We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit to the craft centre with my granddaughter.”
Review of Poppies Cafe

Poppies Cafe
Ranked #33 of 79 Restaurants in Romsey
Price range: US$5 - US$11
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Poppies cafe is family friendly with a menu for all ages. Food available all day. All food is cooked and prepared on site. Poppies Crafts does not require booking, just drop in and get started, either decopatch or painting pottery. Suitable for all ages. Use the website or phone for details about children's parties or work group evenings. Poppies Ice Cream Parlour serves ice cream made in the parlour, Italian gelato style. Last but not least the nursery produces and sells a wide range of plants that are plentiful and wide ranging in the Spring and Summer, as well as compost, sundries and the best range of planters for miles and miles around. Have a look on google maps to see a virtual tour. Thanks
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went for a couple of hours on one of her school closure days. She painted a pottery figure and I did a decoupage letter E for her sister. The room is very well organised, the staff friendly and helpful with no pressure to decide what to do. We had a great morning ending up with a delicious ice cream for my granddaughter.
This is the second time we have been and I thoroughly recommend it to parents and grandparents. There is a good cafe on site with a lovely garden centre as well. Try it you won't be disappointed.

Thank 496gillr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Don’t get me wrong it’s a nice cafe for its size but it’s also old. The followers in the wall make it seem like it’s to childish. There’s no service at the place of location so it would be advised to have WiFi here. I have spoken to the staff about this 2 years ago and nothing. This cafe will be closing soon unless it has a revamp. The staff are amazing and I wouldn’t want them to go out of business.

Thank franz475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123roger2016, Owner at Poppies Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks but don't agree. No wifi on purpose, that's so that folk have to talk to each other and not bury their heads in phones or iPads, or sit there all day. The decor as you have noted is geared for all ages and in particular has a young feel about it, that reflects the huge number of young families with children who choose to come here and is liked by the majority of older folk as well. And your wrong about trade, busier than ever thanks to a,smiling staff who speak to you when you order and food that is not complicated or fussy but is cooked for you and is fresh, homemade and prices sensibly. Don't open a cafe!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent food for a cafe, variety and well
Presented. Staff are very friendly and this is a popular local place. We have been several times and never let down. The craft rooms offer the kids hours of entertainment and even adults can enjoy! Poppies comes highly recommended by us!

Thank Foodlover5700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

A black man served me was great. Please bring him back. WIll return soon with more money and i want to request more food on your great menu.

    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018 via mobile

We have visited Poppies a few times now. We have painted various items at the craft centre and the kids always have had a great time. We have also eaten in the cafe a number of times and food is lovely.

Thank Shelley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poppies Cafe also viewed

Romsey, Hampshire
 
Romsey, Hampshire
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Poppies Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing