We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Night's Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cromwell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cromwell Arms
Ranked #1 of 19 Romsey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Night's Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

It was our wedding anniversary this week and my wife Liz's birthday, due to family commitments we only had one night free so we decided to stay at The Cromwell Arms and have dinner there. It is part of the Delicious Dining group so we knew we would not be disappointed. Our room was first class,spacious and very well appointed, the restaurant staff were a delight and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nigel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    55
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
95
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in 2 rooms family of 5. We were here for Peppa pig world so the location is perfect about 10 min drive and there is a nice lane just walk out of hotel to take a walk along the river and lead to the play ground, it's fantastic. It was a nice sunny day when we arrived so we just sat outside in the garden have cold beer. The service is really good everyone are friendly and professional. We have lunch and dinner there. Not so many choices but good menu tho. recommended caesar salad and mussel for starter. Room, impressed us most so nice and modern clean and smell fantastic at all time. The shower is very good. Only one complian from me is the noise, we can hear the neighbours quite well esp when they have a baby and doors banging but all get quiet after 11:00 so no problem for me if they are improved about the noise I think it will be even more perfect. I will definitely recommend this to everyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nadia095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton on trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We visited peppa pig world and wanted to stay over the night as we live 160 miles away. So pleased we chose this little gem. The staff were very helpful and polite. The food was very good had a prob with one of our staters but they soon sorted it and knocked it off the bill. The rooms were vey clean and spacious. Would recommend and defo be back next year. Oh peppa pig world was about 10 mins down the road.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stopped for a night as we were passing through the New Forest.. The hotel has been built onto a fully renovated Pub with a tasteful glass cloister, to walk to rooms, from a large car park. The room was large and airy with a good ensuite shower. The bed was a little bit soft and not what I was used to, but the room was very quiet. We decided to have an evening meal at their restaurant and the food was extremely good. My partner said that the fish (and chips) were the best she had ever tasted. The fish must have been very fresh! Sadly there was a hiccup in the service of the dessert. They were extremely busy and I was prepared to leave after 45 minutes but waiters kept arriving and apologising. The rather average dessert did arrive eventually and I was sorry that we had ordered it as it took the shine off the rest of the meal. I made my displeasure known when I paid the bill and we went back to our room. We had only been there for five minutes when Annaliese, the Manager arrived at our door to apologise for the problem. She had had problems with a member of staff not arriving for work and they were very busy. She kindly offered us both a free breakfast the following morning as recompense. She could not have done more. If I am ever in that neck of the woods again, I will stay at the Cromwell.

Room Tip: When you leave the car park, you join a very busy and somewhat fast road. It is a nasty junction and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66Bill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dibden Purlieu, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

I visited The Cromwell Arms with a group of friends to celebrate my birthday. The General Manager Annaliese was very welcoming and couldn't do enough for us to make sure we all enjoyed our day. I had arranged with The Cromwell Arms to do cocktail making which was really good fun and the General Manager had even arranged for a Cocktail Maker to host the event, he was also great fun and made us all feel relaxed and get into the swing of things. Our evening meal could not be faulted in the slightest and the service and staff were of a high standard. All in all a very memorable and fantastic day.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rloubaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We Stayed at the Cromwell Arms on Saturday night. Our room was really lovely, warm, clean & very comfortable.

We ate in the resturant and the Food was excellent as was the service. We would like to thank the manager for looking after us at short notice as we had not booked a table and she fitted us in. We will be recommending the Cromwell.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Crewegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very surprised when a short notice business trip took me to Hampshire and the Cromwell Arms, a pub on the outside but a 4 star hotel on the inside. Staff and management that could not do enough to make my stay a very pleasant experience, good wine list and a varied menus. Every room is individual, comfortable, mini bar, tea, coffee, all you could need.The GM took time to talk and meet visitors and became very hands on when needed.

I will be using this hotel again

Room Tip: No tip needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.4 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
3.0 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
9.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
2.9 mi away
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
Days Inn Southampton Rownhams
#18 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cromwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cromwell Arms

Property: The Cromwell Arms
Address: Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cromwell Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Cromwell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cromwell Arms Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing