We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-cooked food in pleasant atmosphere”
Review of The Blue Hayes Restaurant - CLOSED

The Blue Hayes Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$65
Cuisines: British, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Blue Hayes Restaurant is a quaint Thatched Cottage with large wooden beams and a working Inglenook fireplace.
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
669 reviews
420 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,158 helpful votes
“Well-cooked food in pleasant atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We visited at a Thursday lunchtime. The restaurant was nearly full and I was glad that we had booked. Although an Xmas menu was offered, the 'Specials' chalkboard was also in operation (£10.95 for 2 courses if you are a senior citizen). My wife chose melon with elderflower, followed by baked haddock in lemon and chive sauce with new potatoes. I started with a baked goat's cheese and beetroot salad, followed by faggots, bubble & squeak and onion gravy. The melon was not particularly tasty and was decorated with small pieces of mango and a sweet red sauce (which was presumably the elderflower constituent). My goat's cheese salad was quite OK and well dressed. The generously sized faggots were tasty and there was a good amount of onion gravy. A fresh black pepper-grinder was available on request. My wife's haddock was good with a well-made sauce. The accompanying dish of vegetables was well heated, with the carrots, sprouts and swedes pleasantly al dente. I had a glass of Chilean merlot, which tasted pleasantly of berry fruit. My wife was happy with her Chilean sauvignon blanc and an iced carafe of tapwater was served to us. All in all, the meal was well cooked homely fare and very good value.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BroLucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    32
    14
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Brings back memories”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Many years ago, my husband and I went to BH frequently for romantic dinners and got to know the owners well. When they sold up we couldn't bring ourselves to go back and held on to the good memories for some years. We braced ourselves to go back last weekend - it was like going back in time; same '90s decor tho' a different face giving us a warm welcome.We should have gone back sooner - it was wonderful, from the abundant food choices to the excellent cooking to the warmth of the staff. The venison and the fillet medallions were so tender and tasty and the mango posset was to die for, despite us being far too full from the starter and main course . There were no rip- off wines and the choice plentiful. Looking forward to more visits ,building up good memories all over again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DEDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly, period restaurant with good food”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We arrived unbooked on a Sunday lunchtime, as the casual place we had headed for had shut down. Even without a booking - and the Blue Hayes was using its smaller room on this day - space was made for us, a table and chairs procured from the second room. As our host said, 'we would want to put you in there, on your own.' No, indeed. So, a cosy setting by the fireplace - to the food and drink.
We ordered the roast beef with all trimmings, because when you have seen a Yorkshire pud to die for, going past your nose, nothing else will do. And it was excellent, tender beef and plenty of it, tasty gravy and the Yorkshire. The veg could have done with a minute or two less cooking, but some people enjoy veg softer and as an over-all experience, it was very good.
For dessert, one of us had fruit crumble with custard and the other, panna cotta with raspberries and they were both much enjoyed.
The wine recommendation suited well. Good coffee to finish.
We shall return, before long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“There's one thing wrong about this restaurant!”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My cousin lives quite close to this restaurant an obviously eats there frequently. She's taken us to it for lunch twice now and each time has been good. Even for a weekday lunch it has been full so booking ahead is a must for The Blue Hayes. For the best choice I'd advise to book for an early meal rather than late because items are deleted from the blackboard as they all get eaten.

I did think twice about posting a report for this restaurant in case it should become too popular and my cousin couldn't get in when she wants to! It would be wrong if The Blue Hayes were ever tempted to expand but, from reading other reports on trip advisor, it seems that this restaurant copes with its popularity remarkably well, doesn't compromise on quality and I know it retains the feel and service of a traditional quality English restaurant. Car parking is quite adequate.

There is one thing wrong with this restaurant: it's over 200 miles from where we live!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardGBFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“A Tardis of a thatched cottage with wonderful food & service”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The Blue Hayes is far more than it seems at first glance. It looks like a small thatched cottage hardly large enough to be a restaurant. But, once inside, it is clearly quite large enough to hold almost 100 people. On the night we reserved, there was a large family party going on in the rear end of the restaurant and every other table was occupied. This didn't detract at all from the service with a friendly smile that greeted us. The lady in charge was very composed and on top of everything happening at each table. Although we waited for quite a long time to be served, it was not a problem as she came over to apologise that they were extremely busy and had not forgotten us. Why don't more restaurants get wise to the fact that such small gestures can make such a difference to the dining experience. Once we had ordered, our meal was served up efficiently and promptly. Everything was fresh and delicious. Their chef clearly knows his job very well. .The loin of venison was beautifully cooked and tender and I particularly liked the Bakewell pudding and custard ,right up my street! We enjoyed eating here enormously and cannot recommend it highly enough. Well done to everybody there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill2Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Hayes Restaurant also viewed

 
Sherfield English, Romsey
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing