We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An easy walk to Romsey town centre you will find a gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cromwell Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cromwell Arms
Ranked #1 of 19 Romsey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An easy walk to Romsey town centre you will find a gem”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed here the day before a cruise. The room was modern and comfortable with an excellent bathroom.
Our evening meal was delicious with good wine and excellent service.
Breakfast buffet was slightly sparce, however, this was totally outshone by the cooked breakfast, my omelette was excellent.
After walking round Romsey the next morning, we decided to read the newspaper on the terrace/garden and stayed for lunch. This did not disappoint, a very tasty and beautifully presented meal with beer.
We arrived at the cruise terminal perfectly relaxed.

Room Tip: Large is always better, ask to be away from the terrace/garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liz_in_redditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    55
    21
    4
    2
See reviews for
53
95
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

One of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, in a long time. The rooms are lovely, modern, clean and comfortable. The members of staff were all very friendly, and the restaurant is great also. Much to recommend, I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosschops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights whilst on business. Really friendly and helpful staff, and large, well furnished, modern and comfortable room. Nice touches like good shower, bath robes, lovely products and ipod doc. Very clean room when I arrived, and when they made the bed on second day the whole room was beautifully tidied and had been cleaned all over again. Nice pub for dinner and breakfast. Couldn't fault it at all, and was great value. If only all small hotels were this nice!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for business and was really impressed with the big room, luxurious bathroom with l'occitane toiletries and fantastic breakfast. Had eggs benedict, as good as anywhere I've stayed and service where nothing was too much bother. Really hope I have to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktnkev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed in the Kimbridge room on a Friday night. We paid £95 for a double room with no breakfast - this would have cost a further £9 each. This hotel obviously caters for large functions in an adjoining gazebo right next to the wing with all the rooms so had there been a function on sleep would have been out of the question. Luckily there wasn't a function on the night we stayed however just outside our room was a fire door in the corridor which banged so loudly every time someone went through it, it sounded like someone was entering our room. From 6am the fire door started banging as people started moving around the hotel.
The rooms were actually very nice and looked like they were newly refurbished although there were loads of cobwebs on the ceiling and the shower tray filled up to the brim when showering. We did report all of this including the banging fire door when leaving but the receptionist did not appear interested or bothered. We left the hotel at 8am - the earliest I have ever left a hotel before. For £95 I would expect a nights sleep. Will definitely not be returning.

Room Tip: Not any room near one of the fire doors in the corridor. Unless you are attending a function there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darrenjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were staying at the Cromwell for a wedding, in their marque on site. I called the day before to ask if we could have an early check in as we wanted to get ready there and had a baby to feed and get ready also. They said the room was book for the evening before but would move them to a different room to free up the room and while they couldn't guarantee availability for us to check in if someone else arrived they would try there best. Sure enough we arrived in the morning and it was available and we could check in. This was just the beginning of the excellent service that we received and could not fault the staff on any aspect.
Room was lovely and a good size. We had a travel cot which didn't take up the whole room. Full English breakfast was very good and the staff were very attentive. All in all a very nice stay and maybe in a few years when our son is big enough we will be back to stay and visit Peppa pig world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickyEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Bank Holiday weekend is a good time to eat out with friends and we love Romsey so thought The Cromwell would be a safe 'middle of the road' place to eat. We were a bit surprised when we walked in to find a big vast space with no one in it - but when we read the menu we could see why.... and that was before we'd eaten anything!
Sirloin steak priced with a sauce in the mid £20's seemed v heavy and most of the menu probably £3/£4 over priced .....
Food was only just average, the presentation ..well ....hmmmmm ! The redeeming fact of our night were the smiley staff but we all agreed, we won't go back in a hurry for such an expensive, only just very average, dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romsey
0.5 mi away
The White Horse Hotel and Brasserie
3.0 mi away
Mortimer Arms Hotel
Mortimer Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Romsey
324 reviews
4.3 mi away
The Potters Heron
The Potters Heron
#1 of 1 in Ampfield
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Chilworth Manor
9.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,020 reviews
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cromwell Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cromwell Arms

Property: The Cromwell Arms
Address: Mainstone, Romsey SO51 8HG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Romsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Romsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cromwell Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Cromwell Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cromwell Arms Romsey, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing