We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bank Holiday Visit”

Annie's Kitchen & Tea Room
Ranked #3 of 9 Coffee & Tea in Romsey
Price range: US$6 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Turn into Kimbridge Lane and at once you are in a serene oasis of calm. Welcome to Annie’s Kitchen & Tea Room. Set in a 19th century barn on a 500 acre fishing and game estate adjacent to the banks of the beautiful River Test, Annie’s offers honest homemade dishes that are created on site every day using incredible fresh produce. Start your day with a freshly made cake, scone, teacake, sandwich, tea or coffee in Annie’s Tea Room, or walk through to Annie’s Kitchen and try something from our main menu with a selection of breakfasts, lunches, specials and desserts.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Bank Holiday Visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for the family on May bank holiday as they were doing an offer for 3 courses for £16.95. We thought this was good value having been here before a few years ago. I was left a bit short changed after the high expectations we had. The waitresses were disorganised and didn't communicate with each other. One said one thing and the other said something else and practically did the opposite of the younger waitress. Drinks orders needed to be asked for and the service wasn't free flowing. A small glass of orange juice was more expensive than bottled coke? Starters were great, but the experience ended there sadly. I ordered honey glazed gammon, with parsley dressing and the others nearly all roast beef. When both arrived, we were all disappointed with the serving. My gammon wasn't gammon, but thin sliced honey roast ham drowned in oily parsley sauce. The beef much the same, but did look a bit more appealing. We knew the price was good, but corners were severely cut to get costs down. Finally desserts were pretty average, but most of all not much choice. If you didn't like what was on the board, the only other choice for the £4.95 allowance was 2, that's right 2, scoops of ice cream. All in all, poor performance for a highly rated tea room, and left feeling a bit short changed. Ditch the starters and put the cost saving into the mains and desserts. £16.95 per head for lunch is on the slightly expensive side, so quality should have been there.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    54
    30
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Visited here on Friday for lunch, the service was excellent, the staff were very friendly and the fish and chips were amazing! Definitely recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucindarosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“April Birthday party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The service was excellent and Allan & staff ensured the evening was a happy and memorable one. The food was wonderful and many guests have told me how much they enjoyed the buffet. I would highly recommend others to hold any special event here. Allan was very kind and helpful to my guests. I could focus on the party and enjoying being with my friends and family which was exactly what I wanted to do. Thanks Allan and team!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bpfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Country Feast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

A COUNTRY FEAST

On the outskirts of Romsey and sitting alongside the sparkling waters of the River Test is one of the most delightful and rustic eateries in the county, Kimbridge Restaurant has long been a destination for those who enjoy a leisurely lunch, now at weekends it is opening for bistro evenings, and it is sure to be a great success.
After a drive that is worth the visit on its own, the road crosses twice over the fast flowing Test before you arrive at the towering barn, it is an attractive setting that will put any diner in the mood for some great food; and the dining room does not disappoint with its relaxing and muted decor.
The setting is rustic and the food suits, with a fruity red wine from the extensive list already being sipped the menu took some perusing as each dish and its description calling out to be eaten. Pepper, cherry tomato and a goat’s cheese filo basket was my dining partner’s choice for starter while I was tempted by the pork, apple and cashew nut terrine served with toasted ciabatta and a delicious chutney.
The tartlet was served warm and it smelled gorgeous, but it was the taste that held the surprises, that first mouthful just exploded with a mass of flavours; it was a stunning starter. My one complaint with my terrine was that it could have done with thinner toast and a bit more of it, but the terrine itself was like a day in the countryside, full of rustic flavours, earthy, deep tasting and highly enjoyable.
There was pork medallion with black pudding, stuffed pepper or ballotine of chicken, all reading like delicious treats from the menu but I was immediately tempted by pan-fried calves liver served with a sage and burnt butter sauce and bacon and onion roasted new potatoes. The liver was soft, tender and delicious; potato that was the perfect accompaniment and a side dish of vegetables that were perfectly prepared, crisp to the bite and piping hot.
My partner went for the seared tuna steak and the aroma from the dish as it arrived was mouth-watering for both of us, it was served on a bed of crushed garlic potatoes, once again living up to the rustic environment and packed with flavours. Everything was perfectly cooked, beautifully presented and packed with flavours.
Dessert had to be shared, the two previous courses being quite filling, but when the apple and cinnamon sponge with custard arrived the battle was on for the biggest helping. Our forks quickly cut into the sponge trying for the biggest helping and it was soft, light and again delicious.
Every course was a treat, the service was excellent and yet relaxed and the surroundings were comfortable and as if dining in a country kitchen. Kimbridge has long been a cracking place for coffee and for lunch and now Friday and Saturday’s with their bistro menu, finally a great place to visit of an evening; I cannot recommend it highly enough.

At around £25 a head for three courses it is also really good value for money.
Kimbridge Restaurant & Annie's Tearooms
Telephone: 01794 340 556 /777
Kimbridge Lane
Timsbury
Romsey
SO51 0LE

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Test Valley
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

Took mums out for mothers day afternoon tea as advertised on their website. Had booked table in advance so expectations were high as restaurant had been recommended . Initial thoughts on arriving at table disappointing,no tablecloth, nothing laid up to suggest a traditional afternoon tea no pretty china, nothing to show it was for a Mothers day special afternoon tea. Pot of tea arrived , had to ask for more cups as 2 were dirty. Waitress rather 'vacant', waited another 10 minutes or so for sandwiches etc to be served to us. oh, no plates so had to call for them. by this time we had drunk the pot of tea ,one cup each no hot water to top up. eventually got noticed and asked for more tea/water. presentation of food poor, one plate with sandwiches although choice of fillings, only one triangle was egg and cress !!! a quintessential part of traditional afternoon tea!! cake and scones dry and all 'dumped' on a glass stand not nicely arranged, no doileys etc. very disappointing experience for what could have been a lovely afternoon. This is delivered as constructive criticism as the owners could improve on what is a special day and a british constitution and make it so much better and appealing. My tip to them is to visit Tea on the Green in Westward Ho! or Angels tea rooms in Babbacombe and then see how traditional first class afternoon tea should be.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank buntyTestValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annie's Kitchen & Tea Room also viewed

 
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Annie's Kitchen & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing