough. The room itself was edging towards tatty, the net curtain was grubby and grey, there were stains on the bath robe and on the cushion covers, one of the lamps in the room did not work and the curtain was falling off the rail on one side. I could go on but it was these small details that made us think it was not worth the £125 per night this hotel charges for their accommodation. For that much I want perfect, and we didn't get it here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherineliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for your review.

Your comments regarding my team are not reflective of popular opinion as they are generally found to go over and above the call of duty.

I apologise that you did not find the room up to standard. Your comments have been taken on board although I do believe this was an isolated incident.

I do hope you enjoyed the Wedding.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    157
    47
    21
    16
See reviews for
141
203
26
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Soll, Austria
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Friendly staff, comfortable room and a very nice afternoon tea. Didn't eat at the restaurant but it appeared to be nice. In the centre of Romsey, nice pubs and restaurants nearby - parking is at the public car-park a short walk away behind the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Lance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for your review.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Soft tacos with lamb quite nice - noisy bar type resto - not overly friendly - Lustucru on Parc around corner better choice for a meal
Nice décor modern no trace of old BBQ joint this time
New bar in the middle an new exterior terrace - they are getting the younger branche crowd

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank RenaudGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

After opening an office in Romsey and discovering this place we were looking forward to staying there. Unfortunately the room had some cobwebs (why don't cleaners look up?) and there was no hot water. The staff were VERY good and within minutes there was someone with a duster in hand and the hot water was restored very soon after. The room was quite small but we warned of that beforehand when we booked, but it was clean and looked "pretty"! apparently! The "Brasserie" lacks a bit of atmosphere but is pleasant enough and the restaurant is very nicely done. The food is also very good. They say its not the mistakes that count (they can happen even in the best places) but the way they are corrected that makes the difference and on that score this place cannot be faulted. ALL of the staff were very friendly and quick to put things right. A BIG thank you to the Duty Manager and all of the other staff. Well done.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the main hotel rather than the Coach House as that can be a bit noisy and book a tab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKHoneymoonersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for your review.

My apologies again for the initial problems that you encountered but as you point out action was taken immediately and adjustments were put in place to counteract any hard feelings.

As a local business we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Lunched here with a table of four on a Wednesday. We ate inside the smart brassiere and thoroughly enjoyed our Rack of Lamb. With a nice bottle of wine, a memorable meal and at a very reasonable price. Service could not have been better. Would thoroughly recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RPG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
silks1, General Manager at The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear guest.

Thank you for your review and recommendations.

Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
185 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The White Horse Hotel is a characterful coaching inn in a town replete with history and charm so it would be surprising if the hotel side of the business failed to please. And so I found, though my room was somewhat on the cramped side, the lighting was poor and the walls were thin enough for me to hear my neighbour's tv. So, as there was nothing about my room which was superior to a Premier Inn, I would give it 3 blobs. Breakfast starts at 7am so I cant comment on how this measures up.

However, as for the brasserie attached to the White Horse, 4 blobs are definitely merited. Each course was thoughtful, imaginative and beautifully presented and far exceeded the fairly modest expectations raised by the word 'brasserie' which, I would argue, does the White Horse a dis-service. So far as service was concerned, it was courteous, friendly and lacking in pretension. If only my waiter had been able to say more than 'I would go for the custard dessert' when I asked for his advice on choosing between 2 equally tempting sweet options, I might have described the service as perfectly judged. As it was, I chose the churros which, of course, was impeccably devised but, to my palate, slightly lacking in inspiration so maybe my waiter's judgement was sound after all.

I would highly recommend the White Horse for a stopover in Romsey. There is much to like.

Room Tip: Secure as large a room as possible as small really is rather small.
See more room tips
Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Phileas_Flogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and a colleague had the 3 course set menu, it was delicious and the portions were just the right size so I still had room for pudding.

The only thing missing was someone at reception to greet us, but we quickly found a lovely member of staff outside who was only too happy to help.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
3.4 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
6.1 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie

Property: The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
Address: 19 Market Place, Romsey SO51 8ZJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Romsey, The White Horse has been a Coaching Inn for over 600 years. A stay here is a time to unwind, savouring some of the finest food in Hampshire in our 2 AA Rosette Brasserie. Relax in one of the hotel's 31 individually designed bedrooms and suites and enjoy a drink or Afternoon Tea in the delightful Silks Bar or frescoed Tudor Lounge.The Brasserie opens onto its own courtyard, perfect for summer dining. Serving modern British classics under the direction of acclaimed Head Chef Chris Rock, The White Horse Brasserie has been highly recommended by The Sunday Telegraph scoring 9/10 by hotel guru Fiona Duncan, "The Set Menu is eye-popingly good value".Friday night is cocktail night. Choose from a delicious selection of classics with a twist and enjoy live music on the first Friday of every month in the bar. Whisky lovers can choose from a stunning array of over 70 malts and blends - one of the most extensive selections in the UK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Horse Hotel And Brasserie Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing