We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great team nice atmosphere and fantastic carrot cake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Asante

Asante
Ranked #4 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Romsey
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great team nice atmosphere and fantastic carrot cake!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I am a regular for jacket potatoes and the occasional slice of carrot cake, which is the best I've ever tried. Staff friendly, great place to go for a light lunch!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finewinebod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    30
    2
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Hampshire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

I have struggled with the poor standard of coffee in the UK, having been spoilt by the quality and choice in NZ.
This was a pleasant surprise - the best cappuccino so far in a month of travelling in the UK.
The cookies are also worth a try.
The only downside was how hot the cafe was inside. Fortunately we were able to sit outside, but the temperature must suit many as it was quite full inside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sadnap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great cafe giving profits to charity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Friendly atmosphere with great food staffed by mainly volunteers who try their hardest. So much better than the coffee chains and ethical too !

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh dear!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Visited this cafe very recently, ordered two drinks, the lady behind the till was in a real flap, it wasn't busy being a Sunday, neither people seemed to know what they were doing, three times I was asked what I wanted, eventually went and sat down after paying to await our order, nearly half an hour later our drinks turned up, and yet two people that walked in had their order, which were just drinks as well, after a couple of minutes of arrival, they don't seem to be very organised, I know its run by volunteers but some training must have taken place as the lady also was very slow putting numbers in the till and was very hesitant, had to laugh as well when I was given a dessert spoon for my regular coffee!!I I live in Romsey and have often passed this place and thought I'd give it a try, maybe I'll go in on a week day and see if it is any better, all in all not very professionally run, more training is needed!! Haven't tried the food yet, I did notice food arriving way after people had placed an order for drinks and food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best cafe in Romsey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

When I first noticed this cafe I was suspicious about its charitable credentials (was it a stealth Costa?) but it really is a charity coffee shop with profits helpling to set up schools in the deprived areas of Kenya where the coffee is produced.
Asante offers a great range of hot and cold drinks, meals, cakes (including gluten free). Ingredients are ethically sourced (Fairtrade etc.) and there are African paintings and crafts on sale.
It is a great place to chill, with a few comfy sofas on offer as part of its seating plan, and there is great service provided by the volunteers. I would say this is definitely the best cafe in Romsey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank marzipanwalrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asante also viewed

Romsey, Hampshire
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Asante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing