We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little cafe”
Review of Rum's Eg

Rum's Eg
Ranked #34 of 79 Restaurants in Romsey
Price range: US$5 - US$17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Attractive, friendly cafe offering a selection of homemade cakes, Mozzo Coffee, speciality teas, cold drinks and light lunches. On the first floor of a stylish, affordable art and craft gallery showcasing the work of South of England artists and craftsmen. We also offer a range of workshops for children and adults. Sorry, currently no disabled access to the cafe and education spaces at present.
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Interesting shop that Romsey Romsey needs to protect and support with a lovely little coffee shop above.

Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2017

Thanks for your review Alex, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Just tried to get lunch here. We were treated very rudely when asking if they had any gluten-free bread or when asking if any of the dishes contained gluten. The staff seemed stressed although there were only four other people in the cafe. The chef said she was just standing in for the usual person and that she could stand there arguing with me if I wanted to. Please note I was not arguing but just asking what contained gluten. No gluten free cakes. Not that I wanted any. No list of allergens anywhere. Left feeling quite shaken and shocked at how unkind and unhelpful the chef was.

Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2017

We are very sorry you had a bad experience with us. We usually do have a range of gluten free options, including cakes and GF bread available so it's a shame that we were not able to offer the usual selection. Our staff are usually very happy to help so I'm sorry if you felt you received poor service, an untypical experience all round, for which we apologise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Delightfully stylish art gallery with affordable local art and craft gifts with restaurant/coffee shop.
A must visit on all fronts.

Thank CJCheyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 July 2017

Thanks for your review, hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017 via mobile

A beautiful space and a lovely environment. Interesting mix of art works, with a cafe above. The cafe is well known for its coffees and it was good, as was th tea. The cakes looked excellent also.
The menu is limited for light snacks and lunches and we selected the sourdough bacon and brie toastie and the butternut, avocado and halloumi salad. The disappointment came from a 30 min wait for the food, despite the place not being full. As for the food, the toastie was little too heavy on the onion marmalade , and the salad a little too heavy on the tahini dressing. So a nice place with nice people, but the food not to our taste and a little long in delivery for a light lunch.

Thank jredgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I apologise for the frustration you found in the wait for food. As all our food is freshly made to order, it can result in longer service times. We always take on board our customer feedback and use it to improve our standards and to ensure that we are meeting our customers requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

This is one or Romsey's best kept secrets if you enjoy good coffee, it is second to none. There are lovely looking cakes to eat too, including gluten free. It is in a Gallery and there is so much to look at, exciting pieces of art and craft to browse and buy.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sandyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 June 2017

Thanks for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll be back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rum's Eg also viewed

Romsey, Hampshire
 
Romsey, Hampshire
 
Romsey, Hampshire
 

Been to Rum's Eg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing