We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charming tea room”

King John's House & Heritage Centre
Ranked #5 of 20 things to do in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charming tea room”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Charming old fashioned museum and tea room, with warm and friendly staff. Amazing to see such an old building surviving in the heart of the town.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    36
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
romsey
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“A little gem in Romsey”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Theres always a new exhibition here, often activities for children and the tea room is brilliant. No nicer place to sit quietly than King John's garden, with its old world plants

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RomseyChechy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“King John's Pad in Romsey”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

When you visit Romsey Abbey make sure you also visit this amazing building. It is not at all well publicised and I only saw the notice by chance. You must visit inside as you will have a good idea of what the structure of a building to live in looked like many centuries ago. The floor didn't have parquet or tiles, it was made of bones, animal bones from nearby tanneries! Visit it, you will not be disappointed. You will be enlightened about daily life in another age!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank vrwfainbinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This is quite a small museum but the building is very interesting and there is a great tearoom! It is also close to the Abbey which is also good to visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Freelance60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WHAT A GEM!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Thinking that we would spend a pleasant 20 minutes in the centre, we were still enjoying the visit after one and a half hours! The volunteers were very friendly and informative - and full of enthusiasm, bringing the whole experience to life. We were taken from the 13th century to - 16th and then to the 20th - amazing. We were so enthused by our visit that we jumped into our car and made our way to St Margaret's Church, East Wellow. Here we completed our Florence Nightingale experience - a wonderful day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank una m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed King John's House & Heritage Centre also viewed

Romsey, Hampshire
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to King John's House & Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing