We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic A+++++++++”
Review of The Cromwell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cromwell Arms
Ranked #1 of 19 Romsey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stroud
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic A+++++++++”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Cromwell Arms on Wednesday 30th October, what a brilliant hotel. The rooms are furnished to a very high standard with lots of attention to detail, the staff where amazing making you feel very welcome. Breakfast in the morning was brilliant, top quality farm sausage and bacon and homemade hash browns fantastic, plus all the extras. Everything cooked fresh to order. I have stayed in many 5* hotels around the country and this breakfast beat them all! I will highly recommend the Cromwell Arms, you must also try the restaurant, are evening meal the was perfect. Thank you to all the staff 10/10 A++++++

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMC1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    72
    29
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
114
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aston Rowant, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We just spent a night at the Cromwell Arms, and were very pleasantly surprised. The check in was efficient and very welcoming - friendly and helpful. The room was a complete surprise: spacious, stylish and fitted out beautifully. The bathroom had a bath - hooray! Free and fast wi-fi, too. Breakfast was cooked to order, and really tasty, and the checkout was as friendly and efficient as the check-in. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Have just had 4 nights at the Cromwell Arms.
Rooms were spacious with everything I needed. Very comfortable - but you could hear if your neighbour had the TV up loud. Rooms on the side had a bit of traffic noise
Wifi worked brilliantly. Check in process smooth.Restaurant served excellent food
Morning service (breakfast) led by Gemma was sensational. I had 15 minutes to eat and be on my way. Gemma got my scrambled eggs ready, and asked if I would like my coffee in a take away cup. She remembered my coffee preference each day, and was just sooo helpful.
Evening restaurant service left a bit to be desired, but it wasn't from a lack of effort from the staff, they just needed some training. They were very nice and friendly, and were trying hard.
There is a nice walking path nearby along the river

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building are quieter (away from a very busy road)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate_on_holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

We have eaten at the Cromwell Arms in Romsey on several occasions in the past few years. We have always enjoyed our visits. Our latest visit, in late August was as good as ever. A warm welcome, very comfortable surroundings and a varied menu with good service makes this one of our favourites.

Very highly recommended.

We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Dorothybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Stayed for large family gathering for a surprise birthday do. They were so helpful with arrangements wanting to get things just how we wanted them. We had a warm welcome and all the staff were friendly and efficient. Very clean, comfortable rooms which are modern and well equipped. Excellent food. Really recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed here twice, The manager Anastasia is a credit to the Cromwell, she sets a very good example to her staff who must have been picked for their charm and friendly personalities.
We have no complaints and recommend this clean friendly pub to any good natured clients who need a bed and good food. you will not be dissapointed,

Room Tip: all rooms are the same, beautifully kept and extremely clean, very quite no problems with banging do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here after attending a wedding recently, beautiful location and the rooms are very comfortable with plush furnishings. Grounds are kept very neat and tidy, with plenty of parking.

The 'Pavilion' is a great wedding venue, and really set the scene for a special day!

The only down side to my stay, was the snotty faced receptionist 'Anastasia' .
Ruined our wedding breakfast by constantly scowling at us across the dining room, and then branded us 'disgusting' to another guest for spilling some food on the floor during the wedding celebrations the day before. Not nice when we spent ALOT of money on a special day.....

Everyone else was very pleasant, and obviously happy in there work. Marco was very pleasant to deal with and always on hand.
Great food, can recommend the Plough mans!
Ideal place to stay to explore the local area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.5 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
3.9 mi away
Best Western Chilworth Manor Hotel
3.0 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
4.3 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
491 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Bartley Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cadnam
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cromwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cromwell Arms

Property: The Cromwell Arms
Address: Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cromwell Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your The Cromwell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cromwell Arms Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing